Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
LOSI XXX-S, Tips and Tricks, Open Mod, etc >

LOSI XXX-S, Tips and Tricks, Open Mod, etc

Like Tree2Likes

LOSI XXX-S, Tips and Tricks, Open Mod, etc

Old 06-14-2015, 07:57 PM
  #931  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Roanoke,Virgina
Posts: 105
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

how do you mod the motor plate
quickta is offline  
Old 06-15-2015, 10:22 AM
  #932  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 107
Default

Originally Posted by quickta View Post
how do you mod the motor plate
Instead of using screw holes in the motor that are directly opposite of each other as is the norm, you can take one screw out of the motor and move the motor further out and away from the spur gear and then drill another hole to utilize another screw hole in the motor that is not opposite, but actually closer together. I hope this makes sense. I am not the best at explaining things and I don't have a photo of it.

I made a crude image to explain it. The approximate area the new hole would be made is shown in red. I hope this helps.


Last edited by microed; 06-15-2015 at 11:11 AM. Reason: added image
microed is offline  
Old 06-19-2015, 10:54 AM
  #933  
Tech Adept
 
loosewheel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 209
Default

Doesn't appear all motors have an extra hole in that location? I'm a bit confused?
loosewheel is offline  
Old 06-22-2015, 07:48 PM
  #934  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 107
Default

Originally Posted by loosewheel View Post
Doesn't appear all motors have an extra hole in that location? I'm a bit confused?
Most brushed motors don't, but most brushless motors have the extra holes.
microed is offline  
Old 06-22-2015, 08:32 PM
  #935  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Roanoke,Virgina
Posts: 105
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

got a new belt from jhwnissan, and the belt looks good, but having trouble mounting it, has any one run into this before, got an original belt tension off of eBay and original pulley, but still not even close to getting it mounted, picture shows full tension on the belt
Attached Thumbnails LOSI XXX-S, Tips and Tricks, Open Mod, etc-xxx-s-belt.jpg   LOSI XXX-S, Tips and Tricks, Open Mod, etc-xxx-s-belt-2-.jpg  
quickta is offline  
Old 06-23-2015, 10:24 PM
  #936  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Roanoke,Virgina
Posts: 105
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Anyone have any ideas, do i need a longer belt
quickta is offline  
Old 06-24-2015, 08:23 AM
  #937  
Tech Adept
 
loosewheel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 209
Default

It should have come with instructions on modifying the tensioner slot. They are a tight fit, but they do stretch after a little running.
loosewheel is offline  
Old 06-24-2015, 10:19 AM
  #938  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Roanoke,Virgina
Posts: 105
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

There is no more stretch to the belt, that's as far as it will go down , motifing the tension slot will not help if it want go down to it
quickta is offline  
Old 06-24-2015, 01:37 PM
  #939  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 39
Default

Originally Posted by jhwnissan View Post
Got it. Ships today.


I feel a little renewed vigor seeing people still racing. Maybe I won't quit but just adjust my belt selling to seasonally. When do most of you race? Here in Michigan, it was always fall through winter because of the weather. When do you most think about buying for your race seasons?
Sent you an email for belts. Spur adapter would be nice for me also. Where are you guys getting overdrive pulleys. Parts on eBay seem limited
gordonmoney is offline  
Old 06-24-2015, 02:35 PM
  #940  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Roanoke,Virgina
Posts: 105
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by jhwnissan View Post
Got it. Ships today.


I feel a little renewed vigor seeing people still racing. Maybe I won't quit but just adjust my belt selling to seasonally. When do most of you race? Here in Michigan, it was always fall through winter because of the weather. When do you most think about buying for your race seasons?
sent a pm to you
quickta is offline  
Old 06-24-2015, 08:00 PM
  #941  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 107
Default

Originally Posted by quickta View Post
Anyone have any ideas, do i need a longer belt
Okay, I'll take a stab at it. Could be several reasons. If you have the over sized diff pulleys and run the spur gear that has the larger belt pulley on it, well that could be a possible cause. Something in your drive train is out of the ordinary as in maybe not stock, but an option part.
microed is offline  
Old 06-24-2015, 10:10 PM
  #942  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Roanoke,Virgina
Posts: 105
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

has the original white pulleys and the red 86 losi spur gear, every thing is stock
quickta is offline  
Old 06-24-2015, 10:56 PM
  #943  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Southern - USA
Posts: 9
Default

QuickTA

I ran into the same problem. Could not get it to fit either with stock spur gear or spur gear adapter. No room to modify the slot for the screw. As you probably noticed. The fix is to modify the tension arm extending the part the screw fits.

Or buy another belt (I did) from a guy in New York it just fits w/o modfication

Anyone interested in a Losi XXX-S G+? mine is available lotta spares
Watchman is offline  
Old 06-25-2015, 05:28 AM
  #944  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Roanoke,Virgina
Posts: 105
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Watchman View Post
QuickTA

I ran into the same problem. Could not get it to fit either with stock spur gear or spur gear adapter. No room to modify the slot for the screw. As you probably noticed. The fix is to modify the tension arm extending the part the screw fits.

Or buy another belt (I did) from a guy in New York it just fits w/o modfication

Anyone interested in a Losi XXX-S G+? mine is available lotta spares
do you have a picture of the modified tension arm that you did
quickta is offline  
Old 06-25-2015, 06:07 AM
  #945  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Southern - USA
Posts: 9
Default

Quickta...

Wish I did, but I took the easy way out! Main reason is that I did not have a piece of aluminum big enough or thin enough to cut one out. Need to extend the arm where the 2 factory screw holes are to make it longer and add hole for new screw.

May 8, I got a belt from Scott Jaster ([email protected]) cost 23.49. Do not know if he has anymore.
Watchman is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.