R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-07-2011, 06:48 PM   #1291
Tech Initiate
 
JBM Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 49
Default

Arrrrrrr!!!!!
JBM Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2011, 06:50 PM   #1292
Tech Initiate
 
JBM Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 49
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rocketron View Post
I just downloaded 1.4 in the last half hour without issue. All the pieces too
Where did you find the V1.4 firmware?
JBM Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2011, 06:54 PM   #1293
Tech Elite
 
rocketron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: palm desert
Posts: 2,266
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JBM Racing View Post
Where did you find the V1.4 firmware?
Just followed the link
rocketron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2011, 06:56 PM   #1294
Tech Initiate
 
JBM Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 49
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rocketron View Post
Just followed the link
Cannot see the V1.4 Firmware on the Novak Website, can you email it to me?

Should be a small file.
C:\Program Files\Novak Electronics\NovaLink2. The name of the file 'outload' + <version letter> + <2 digit version number> +.rdd

[email protected]

Last edited by JBM Racing; 01-07-2011 at 07:09 PM.
JBM Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2011, 07:08 PM   #1295
Tech Fanatic
 
macdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 925
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rocketron View Post
Just followed the link
There is no firmware, unless you downloaded the 1s 1.4 beta. I have looked and its not at the link.
__________________
---------------
KO Eurus / Orca / MMP / XB2 / 22-4 /
macdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2011, 07:10 PM   #1296
Tech Fanatic
 
macdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 925
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by macdude View Post
There is no firmware, unless you downloaded the 1s 1.4 beta. I have looked and its not at the link.
Also noted that it appears the 1.4beta firmware does not work either. It will upload to the controller, but it will not connect in the software.
__________________
---------------
KO Eurus / Orca / MMP / XB2 / 22-4 /
macdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2011, 07:18 PM   #1297
Tech Initiate
 
JBM Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 49
Default

Ok, I have downloaded both the following files:
NovaLink_Full_1.4.zip
NovaLink_Software_1.4.zip
Neither installation package has the Firmware file inside.

Great release Novak!!! try again.
JBM Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2011, 07:33 PM   #1298
Tech Fanatic
 
macdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 925
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Not to complain too much but when will the software be a smooth process. I mean I just had to update my castle software. Exactly 3 steps. Download, Install, Plug in. Offers to update your firmware or not either way the software still works with the current version of the firmware. Please copy, clone, or whatever you need to do to make your software that easy.

On a side note the interface is ..... well you are going the route of Tekin over the top. Please tone it down. Or make it copy the system look and feel. candy buttons on windows just look cheesy. I use a mac all day at work and if you where making a program for mac or windows it does no good to have weird multi colored buttons. Some blue, some yellow, some are still the system grey color. And at the end of the day no one cares how it looks. Functional is what is needed. To be honest the way it looked before was better.
__________________
---------------
KO Eurus / Orca / MMP / XB2 / 22-4 /
macdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2011, 12:11 AM   #1299
Tech Adept
 
ed517's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 151
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JBM Racing View Post
Cannot see the V1.4 Firmware on the Novak Website, can you email it to me?

Should be a small file.
C:\Program Files\Novak Electronics\NovaLink2. The name of the file 'outload' + <version letter> + <2 digit version number> +.rdd

[email protected]
firmware is included in the 1.4 full zip file
ed517 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2011, 12:29 AM   #1300
Tech Adept
 
WilzFoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Aspen, CO
Posts: 145
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via Skype™ to WilzFoto
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GLOWHEAD View Post
The parameters indicated in the error message, Start RPM, End RPM, Boost Rate, Applied Timing and Turbo Mode are not listed as any of the parameters that I can see in the software. Where are they? Or are they the parameters listed on the advanced tab under different names? If they were out of range, I don't know where to alter the values. I'm not having that error message anymore, but it still begs the question, where are they?

How long does it take to update the settings? The blue circle just keeps going round and round. 15 min or so at this point. It never finishes updating.

I've got a 64bit Vista laptop that won't run the software, and an XP workstation that will update the firmware but doesn't seem to want to update the settings. I guess I'm screwed on both machines. 32bit app's are supposed to run on 64bit Vista, says MS, but Novaks site says 32bit only. I get Unhandled Exception errors when I try and do anything in the software. The program will open, I just can't do anything with it.
Funny... i'm in the same boat. Tried speaking with TekSupport and they keep telling me to reboot, turn off anti-virus etc, but nothing works. Kind of a pain to get the K2s dialed-in w/o the computer?
__________________
Roaring Fork Valley R/C
_______________________________________________________________________________
B4 FT, Kinetic 2s, Hacker 10.5, full Velvet
B44 FT, Mamba Max Pro, SpeedPassion 6.5T
WilzFoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2011, 07:14 AM   #1301
Tech Rookie
 
Leithal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: VIC, Australia
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ed517 View Post
firmware is included in the 1.4 full zip file
I have also downloaded the full zip and there is no firmware that I can find, either in the zip file itself or in the files extracted once installed, so I'm now also in the same boat as JBM i.e. I now cannot access my ESC.

Please post firmware to the firmware page...
Leithal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2011, 07:32 AM   #1302
Tech Fanatic
 
macdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 925
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ed517 View Post
firmware is included in the 1.4 full zip file
It's not. I have uninstalled everything a couple of times and the outload1.4 file is not there. If it was included in the package installer, then something else is happening.
__________________
---------------
KO Eurus / Orca / MMP / XB2 / 22-4 /
macdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2011, 07:39 AM   #1303
Tech Fanatic
 
macdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 925
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

How about you just post a link to the firmware.
__________________
---------------
KO Eurus / Orca / MMP / XB2 / 22-4 /
macdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2011, 09:41 AM   #1304
Tech Fanatic
 
macdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 925
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Seriously, if you have the correct firmware in your novalink folder after installing the 1.4 software please post it on here or send it to me and I will post it. I am not mad as I don't have the controller in anything right now. But it is a little frustrating that the package installer did not include it.

On a side note if you happen to have an older version of the firmware before you install then that will still install via the firmware updater in 1.4. So the software does not check to see even if you have the correct version of the firmware before offering to update it.
__________________
---------------
KO Eurus / Orca / MMP / XB2 / 22-4 /
macdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2011, 12:20 PM   #1305
Tech Addict
 
pmes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Bismarck, ND
Posts: 515
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

This sucks:

"Could not find any recognizable digits."
"Input string was not in a correct format."
"Error reading speed controller information. Please press the connect button to re-connect."

Where's the 1.4 firmware?
pmes is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dyno, Homemade, Using a Novak Sentry Data Logger, Continued, The Experimental Thread. John Stranahan Electric On-Road 344 12-30-2016 05:22 PM
Novak Kinetic racer1812 Radio and Electronics 254 02-04-2013 08:52 PM
Novak Sentry as Brushless Dyno mattnin Electric On-Road 132 01-29-2010 05:53 PM
2009 i-hobby show b-man777 Electric On-Road 7 10-22-2009 09:35 AM
Spintec Battery Manager Erik Jonk Electric On-Road 999 03-26-2009 03:07 AM


Tags
brushless, gtb, novak kinetic, onroad, rc cars


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:30 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net