R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-30-2009, 10:03 PM   #1
Tech Master
 
Dane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Texas Baby
Posts: 1,583
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Dane Send a message via Skype™ to Dane
Default Setup Stations vs. Setup Wheels & Gauges

Who uses which? Inherently the setup station would provide a wider range of measurements but setup wheels seem to be more reliable because the car is sitting race ready. Instead of being in the air in a setup station, the car is on the ground with setup wheels the same diameter as the actual tires being used out on the track.

I would be mostly adjusting camber, droop over ride height, and ride height as most adjustments are built into the cars (caster, rear toe etc) and don't require measurement just the correct parts.

Which is more reliable and accurate? Setup station or setup wheels with a camber gauge?
__________________
"the big secret is to keep practicing and never get discouraged when taking a good beating on the track" - Paul L

www.toycarracingblog.com
Dane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2009, 10:39 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
JimmyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 4,443
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Actually not true, not all setup wheels are same diameter as tires unless if you buy them that way. Also, on a setup station, the car is race ready as well (minus body/tires), or you are not doing it correctly. Plus, setup station, you can measure toe more accurately. This can be useful for setting up your steering left to right equally as well. Plus you can check your rear toe very quickly to make sure they are the same left to right. For example, my Tamiya cars are off left to right in the rear. But my Yokomo BD5 is dead on. For quick reference, you can use setup wheels and camber gauge. It's more portable. But it does the basic job of basic setup. There are many many many ways to setup and adjust a touring car. It ends up being personal preference.
__________________
M.J. McIntyre

Yokomo YRX12
Tamiya TB03
JimmyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2009, 01:43 AM   #3
Tech Elite
 
niznai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: All over the place
Posts: 2,940
Default

I don't agree it ends up as personal preference, Jimmy. I think at some point (after much expense on other stuff) pretty much everybody caves in and dish out for a setup station. I bought mine after waiting patiently for one to come up second hand at a reasonable price in next to new condition. It was a bit lucky too, but I have bagged a real bargain (about 100$ for a never used Xray station in original package.

The problem with setup wheels is as Jimmy said, you can not check for toe, throw and straightness of alignment - all adjustments that need to be made as soon as you build the car. Sure, you're not going to take it to the track, but it is very unlikely you would need it anyway.

For droop you don't need the station anyway.

Just don't buy a new station and have some camber gauges/suspension blocks/ride height gauge to use at the track for quick checks/adjustments if you need.
__________________
Team Greasy Weasel

The best upgrade to any car is some driver skill.
niznai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2009, 02:07 AM   #4
Tech Elite
 
JimmyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 4,443
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I use setup station at home, and wheels and camber gauge at the track. That's my preference...
__________________
M.J. McIntyre

Yokomo YRX12
Tamiya TB03
JimmyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2009, 05:12 AM   #5
Tech Elite
 
Yokomo_Ant3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,405
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimmyMac View Post
I use setup station at home, and wheels and camber gauge at the track. That's my preference...
+1

Use a setup station and then check camber with a camber guage. Every wheel has a different offset, so it is important to check the camber when changing wheels.

Antoni
__________________
Antoni Caretti

Team Yokomo - Racing Performer - Sweep Racing
Yokomo_Ant3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2009, 06:07 AM   #6
Tech Addict
 
bfong13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 611
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

I use the Integy setup station and it works fairlly well. I've heard people say that it has alot of slop compared to the Hudy, but I wasn't going to shell out 3X the $ for the Hudy. Having a setup station takes all of the guess work out making adjustments to your car and I believe, is well worth the money. As others have said, you can adjust front and rear camber and toe as well as, steering left and right EPA. Setup wheels only allow you to adjust the camber. Adjusting ride height should be done with the tires you will be using on the track. Adjusting droop doesn't require a setup station or setup wheels, but rather, a droop gauge and blocks.
bfong13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2009, 09:42 AM   #7
Tech Fanatic
 
BrodieMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 761
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Hudy has a set-up station for 1/10 off road buggies that looks mint, not so mint of a pricetag though Could I use it for 1/10 TC as well?? Don't really see why not. off-road is my thing but getting into TC in the new year and would be great to only need one set-up station for all my 10th scale. Integy is half the price but no off-road station. Hudy is X-Ray right?
"The West is the Best" The Lizard King
__________________
Mark Richardson
Kawartha Radio Controlled Racers
Lakefield Hobby & Game. ExtremeRCforum
Schumacher Mi4cx CRC Gen-X 10 LE
BrodieMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2009, 10:40 AM   #8
Tech Elite
 
niznai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: All over the place
Posts: 2,940
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yokomo_Ant3 View Post
+1

Use a setup station and then check camber with a camber guage. Every wheel has a different offset, so it is important to check the camber when changing wheels.

Antoni
Camber is not affected by wheel offset.
__________________
Team Greasy Weasel

The best upgrade to any car is some driver skill.
niznai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2009, 01:02 AM   #9
Tech Elite
 
Yokomo_Ant3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,405
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by niznai View Post
Camber is not affected by wheel offset.
Last time i checked it did.. I had 3 deifferent sets of wheels with different offsets and the camber changed with every set of wheels..Maybe its just me..

Also not every rim is pefect so its good to rotate the wheel around and check the camber at a few different spots on the each rim.

Antoni
__________________
Antoni Caretti

Team Yokomo - Racing Performer - Sweep Racing
Yokomo_Ant3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:02 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net