Xray T1

Reply

Old 04-14-2004, 10:44 AM
  #6781  
Tech Master
iTrader: (21)
 
dontfeelcold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Where there's smoke there's a tyre
Posts: 1,725
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

what about the fact that more weight will be on the front left, than the front right. same with rear. i guess if Josh Cyrul ran it this way on carpet, where this would be more noticable due to higher traction, it is not such a big thing. reason i ask i want to fit my hacker 6turn brushless motor and speedy and im trying to avoid putting holes in the chassis to move the battery brace.l

what do people think.
dontfeelcold is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2004, 04:15 PM
  #6782  
Tech Addict
 
sands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Iowa
Posts: 620
Default

adjust it with spring tweek. The cross weight issues is less important the front/back, left/right balance.
sands is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2004, 07:20 PM
  #6783  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (3)
 
scmicromike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Orlando
Posts: 165
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default shock problems

I am having a hell of a time rebuilding my shocks! can anyone give me some tips on what the best and easiest way to build them is. And more importantly I need to know what is the proper length of a shock without spring when it is fully extended?

thanks for your help

P.S they are t1r shocks.
scmicromike is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2004, 08:13 AM
  #6784  
Tech Elite
 
Neil Rabara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lone Star
Posts: 4,821
Default

Originally posted by John Fontaine
Here's a pic of my BMI Xray. Top notch quality and stiff as a board! 3mm thickness top and main chassis. Jason is very talented.
John

Do you have a pic of the bottom of the chassis? Also, are there slots to use straping tape instead of using the graphite battery hold downs?
Neil Rabara is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2004, 08:19 AM
  #6785  
Tech Master
iTrader: (21)
 
dontfeelcold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Where there's smoke there's a tyre
Posts: 1,725
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

scmicromike do it the way the instruction manual says. u cant go wrong
dontfeelcold is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2004, 08:35 AM
  #6786  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (3)
 
scmicromike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Orlando
Posts: 165
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

yeah that is what I figured. the last rebuild I must have done something wrong. because the collars in the rear where all the way to the top and my car was no lowwer then 5.5mm ride height. I had no adjustability. it realy pissed me off. could there be something else that is wrong? I checked for tweek and the car was not tweeked. I am lost here
scmicromike is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2004, 08:40 AM
  #6787  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (4)
 
wannabee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: RUBBERNECK RACING Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 2,484
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default Re: shock problems

Originally posted by scmicromike
I am having a hell of a time rebuilding my shocks! can anyone give me some tips on what the best and easiest way to build them is. And more importantly I need to know what is the proper length of a shock without spring when it is fully extended?

thanks for your help

P.S they are t1r shocks.
Drop me a line and I'll try and help you!

[email protected]

Kevin
wannabee is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2004, 12:23 PM
  #6788  
Tech Regular
 
RCchica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: PA
Posts: 418
Default

Im having problems with the ride height only being able to get down to 5.5 also.
I dont know if youre supposed to do this but I adjusted it by changing the droop.
RCchica is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2004, 12:35 PM
  #6789  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
JusBox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central VA
Posts: 2,170
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by RCchica
Im having problems with the ride height only being able to get down to 5.5 also.
I dont know if youre supposed to do this but I adjusted it by changing the droop.
You are not supposed to use droop to adjust ride height. when i had my t1 (original t1) i had no issues with ride height. Make sure the shocks are built properly and there are not problems elsewhere.
JusBox is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2004, 01:30 PM
  #6790  
Tech Regular
 
RCchica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: PA
Posts: 418
Default

I re built the shocks 3 times thinking it was them but they are built right. I cant find anything wrong with my car at all....
RCchica is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2004, 01:45 PM
  #6791  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
RandyB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Columbus OH.
Posts: 1,171
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I think we would have to see it to make any further suggestions can you take a pic of the front of the car without bumber and one of the shock??

that might help

RandyB
RandyB is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2004, 01:56 PM
  #6792  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
John Fontaine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SouthEast PA
Posts: 2,699
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Trinity - If you are coming to HT WC this saturday I'll help you out with the shocks. Here's a good article to follow to build these shocks.

http://www.ashfordhobby.com/tech02.htm

Neil - Here's a pic of the bottom of the BMI chassis. The battery slots are a little tight, so using tape might be a problem. Ask Jason if he can mill a little spot to use strapping tape, or you can file it yourself.

HTHs

John
Attached Thumbnails Xray T1-jfbmixray3.jpg  
John Fontaine is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2004, 05:37 PM
  #6793  
Tech Regular
 
RCchica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: PA
Posts: 418
Default

John- Ill be at HT WC this weekend
RCchica is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2004, 06:24 PM
  #6794  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (10)
 
Brian McGreevy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Illinois
Posts: 4,081
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Trinity, try lowering the arm mount roll centers. Also smaller tires might help, I've seen how big you run those things.

BTW, always set ride height, then set droop. If you need to, loosen up the droop screws a good amount, then set ride height, then screw them back in till you get the droop you want (uptravel).
Brian McGreevy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2004, 06:27 PM
  #6795  
Tech Elite
 
AMGRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 3,939
Default

I have the T1 (original) car and I have attached the Alloy C hub conversion to the car following all the instructions. However Now I am left with extreme toe in on the front wheels. I assume I need to adjust the length of the toe links, but there does not appear to be enough thread left. The instructions do not mention this.
AMGRacer is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service