Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Castle Creations Mamba Max Pro Sensored ESC >

Castle Creations Mamba Max Pro Sensored ESC

Castle Creations Mamba Max Pro Sensored ESC

Old 11-24-2009, 09:18 AM
  #91  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
05tuonojoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 104
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Its been about 10 days with no sign of my castle link. I finally just went and bought one. Couldn't handle it anymore.
05tuonojoe is offline  
Old 11-24-2009, 03:41 PM
  #92  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (12)
 
m4runner28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Baldwin Park, CA
Posts: 62
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Do you guys know if the MMPro can handle a 2S 40C 5000 mah Lipo? That's a 200 amp discharge rated battery. I'm kinda new to the lipo brushless systems and don't want to fry the ESC when I plug in this lipo.

I'm running the 5700kv motor.
m4runner28 is offline  
Old 11-24-2009, 04:00 PM
  #93  
Tech Master
iTrader: (26)
 
sportpak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ft Wayne, IN
Posts: 1,314
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by m4runner28 View Post
Do you guys know if the MMPro can handle a 2S 40C 5000 mah Lipo? That's a 200 amp discharge rated battery. I'm kinda new to the lipo brushless systems and don't want to fry the ESC when I plug in this lipo.

I'm running the 5700kv motor.
It's good man. Just because the battery is rated at a given current, your combination may never draw it. I'd guess your system might draw 50-70 amp momentarily at best. Your battery, based on rating, can easily and effectively deliver that demand.

Make sure you gear on the safe side to start and you'll be golden.

Ben
sportpak is offline  
Old 11-24-2009, 04:01 PM
  #94  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 126
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Yes it will handle your battery. It will handle up to 6s lipo.
mark_stnly is offline  
Old 11-24-2009, 05:02 PM
  #95  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (12)
 
m4runner28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Baldwin Park, CA
Posts: 62
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Thanks guys. I am planning to run this setup in a Hyper 10SC...

Gearing - will figure out at the track I guess. It comes with a 11t. I heard guys going down a tooth or 2 with the MMPro 5700kv on 2S...
m4runner28 is offline  
Old 11-26-2009, 03:57 AM
  #96  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
Nuno Gancho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 399
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

So does the MM pro makes diference in modified with the 50 advance timing
Nuno Gancho is offline  
Old 11-26-2009, 06:16 AM
  #97  
Tech Master
iTrader: (26)
 
sportpak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ft Wayne, IN
Posts: 1,314
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Nuno Gancho View Post
So does the MM pro makes diference in modified with the 50 advance timing
If you need 50 deg advance in mod, wouldn't you be better off motoring up? It would probably make a lot of heat and rollout would be an unbelievably narrow window.

That's like, "I race 1/12th scale with a 4.5, what size pinion should I use?"
sportpak is offline  
Old 11-27-2009, 08:26 AM
  #98  
Tech Master
iTrader: (26)
 
sportpak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ft Wayne, IN
Posts: 1,314
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Scheduled for some extensive 21.5 VTA testing tonight. Hope to have some interesting news for everyone.

Ben

Last edited by sportpak; 11-28-2009 at 01:53 PM.
sportpak is offline  
Old 11-28-2009, 01:54 PM
  #99  
Tech Master
iTrader: (26)
 
sportpak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ft Wayne, IN
Posts: 1,314
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by sportpak View Post
Scheduled for some extensive 21.5 VTA testing tonight. Hope to have some interesting news for everyone.

Ben
Car ran very well last night.
Our track is about 36 x 90.
I'm running 30 deg advance in cheat mode @ 7500 rpm and it was awesome.
FDR is 4.65
Motor temps stayed around 150f all night.
Plenty of rip and within inches of the Tekins on the back straight.

I need to play around with the throttle curve. It hit a little harsh on the low-mid throttle input. I like a little more butter on the low end. The harshness might have been upsetting the car enough to make me feel a little off all night. It's nice knowing there's plenty on tap.

I did have a strange hesitation on one of my starts. The car rolled gently a foot and then quit for about .5 second, then took off like a bat out of hell. It really brake checked the field and left me a sitting duck. The other three runs I stopped the car and launched it several times on the warmup laps and never had the issue again. Any one else encounter this?

Still very happy. Great value if you can live with the size.

Ben
sportpak is offline  
Old 11-29-2009, 01:14 PM
  #100  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (65)
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: cleveland, oh
Posts: 485
Trader Rating: 65 (100%+)
Default

do they have a 1S version of the speedo out now?
Barneys Racing is offline  
Old 11-30-2009, 05:05 PM
  #101  
Tech Elite
 
porkchop's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: o-h-i-o
Posts: 2,830
Default

well we went on a street test
4600 mamba max pro system sc10 gear at 87/24 40c 5000 lipo
clocked at 60 mph
oh and did i mention when you hit lite poles stuff breaks
it dose power wheels it spins the tires and slips a locked sliper
porkchop is offline  
Old 11-30-2009, 05:09 PM
  #102  
Tech Master
iTrader: (80)
 
lowcel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Charleston, WV
Posts: 1,315
Trader Rating: 80 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by mark_stnly View Post
Yes it will handle your battery. It will handle up to 6s lipo.
Thanks again for taking care of my problem with the mmp. Upping the output voltage took care of it. I haven't had one failure since you changed it.

Oh yeah, received my castle link on Saturday.
lowcel is offline  
Old 11-30-2009, 06:28 PM
  #103  
Tech Master
iTrader: (21)
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 1,188
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Barneys Racing View Post
do they have a 1S version of the speedo out now?
12/15 is what I was told.
lidebt2 is offline  
Old 11-30-2009, 06:46 PM
  #104  
Tech Master
iTrader: (8)
 
jkirkwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,241
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Is the 1s version being designed to fit in a 1/12th scale without grinding fins and stuff to clear the body?
jkirkwood is offline  
Old 11-30-2009, 07:28 PM
  #105  
Tech Adept
 
SIRCC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 215
Default

Originally Posted by mrey16533 View Post
My only complaint for this ESC is that it does not brake hard like the LRP'S SPX. Having a hardtime braking late on hairpins. It might be my radio. my DX3r does not calibrate with my Mamba max pro. I belive Castle is working on it. Other than those mentioned above, I like everything about it.
RESET YOUR TX CONTROLS, I had the same problem once
SIRCC is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.