Paradox Pro

Old 02-19-2004, 07:26 PM
  #1  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (7)
 
tandman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: airdrie
Posts: 3,029
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Post Paradox Pro

Hi, I was just wondering if anyone had any tips for tuning the Paradox pro stock motor in a TC3 running on a carpet track with a 75' straight and a fairly tight back section of track. I am running on foams and have come a long way with my car setup.
Thanks
tandman is offline  
Old 02-19-2004, 07:43 PM
  #2  
Tech Elite
 
fatdoggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: MD USA
Posts: 3,642
Default

Do everything the website below says to do and you'll have a solid motor. I'd say run 767's, rebuild (cutt comm) after each race day(6-8 runs) and replace the brushes or re-serrate them if their ok. If your a hard core racer you may want to cutt and replace the brushes after less runs, but for the average racer it isn't cost effective.

http://www.motortuningsecrets.com/tunestockmotor.html
fatdoggy is offline  
Old 02-20-2004, 05:53 AM
  #3  
Tech Master
iTrader: (21)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: upstate New York
Posts: 1,364
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default paradox

Do as the website says and....Use a Putnam green +,Reedy 767-,with a red-red or red+,green- springs.Put a small hole in the center of each brush and hold on.BTW,the brush hood alignment is the most critical part.Get em straight.
lotus1 is offline  
Old 02-20-2004, 01:22 PM
  #4  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (7)
 
tandman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: airdrie
Posts: 3,029
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default Paradox

Hey thanks, I knew someone would help me out!
tandman is offline  
Old 02-20-2004, 01:24 PM
  #5  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (70)
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Dallas,Tx
Posts: 3,671
Trader Rating: 70 (100%+)
Default

If anyone needs 767's I have them for $1.80 a pair.
Email me
TexRacer is offline  
Old 02-20-2004, 03:26 PM
  #6  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,154
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Also if its not against the rules at your specific track,try a monster arm in the paradox can (geared the same way as a monster) 25 or 26 pinnion for your TC-3 ......myself as well as some of the top A main drivers in our last state race found this combo to work well.. It gives very similar performance to a monster but will not fade twords the end of the race......
Joe B is offline  
Old 02-27-2004, 01:29 PM
  #7  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Norman AR.
Posts: 1,954
Default

Originally posted by fatdoggy
Do everything the website below says to do and you'll have a solid motor. I'd say run 767's, rebuild (cutt comm) after each race day(6-8 runs) and replace the brushes or re-serrate them if their ok. If your a hard core racer you may want to cutt and replace the brushes after less runs, but for the average racer it isn't cost effective.

http://www.motortuningsecrets.com/tunestockmotor.html
Wow, I really like that brush hood aligning method used there fatdoggy, is that your personal website?
ZER01 is offline  
Old 02-27-2004, 02:07 PM
  #8  
Tech Elite
 
fatdoggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: MD USA
Posts: 3,642
Default

I wish. Once your hoods are aligned as per the website, your motor WILL be alot more efficient. With trinity motors it usually requires enlarging the holes on both the hood plate and the plate below it(don't loose the cap and spring though). It's worth the time to make sure it's perfect.
fatdoggy is offline  
Old 02-27-2004, 02:16 PM
  #9  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Norman AR.
Posts: 1,954
Default

I'd like to add to that article, the finer the line to more accurate the hood alingment so I would run the motor at .5V to 1V for a couple seconds then take a reading. Thanks for the tip on the holes.
ZER01 is offline  
Old 02-27-2004, 02:27 PM
  #10  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (26)
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,921
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by fatdoggy
I wish. Once your hoods are aligned as per the website, your motor WILL be alot more efficient. With trinity motors it usually requires enlarging the holes on both the hood plate and the plate below it(don't loose the cap and spring though). It's worth the time to make sure it's perfect.
what exactly or where exactly is the hood plate and the plate below that you mention?

fatdoggy, maybe u can take a picture of a motor taken apart and label the parts? if you dont mind please? this is very helpful for people who want to learn more about motor tuning.

thanks!
Hebiki is offline  
Old 02-27-2004, 03:14 PM
  #11  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Norman AR.
Posts: 1,954
Default

Hebiki, here's pics. The motor's endbell is composed of hoodplates to hold the brushes and springs. What he means by enlarging the holes in the plates is so that you have room to adjust the plates when using this method to align your brushes. If you can take apart one.
Attached Thumbnails Paradox Pro-p2k1.jpg  
ZER01 is offline  
Old 02-27-2004, 03:15 PM
  #12  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Norman AR.
Posts: 1,954
Default

Pic2
Attached Thumbnails Paradox Pro-p2k2.jpg  
ZER01 is offline  
Old 02-27-2004, 03:16 PM
  #13  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Norman AR.
Posts: 1,954
Default

Last pic. Hey P2K3, I like the sounds of that....Okay Ernie I came up with that, find something else. LOL!
Attached Thumbnails Paradox Pro-p2k3.jpg  
ZER01 is offline  
Old 02-27-2004, 06:16 PM
  #14  
Tech Elite
 
fatdoggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: MD USA
Posts: 3,642
Default

Originally posted by Hebiki
what exactly or where exactly is the hood plate and the plate below that you mention?

fatdoggy, maybe u can take a picture of a motor taken apart and label the parts? if you dont mind please? this is very helpful for people who want to learn more about motor tuning.

thanks!
Webspinner beat me to it. In the last pic you may have to enlarge the small holes as well as the larger ones(not too much though). The small holes line up with indents punched into the hood plate.

Hood plate - Pic 1 and 2.
Base plate - Pic three.
fatdoggy is offline  
Old 02-27-2004, 06:30 PM
  #15  
Tech Elite
 
popsracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: "Hot, Sunny Southern California"
Posts: 3,120
Default Aligning Brush Hoods

Guys;

I have NEVER had to enlarge the mounting screw holes in an EPIC stock motor before to get the brushes aligned.

Had some that were slightly bent (shipping damage?) and had one set that was very sloppy (bought new ones), but in every case they have aligned perfectly without any modifications.

I recommend inspecting the Brushes for alignment with some kind of magnifier after break-in. It is easy to miss a slight misalignment with the naked eye sometimes.
popsracer is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.