R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Old 08-16-2004, 11:49 AM   #8491
Tech Regular

Quote:
Originally posted by MR JOLLY
Rear toe in
I tryied running 1 degree & it was awfull,then a experience x-ray driver told me allways stay at 3 degree
Does any one else go this way as well? this is on asphalt with rubber not them spongy looking things(foams)
Never get yourself locked into thinking that one setting must always be used. I always use 2 deg rear toe-in and I think I am an experienced Xray driver too..but I would never tell someone ALWAYS use 2 degree rear toe.

Just try different settings and use what works best for you but keep an open mind.
Old 08-16-2004, 03:29 PM   #8492
Tech Addict

Qwig, thanks.

I realize that these "car" kits have their own little particulars, however, it took you guys to remind of simple basics [would have eventually thought of the rear toe in, you guys just saved me a bit of time and a lot frustration.....

^5s

Last edited by Tom G; 08-17-2004 at 04:01 AM.
Tom G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2004, 10:32 PM   #8493
Tech Elite

Location: MOOD;; feeling good not racing ,saving shed loads of money,lovely Tan i have aswell
Default REAR TOE IN

I run 27t stock mostly, so i was under the impression to run as little toe in as poss to keep the speed up in a straight line also aiding accelleration & braking so that is why i was on 1 degree

But i suppose with a car with so much steering you properly have to run 2+ degree on the rear to keep it in line

Q) Would it have been better to run 6 degree castor blocks instead of std 3 degree

The problem i had just a little to much initial turn in(snatch)
Moving from 1 degree to 3 degree cured this but it then felt it lost it`s zip (to much slip angle on rear)

The handling of the car was 95% there it was just the last 5% i was after
MR JOLLY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2004, 03:21 AM   #8494
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)