R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-16-2004, 12:45 PM   #10141
Tech Master
 
Scrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Plover, WI
Posts: 1,510
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

I always put a small piece of shrink wrap from the rx to the antenna, just so it isn't setting on the chassis. In your pic it looks like your wire maybe touching the chassis.

Also make sure those weights you have on your servo are insulated and are not touching the case. I've had servos do some weird stuff before.
Scrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2004, 12:46 PM   #10142
Tech Elite
 
DavidAlford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 4,151
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to DavidAlford
Default

Something else to check and make sure you have caps on your motor. I also use a piece of fuel tubing on my wire between the RX and the tube.
__________________
Hot Bodies/HPI | Jconcepts | Viper RC | Xpert | Sippel Speed Shop | Lawton RC Raceway | SXT
DavidAlford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2004, 12:51 PM   #10143
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 251
Default Re: Interference problem.

Quote:
Originally posted by markp27
Hi,

I was wondering if anyone would have any ideas as to by I'm getting interference problems at my circuit.

Quite often when I go past one part of the circuit, where a metail door is in the wall, my steering and throttle glitch very badly - sometimes sending me into the wall

With my other car (non-Xray) this doesn't happen - I'm using the same crystals as with the other car and have even tried changing the frequency, but nothing works.

I run on a counter-clockwise circuit and my rx unit is on the side of the car which is closest to the metal door when I pass it. Has anyone else suffered from this kind of problem and is there a solution?

Here is a pic showing my setup - can anyone spot if I have done something wrong?

Hi Mark,

You could read some tips and trick's but I have another hint.

Your receiverwire is hitting the chassis in the picture??
This shouldn't be.
This can cause interference, due the fact that the chassis is made of full carbonfibre.

Thomas
840918001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2004, 12:51 PM   #10144
Tech Elite
 
markp27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Nuremberg, Germany
Posts: 4,069
Send a message via ICQ to markp27
Default

Thanks for the replies guys.

@TigeRyan: I haven't tried the obvious things yet, I wanted to check to see if there was an easy solution first

@Scrad: the wire isn't sitting on the chassis, but I'll try puting some fuel tubing on the wire to make sure. I have removed the weights since this picture, so it is not due to them.

@DavidAlford: actually I don't have caps on the motor - would this cause interference at full throttle?

Cheers, Mark.
markp27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2004, 12:53 PM   #10145
Tech Elite
 
DavidAlford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 4,151
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to DavidAlford
Default

Yes sir. Some motors don't need them like the Epic based ones because they are built in. But I think all Reedy based motors and the older Tops do.
__________________
Hot Bodies/HPI | Jconcepts | Viper RC | Xpert | Sippel Speed Shop | Lawton RC Raceway | SXT
DavidAlford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2004, 12:54 PM   #10146
Tech Elite
 
markp27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Nuremberg, Germany
Posts: 4,069
Send a message via ICQ to markp27
Default Re: Re: Interference problem.

Quote:
Originally posted by 840918001
Hi Mark,

You could read some tips and trick's but I have another hint.

Your receiverwire is hitting the chassis in the picture??
This shouldn't be.
This can cause interference, due the fact that the chassis is made of full carbonfibre.

Thomas
Thanks Thomas, but the wire is clear of the chassis - I have the spare wire wrapped around the bottom of the antenna, now, so it is well clear of the chassis itself.

BTW: My review of the TRF-415 v Xray T1-FK is coming on www.3hobby.com tonight - check it out
markp27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2004, 12:55 PM   #10147
Tech Elite
 
markp27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Nuremberg, Germany
Posts: 4,069
Send a message via ICQ to markp27
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DavidAlford
Yes sir. Some motors don't need them like the Epic based ones because they are built in. But I think all Reedy based motors and the older Tops do.
Ok, that can be one of the first things I try then. What about the diode? Is this required?
markp27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2004, 12:58 PM   #10148
Tech Elite
 
DavidAlford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 4,151
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to DavidAlford
Default

Depends on the ESC and the motor. For stock you really don't have to worry about it. But in mod where your gonna need more brakes I'd use it.
__________________
Hot Bodies/HPI | Jconcepts | Viper RC | Xpert | Sippel Speed Shop | Lawton RC Raceway | SXT
DavidAlford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2004, 01:15 PM   #10149
Tech Master
 
TigeRyan's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Southern New Jersey
Posts: 1,389
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to TigeRyan
Default

Definitely put caps on the motor, 3 of them one from positive to negative and then one from negative to can and the third from positive to can, just in case you haven't done it before....
__________________
SixFootTiger Cell Phone R/C Calculator - http://cell.sixfoottiger.com -
Android Marketing Place - R/C Calculator (https://market.android.com/details?id=com.sixfoottiger.andoid.rccalc&feature=search_result)
TigeRyan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2004, 01:17 PM   #10150
Tech Elite
 
markp27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Nuremberg, Germany
Posts: 4,069
Send a message via ICQ to markp27
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TigeRyan
Definitely put caps on the motor, 3 of them one from positive to negative and then one from negative to can and the third from positive to can, just in case you haven't done it before....
You guessed right - I'm as good as an elektro virgin
markp27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2004, 02:54 PM   #10151
Tech Elite
 
Sow&Steady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Va Va Voom!
Posts: 4,104
Default Re: Re: Re: Interference problem.

Quote:
Originally posted by markp27
Thanks Thomas, but the wire is clear of the chassis - I have the spare wire wrapped around the bottom of the antenna, now, so it is well clear of the chassis itself.

BTW: My review of the TRF-415 v Xray T1-FK is coming on www.3hobby.com tonight - check it out
Folks, the article above has been posted now. Apologies for the delay Mark, kept getting disturbed by the kids.
__________________
http://3hobby.net REVISITED V2 - Its on steroids!
https://www.facebook.com/ssteady
Sow&Steady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2004, 03:05 PM   #10152
Tech Elite
 
markp27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Nuremberg, Germany
Posts: 4,069
Send a message via ICQ to markp27
Default Test of Xray T1-FK Versus TRF-415

Eventually I concluded my testing of the Xray and 415 - see the article linked below:

Xray Versus 415
markp27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2004, 03:18 PM   #10153
Tech Elite
 
JDXray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 2,802
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to JDXray
Default Re: Test of Xray T1-FK Versus TRF-415

Quote:
Originally posted by markp27
Eventually I concluded my testing of the Xray and 415 - see the article linked below:

Xray Versus 415
Mark Great review, i really like the details.
JDXray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2004, 03:21 PM   #10154
Tech Elite
 
markp27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Nuremberg, Germany
Posts: 4,069
Send a message via ICQ to markp27
Default Re: Re: Test of Xray T1-FK Versus TRF-415

Quote:
Originally posted by JDXray
Mark Great review, i really like the details.
Thanks, glad you liked it - it was great to do the testing I decided to write the article from my testing notes, to give more of a flavour of what I was having to do to improve each car.

Now, which to choose!
markp27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2004, 03:22 PM   #10155
Tech Elite
 
markp27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Nuremberg, Germany
Posts: 4,069
Send a message via ICQ to markp27
Default Re: Re: Re: Re: Interference problem.

Quote:
Originally posted by Sow&Steady
Folks, the article above has been posted now. Apologies for the delay Mark, kept getting disturbed by the kids.
No problems Sow - thanks for putting the article online!
markp27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS - NEW !!!! XRAY NT18T and XRAY NT18 plus HUDY micro truck starter box w/ battery Omarko Australia For Sale/Trade 2 06-25-2008 08:47 PM
Xray T2, Brushed Motor Combo, Setup Tools, Xray Springs, Bodies etc... GroffBall R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 13 09-23-2007 08:53 PM
WTB: NIB Xray T1FK05 & Xray Teflon coated aluminum Shock Body Adam.A Australia Wanted to Buy 4 01-02-2007 03:30 PM
WTB: Xray T1FK05 & Xray Teflon coated aluminum Shock Body Adam.A R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 12-30-2006 03:26 PM
XRAY sedan spring kit / XRAY multi-diff / PRS 114t spur / RR 64p pinions / Stratus evostyle R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 6 12-19-2006 09:33 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:07 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net