R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-29-2009, 03:09 PM   #1
Tech Initiate
 
ky_ace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Paducah, KY
Posts: 36
Default HPI Sprint 2 issues

I just bought a Sprint 2 off a guy and it worked fine when I bought it. I put a Ni-Cd 7.2V 2000mAh battery from Radio Shack in it today (don't know how charged it is, but it worked fine in my Slash) and found 2 problems.

1. I can't find an on-off switch. Does this thing just have the battery plug serve as its switch? I looked on HPI's website and didn't see a switch in the pictures there either.

http://www.hpiracing.com/kitinfo/750/

2. When I plug the battery in and turn on the controller, the car is immediately in drive. The steering doesn't work and the throttle will not back off, even with the trim knob. It's like the receiver has gone out or something.

I'd planned to buy a Spektrum system, but was going to wait until Christmas to do so. Does anyone have any ideas about what's going on? Like I mentioned, I pulled the battery from my slash and the controller batteries from the slash controller, where they worked fine, and put them in my sprint 2 and had issues.

Thanks in advance for any help.

BMeeks
__________________
B Meeks
Traxxas Slash
- Novak Havoc Brushless
- Velineon Brushless
HPI Sprint 2
ky_ace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2009, 03:27 PM   #2
Tech Initiate
 
ky_ace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Paducah, KY
Posts: 36
Default

okay, so i answered the first question on my own. It does not have a switch. It operates by plugging and unplugging the battery according to the manual. I didn't find any information on why it would take off and ignore the steering input though.
__________________
B Meeks
Traxxas Slash
- Novak Havoc Brushless
- Velineon Brushless
HPI Sprint 2
ky_ace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2009, 03:43 PM   #3
Tech Fanatic
 
dfiantii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Arlington, Tx
Posts: 799
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to dfiantii Send a message via Yahoo to dfiantii
Default

This may sound stupid but have you turned out the transmitter first before you plug in the car?
__________________
TT-01/Hitec MG/SP LPF V1.1/Trinity 7.5
Losi Type-R/JR Z8800S/SP GT 2.0
Exotek F1R/Savox 1251/Tekin RS
TLR 22 2.0
"ELECTRIFIED TO THE HILT"
dfiantii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2009, 08:40 PM   #4
Tech Initiate
 
ky_ace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Paducah, KY
Posts: 36
Default

i went through and pulled the servo wires and esc wires and plugged them back in... I think I had plugged the car in before turning the controller on, essentially turning the car on first. whatever it was, it didn't re-occur when I assembled the car again and turned it on. It was extremely slow and took a couple seconds to initiate reverse but I think that's a delayed esc thing... not sure..

BMeeks
__________________
B Meeks
Traxxas Slash
- Novak Havoc Brushless
- Velineon Brushless
HPI Sprint 2
ky_ace is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HPI Blitz Thread RCZILLA Electric Off-Road 5369 10-19-2016 11:51 AM
GEAR CHART FOR IPHONE - GEARIT! ab1105 Electric Off-Road 33 11-24-2010 09:31 AM
HPI HB Challenge 08 andyh Racing Forum 628 07-29-2008 02:36 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:38 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net