R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Old 11-12-2004, 12:23 PM   #10051
Tech Apprentice

Default Spur Gears

RW do make 3 hole xray spurs and i got 128 and 124 in this configuration but im shocked that you people arent creative enough to adapt a 2 hole gear. I also bought a 2 hole RW 120t and the 2 holes line up, just use 2 m3 screws and nuts and bolt together then drill the extra holes!! simple, anyone could do it.

ANyway im new to running an xray as i was running a 415 before, i was impressed with the build except the rear wishbones seem quite tight to the mounts (probably cos ive got 3mm spacer) for 3 degree toe and this angles the pins alot, im sure this will wear in nicely cos i didnt want to sand because i hate slop in wishbones.

Also the front belt tracks to the left hand side of the one way and centre pulley, it wants to sit on that side which puts it almost touching the steering post i tried turning both pulleys round incase one was manufactured slightly conical?!! Didnt make a difference but maybe when run it may run centrally.

Rob
Robz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2004, 12:46 PM   #10052
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)

If I can't find the right kind of 3-hole spur, I'd rather run my stock 93T 48pitch then drill a hole in the layshaft and put a bolt behind it.... hmm, no thanks.

Dom
Old 11-12-2004, 12:50 PM   #10053
Tech Master

R/C Tech Charter Subscriber

Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to TigeRyan

Robz, I have the same issue with the belt running to one side of the pulley, I havent started racing my car yet, but I am thinking the same thing that once everything gets a little broken in then it will start running down the center of the pulley...
Old 11-12-2004, 12:58 PM   #10054
Tech Elite

My asphalt car has been running all summer and had the same belt problem... it still moves towad the center of the car more.... no big deal.

Dom
Old 11-12-2004, 01:04 PM   #10055