Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Castle Creations Mamba Max Pro Sensored ESC >

Castle Creations Mamba Max Pro Sensored ESC

Castle Creations Mamba Max Pro Sensored ESC

Old 08-25-2010, 01:47 PM
  #1276  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (6)
 
js058515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 574
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Leroifittipalde View Post
Just ordered my MMP yesterday. Anyone know if the programing sofware is mac compatable? Im assuming its pc only.
PC and you need to follow a few sequences when installing depending on your OS. Mine runs fine on Win 7 64. Castle's site has the specifics for install I believe.
js058515 is offline  
Old 08-25-2010, 02:12 PM
  #1277  
Tech Apprentice
 
Leroifittipalde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 54
Default

Originally Posted by js058515 View Post
PC and you need to follow a few sequences when installing depending on your OS. Mine runs fine on Win 7 64. Castle's site has the specifics for install I believe.
Thanks, my laptop PC recently crashed. Guess itll be going back to dell sooner than later.
Leroifittipalde is offline  
Old 08-25-2010, 02:19 PM
  #1278  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (6)
 
js058515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 574
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Leroifittipalde View Post
Thanks, my laptop PC recently crashed. Guess itll be going back to dell sooner than later.
Netbook dude, your not a true EP guy without one....j/k. Can you believe a laptop can be cheaper than a cell phone (well Smart Phone w/o a contract).
js058515 is offline  
Old 08-25-2010, 03:45 PM
  #1279  
Tech Apprentice
 
Leroifittipalde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 54
Default

Originally Posted by js058515 View Post
Netbook dude, your not a true EP guy without one....j/k. Can you believe a laptop can be cheaper than a cell phone (well Smart Phone w/o a contract).
Yeah, pretty inespensive. Ive been looking around for one. Maybe castle will make a software version that allows you to program from a smart phone...id try that.
Leroifittipalde is offline  
Old 08-29-2010, 01:05 PM
  #1280  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (6)
 
js058515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 574
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

I am not looking to buy another 1 Cell MMP, but I found this on eBay.

http://cgi.ebay.com/CASTLE-CREATIONS...ht_1431wt_1136

This is a very good deal w/o coupons or codes. So if your in the market for one jump on it! Hope I am able to help a fellow RCTech member.
js058515 is offline  
Old 08-29-2010, 02:40 PM
  #1281  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (14)
 
phisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Three Rivers, Michigan
Posts: 656
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

I put a MMP into a Tamiya Evo IV touring car with a Tekin Redline 4.5. I'm looking at using this for a parking lot basher (top speed) and wanted to know how much I can advance the timing. Currently I have it set to 18 degrees at 10K + rpm and the temps are around 120 degrees F. How far can I go? With my current setting I'm shooting in the dark. I know I should be concerned with temperatures. Thoughts? Suggestions? Does anyone have a good set up for top speed?
phisher is offline  
Old 08-29-2010, 04:34 PM
  #1282  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (6)
 
macdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 968
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by phisher View Post
I put a MMP into a Tamiya Evo IV touring car with a Tekin Redline 4.5. I'm looking at using this for a parking lot basher (top speed) and wanted to know how much I can advance the timing. Currently I have it set to 18 degrees at 10K + rpm and the temps are around 120 degrees F. How far can I go? With my current setting I'm shooting in the dark. I know I should be concerned with temperatures. Thoughts? Suggestions? Does anyone have a good set up for top speed?
If you are looking at going fast in a straight line. I would start with a FDR of around 7-8. Then I would slowly increase the timing until you are getting the motor to the 150F mark. If that is still not fast enough try lowering the FDR, but watch your temps. The 4.5 is fast without timing, with timing it should launch you into outer-space.
macdude is offline  
Old 08-30-2010, 05:16 AM
  #1283  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (14)
 
phisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Three Rivers, Michigan
Posts: 656
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by macdude View Post
If you are looking at going fast in a straight line. I would start with a FDR of around 7-8. Then I would slowly increase the timing until you are getting the motor to the 150F mark. If that is still not fast enough try lowering the FDR, but watch your temps. The 4.5 is fast without timing, with timing it should launch you into outer-space.
Honestly, the 4.5 seemed fasted without any ESC timing but, maybe it was my perception.
phisher is offline  
Old 08-30-2010, 07:26 AM
  #1284  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (6)
 
macdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 968
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by phisher View Post
Honestly, the 4.5 seemed fasted without any ESC timing but, maybe it was my perception.

What RPM range are you using. I wouldn't start until 20K-25K based on what the motor is suppose to spin. The other thing to think about is that as you get get close to the 80K-90K RPM you are approaching the physical limit of the rotor. The only rotors rated for more are the motors that come from castle. I have a 9000kv motor from castle and well, I don't use it for anything as it is just too fast to be controllable. I thought about putting in my TC and then running it in a drag, but I can get a 17.5 with timing to do 55 MPH so, I am thinking that going 70-80 MPH or more with a TC well that is just too much. Its fun, but I am sure that it would be short lived as at that speed something is bound to give.
macdude is offline  
Old 08-30-2010, 07:35 AM
  #1285  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (14)
 
phisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Three Rivers, Michigan
Posts: 656
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by macdude View Post
What RPM range are you using. I wouldn't start until 20K-25K based on what the motor is suppose to spin.
I think I have it starting at 12K. From what you're saying, that is too low. I will set it higher.
phisher is offline  
Old 08-31-2010, 10:36 AM
  #1286  
Tech Legend
iTrader: (268)
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 32,688
Trader Rating: 268 (100%+)
Default

for 1/12 scale usage, is it possible to still use the regular MM Pro? I am assuming the man issue was its size.

For 1/10 WGT, should be straight forward as well, no size concern?

And anyone got pics or links to pics to the standard MM Pro mounted in a 1/12 and WGT Car?
Cain is offline  
Old 08-31-2010, 11:08 AM
  #1287  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (6)
 
js058515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 574
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Cain View Post
for 1/12 scale usage, is it possible to still use the regular MM Pro? I am assuming the man issue was its size.

For 1/10 WGT, should be straight forward as well, no size concern?

And anyone got pics or links to pics to the standard MM Pro mounted in a 1/12 and WGT Car?
Ditto! My next 2 projects are a CRC 1/10 and 1/12 with the MMP in the 1/10 and the MMP 1cell in the 1/12. I would love to get some electronics layouts.
js058515 is offline  
Old 09-02-2010, 01:40 AM
  #1288  
Tech Initiate
 
KKKWAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 42
Default

currently, I now using MMP 1 Cell version on my R12L3

found interesting as the battery on one side and the MMP on the other side (T-Bar version 1/12)

so far seem very good.
just feel a bit trouble need to add a booster for my servo / receiver

I really love the MMP smooth performance on 1 cell
KKKWAN is offline  
Old 09-02-2010, 06:51 AM
  #1289  
Tech Legend
iTrader: (268)
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 32,688
Trader Rating: 268 (100%+)
Default

need to call castle, got a message that the field programmer is backordered, really wish they would have that posted when you order. Now have to see if I can get a castlelink ASAP.
Cain is offline  
Old 09-03-2010, 05:36 PM
  #1290  
Tech Regular
 
Luppi Stefano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Italy
Posts: 490
Default

This sunday I want Try LRP X12 10,5 Stock Spec with MMP
track: Fast
which setup use?
motor timing or ?
thanks guys
Luppi Stefano is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.