Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Castle Creations Mamba Max Pro Sensored ESC >

Castle Creations Mamba Max Pro Sensored ESC

Castle Creations Mamba Max Pro Sensored ESC

Old 02-10-2010, 01:08 PM
  #616  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 98
Default

Originally Posted by Mr RCTech View Post
Works with the Mamba Max Pro.

Load and save profiles easy.
but how??
florianlaux is offline  
Old 02-10-2010, 09:28 PM
  #617  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 230
Default

Hi

I'm about to order a mamba max pro, and was wondering how it holds up against the Tekins?, will castle be bringing out new software very soon to stick with Tekins 203v, i have read people saying the castle is only off by about 1 tenth, but over many laps thats a good few seconds.

Thanks Ya`All
MoonTrap is offline  
Old 02-11-2010, 04:39 AM
  #618  
Tech Adept
 
Jamesalex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 185
Default

Hi,

I have had a quick look through this thread as I may be on the look out for a new speed controller for my GT car.

With the 1cell version

I was wondering what sort of settings everyone has been running in terms of pc setup for this speed controller, I race on a open flowing track that is 30x16m.

I would be using 1cell lipo and a 10.5 x11 lrp motor

any insight would be great as it seems a really good speed controller if the old castle stuff is anything to go by I will be happy.
Jamesalex is offline  
Old 02-11-2010, 07:35 AM
  #619  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (7)
 
maximebeauvais's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Gatineau, QC, Canada (beside Ottawa)
Posts: 794
Trader Rating: 7 (89%+)
Default

I'm running offroad (associated B4) with a 13.5 motor....

I do have the Mamba Max Pro and it's big... !!!!

It is safe to remove the fan or we really need it.

Thanks a lot.

PS: what about sedan 13.5....should I keep the fan?
maximebeauvais is offline  
Old 02-11-2010, 08:25 AM
  #620  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
bkspeedo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Fort Fun, CO
Posts: 3,149
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Jamesalex View Post
Hi,

I have had a quick look through this thread as I may be on the look out for a new speed controller for my GT car.

With the 1cell version

I was wondering what sort of settings everyone has been running in terms of pc setup for this speed controller, I race on a open flowing track that is 30x16m.

I would be using 1cell lipo and a 10.5 x11 lrp motor

any insight would be great as it seems a really good speed controller if the old castle stuff is anything to go by I will be happy.
Try this, be aware to check temp after a few minutes.

Cheat Mode
Timing 50deg
RPM range 8000-15kish
Motor Timing stock or zero, bump if motor is running cool and car seems a little slow still.
Punch off to 20% depending on how you like the feel
Start-up High


Originally Posted by maximebeauvais View Post
I'm running offroad (associated B4) with a 13.5 motor....

I do have the Mamba Max Pro and it's big... !!!!

It is safe to remove the fan or we really need it.

Thanks a lot.

PS: what about sedan 13.5....should I keep the fan?
Yes remove the fan. In off-road the ESC will not get hot at all, in TC is may reach 120deg which does not warrant a fan.
bkspeedo is offline  
Old 02-11-2010, 09:55 AM
  #621  
Tech Adept
 
gixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 194
Default

I'm sure i've read the official Castle Creations answer to this but after 30 mins searching i came up empty handed, sorry.

Why do Castle Creations ship the MMP with a 3v/cell cutoff as the default LiPo setting when every LiPo battery manufacturer gives 3v/cell as the absolute minimum a LiPo should be run at?

Most battery manufacturers are saying thay 3.7v/cell as the best compromise, 3.85v/cell the ideal.
So why not have either of these as the default LiPo cutoff setting?


Fpr many racers they understand the advantages and disadvantages, they also understand that stopping the car as soon as the 3v/cell cutoff kicks in will give a better at rest voltage.


But most the bashers that buy RC cars just to blast around with mates don't have the time, effort or enthusiasm to research LiPo battery technology, so they end up wondering why their charger faults out every time after a bashing session.

The reason the chargers faulting out is because they are using their batteries to the bitter end at 3v/cell cutoff, this inevitably means that the cells come out of balance beyond the chargers specs (around 0.5v/cell).


My thinking is, if your an enthusiast or racer you will have:
a/ The knowledge or enthusiasm to find out what works best with regards to LiPo voltages.
b/ Your not likely to risk hitting anywhere near the cutoff in a race
c/ Your likely to have the Castle Link so you can easily reprogram the Esc if you want longer run times and understand the risks.


I've now had 2 mates destroy expensive good quality LiPo's simply because their Escs cutoffs are too low and they are running them till the car is not able to move anymore.
These are not all Castle Creation Esc's but i've found that you guys respond better than the others

So why ship with 3v/cell cutoff as the LiPo default, when it goes against every grain of LiPo knowledge out there and common sense?




Cheers
Mark
gixer is offline  
Old 02-11-2010, 11:03 AM
  #622  
Tech Master
iTrader: (5)
 
ABBOTT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: St Charles ,MO
Posts: 1,207
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Thumbs up

Very well said. I hope all you bashers out there take note of this for sure.
ABBOTT is offline  
Old 02-11-2010, 12:40 PM
  #623  
Tech Addict
 
Born2Run's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Europe
Posts: 737
Default

Any news when the MMP will be in stock again?
Born2Run is offline  
Old 02-11-2010, 05:16 PM
  #624  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
thirdplace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,087
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Born2Run View Post
Any news when the MMP will be in stock again?
10 in stock
http://www.superiorhobbies.com/istar...&id=CSE6600!SH
79 in stock
http://www.superiorhobbies.com/istar...&id=CSE6699!SH
thirdplace is offline  
Old 02-11-2010, 09:14 PM
  #625  
Tech Addict
 
Born2Run's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Europe
Posts: 737
Default

Thanks thirdplace.I cannot buy from them as they don't accept Paypal but i am also wondering how superiorhobbies could be the only store all over the net that sells this product these days.
Born2Run is offline  
Old 02-12-2010, 05:43 AM
  #626  
Tech Master
iTrader: (36)
 
slakr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 1,814
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Born2Run View Post
but i am also wondering how superiorhobbies could be the only store all over the net that sells this product these days.
+1... how is that Think I might give them a call today.
slakr is offline  
Old 02-12-2010, 06:10 AM
  #627  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (7)
 
maximebeauvais's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Gatineau, QC, Canada (beside Ottawa)
Posts: 794
Trader Rating: 7 (89%+)
Default

I got it from them at $119 around 3 weeks ago
Now it's $124

Shipping amount was 6$ for Canada as per their web site but I got an other invoice that I had to pay extra $10 or so.

So I will never order again from them.....making money on shipping that not fair
maximebeauvais is offline  
Old 02-12-2010, 06:54 AM
  #628  
Tech Addict
 
Born2Run's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Europe
Posts: 737
Default

Originally Posted by maximebeauvais View Post
I got it from them at $119 around 3 weeks ago
Now it's $124

Shipping amount was 6$ for Canada as per their web site but I got an other invoice that I had to pay extra $10 or so.

So I will never order again from them.....making money on shipping that not fair
maxim he is not the only one who try to make money on shipping.Especially on ebay this happens very often.
Born2Run is offline  
Old 02-12-2010, 07:16 AM
  #629  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (7)
 
maximebeauvais's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Gatineau, QC, Canada (beside Ottawa)
Posts: 794
Trader Rating: 7 (89%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Born2Run View Post
maxim he is not the only one who try to make money on shipping.Especially on ebay this happens very often.
he stated 6$ for Canada...that was a fair amount.....and that's why I decided to buy from him. There were a few auction on ebay but it was 125$ and shipping was like 8$ so I was able to save a few $$$ by buying from this hobby store

an other hobby store (thetoyz). Shipping was like 6-7$...that's fine with me. However, I got the item in a small buble envelop with a stamp of 1.19$ or so. I told the owner that this was not fair 5$ of handling is way too much. 2$-3$ of handling, I understand but 5$..

anyway, it's Friday and I should be happy instead of complaining
maximebeauvais is offline  
Old 02-12-2010, 07:25 AM
  #630  
Tech Addict
 
Born2Run's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Europe
Posts: 737
Default

You're right.Forget it and try to enjoy your weekend
Born2Run is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.