Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Castle Creations Mamba Max Pro Sensored ESC >

Castle Creations Mamba Max Pro Sensored ESC

Castle Creations Mamba Max Pro Sensored ESC

Old 11-30-2009, 09:11 PM
  #106  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
05tuonojoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 104
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

If you have the castlelink you need to update your firmware. I had the same problem with my DX3s as far as calibration until I updated. Now no problems.
05tuonojoe is offline  
Old 12-01-2009, 06:56 AM
  #107  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 650
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by jkirkwood View Post
Is the 1s version being designed to fit in a 1/12th scale without grinding fins and stuff to clear the body?
I doubt that they've had time to retool the case and/or heatsink for 12th. I was looking at mine last night and it looks like it might actually fit. At least under the new Protoform body. Without the Fan and a little cutting above the caps.

I'm looking at machining a new case up though. The board is actually about the same size as the old Sphere Comp. Just a couple of mm taller with the heatsink. If we didn't have the large case it wouldn't be that big actually. Plus there's no external cap to screw with.
Fred_B is offline  
Old 12-01-2009, 07:09 AM
  #108  
Tech Master
iTrader: (7)
 
ali_g's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,156
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

guys can mamba max pro be used for brushed motor?
ali_g is offline  
Old 12-01-2009, 07:44 AM
  #109  
Tech Master
 
cyanyde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: KL, MY.
Posts: 1,130
Default

yes
cyanyde is offline  
Old 12-01-2009, 10:06 AM
  #110  
Tech Apprentice
 
MikeL.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 95
Default

Originally Posted by jkirkwood View Post
Is the 1s version being designed to fit in a 1/12th scale without grinding fins and stuff to clear the body?
The heatsink will be the same. If we design a new heatsink it would be a long time before you got one. They will however come with no fan and will have solder posts instead of wires for the motor.
MikeL. is offline  
Old 12-01-2009, 12:36 PM
  #111  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 650
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Solder posts... Excellent.

Anyone that's changed the wires out knows that it's a real pain.

I honestly think that the heatsink will clear. If not, it won't be the first time I've had a speedo mounted in the mill to shorten things up for 12th.
Fred_B is offline  
Old 12-01-2009, 12:40 PM
  #112  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (39)
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: anywhere I can race 2wd dirt,and 1/12 onroad in MI.
Posts: 3,413
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

HEY!!! Get back to that four letter word known as work FRED!!!
2wdMod is offline  
Old 12-01-2009, 12:45 PM
  #113  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 422
Default

have installed the mmp in my 416we car, man its HUGE!! will have to get a low profile servo to be able to get everything in place (dont want to have the receiver on the servo..)
Hatebreed is offline  
Old 12-01-2009, 12:48 PM
  #114  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (14)
 
geeunit1014's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The dirty burnie
Posts: 5,682
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Fred_B View Post
Solder posts... Excellent.

Anyone that's changed the wires out knows that it's a real pain.

I honestly think that the heatsink will clear. If not, it won't be the first time I've had a speedo mounted in the mill to shorten things up for 12th.
I know there were a few people @ indoor champs over the weekend running MMP's in 1/12ths. Not sure where they ended up however.
geeunit1014 is offline  
Old 12-01-2009, 12:52 PM
  #115  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (96)
 
iPearl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cypress, TX
Posts: 2,890
Trader Rating: 96 (100%+)
Default

I have one, been running it, for the price i am very happy.

Few question and thoughts i have about.

Brakes are a tad bit weak with the latest non beta software.
The beta release seems to have a little more brake power.

Does this thing have hybrid drive
(Sonsored on start and sensorless once going)
B/C compared to my SP1.1 it is as smooth but
MMPro has more punch through out the low to mid bandwith
but SP has more punch on the high end.

I was thinking if this hybrid drive makes a difference in it and if MMPro has it.

Overall happy with it.
iPearl is offline  
Old 12-01-2009, 12:59 PM
  #116  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 650
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by 2wdMod View Post
HEY!!! Get back to that four letter word known as work FRED!!!
That's the beauty of running so many engine models. I can work and check out the boards.
Fred_B is offline  
Old 12-01-2009, 01:07 PM
  #117  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 650
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by iPearl View Post
I have one, been running it, for the price i am very happy.

Few question and thoughts i have about.

Brakes are a tad bit weak with the latest non beta software.
The beta release seems to have a little more brake power.

Does this thing have hybrid drive
(Sonsored on start and sensorless once going)
B/C compared to my SP1.1 it is as smooth but
MMPro has more punch through out the low to mid bandwith
but SP has more punch on the high end.

I was thinking if this hybrid drive makes a difference in it and if MMPro has it.

Overall happy with it.
I think it's sensored only when you use CHEAT mode. I've actually been turning the brakes down on the thing because I'm running dirt at the moment.

If the brakes are weak, try this. Crank even more timing into CHEAT mode and gear down. The more you gear down the more brakes you'll have (until it breaks loose and the tires lock up).

The cave man way of getting more brakes is to run it with reverse enabled. Then adjust the amount of reverse % you have available to keep it from acting all funny. This was my double secret way of getting the Tekin to stop in sedan outdoors...

Almost forgot, you can also change the brake curve to have more brake at the beginning. I don't mess with the whole curve, Just pick one point to give it more brake at the beginning of the curve.
Fred_B is offline  
Old 12-03-2009, 11:15 AM
  #118  
Tech Master
iTrader: (8)
 
jkirkwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,241
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by MikeL. View Post
The heatsink will be the same. If we design a new heatsink it would be a long time before you got one. They will however come with no fan and will have solder posts instead of wires for the motor.
Thanks for the response.
jkirkwood is offline  
Old 12-03-2009, 01:26 PM
  #119  
wyd
Tech Legend
iTrader: (51)
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,219
Trader Rating: 51 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by iPearl View Post
I have one, been running it, for the price i am very happy.

Few question and thoughts i have about.

Brakes are a tad bit weak with the latest non beta software.
The beta release seems to have a little more brake power.

Does this thing have hybrid drive
(Sonsored on start and sensorless once going)
B/C compared to my SP1.1 it is as smooth but
MMPro has more punch through out the low to mid bandwith
but SP has more punch on the high end.

I was thinking if this hybrid drive makes a difference in it and if MMPro has it.

Overall happy with it.
It does offer the hybrid type drive but when you use that setup you can't use the extra timing the cheat mode provides. In the hybrid mode the max timing you can get is 20 degrees plus whatever you motor has.
wyd is offline  
Old 12-03-2009, 01:55 PM
  #120  
Tech Master
iTrader: (29)
 
RCMits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,057
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by robk View Post
Apparently they are using it for 1s in oval racing, but there is some mods. They are removing the voltage regulator, I believe. Supposedly it's very fast, though, so I'm sure the info will be out soon.
special make.. im sure they'll come out with a production one if it flies..

http://www.castlecreations.com/produ...o-onecell.html
RCMits is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.