R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-31-2010, 11:54 AM   #1261
Tech Adept
 
sidewaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 131
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default smart boost on 2s

If I use a 2s with a smart boost for 1s racing in my 1/12, does the smart boost need to be removed when using 2s? The reason I asked as I will be using this as backup for my TC and want to know if it has to be removed when using 2s.
Thanks,
Sidewaze

Oh and Happy New Year to all!!
__________________
Team Novak [email protected] | Pinnacle Freight Specialists www.pinnaclefreight.ca
Trick Parts Trick-Parts.com Stainless Steel screw kits lifetime warranty
Xray T3'11 Havoc Pro SC/17.5 Ballistic| Xray T2'008 Havoc Pro SC/21.5 Balistic CVTA
WGT CRC Gen-X 10LE Havoc Pro SC/17.5 Ballistic| CRC GenX Havoc Pro SC/17.5 Ballistic
Action Hobbies Kingsville | Lou's Speedway Dorchester www.lousspeedway.com
sidewaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2010, 02:44 PM   #1262
Tech Initiate
 
Mowell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 22
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Yeah I understand. I'm just sad to be down so long. My esc will be shipped off monday.

Quote:
Originally Posted by NovakTwo View Post
Without knowing all of the details, perhaps replacing the BB will not solve your particular problem. Whenever the issue can be taken care of by replacing BBs, we send one out with a postage paid return envelope.
__________________
TC6, Ten SCTE, Novak, Fantom, Savox, Spektrum
Mowell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2010, 05:29 PM   #1263
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Seymour In.
Posts: 3
Default Kinetic help

Just got a new kinetic running 10.5 L/M. It will only run for about 1 minute then it shuts down to an idle. Power off and back on it will run ok for another 30 to 40 sec. and shut down to idle again.( No heat anywhere.) Please help.
Tom
Tom Collins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2010, 05:57 PM   #1264
Tech Adept
 
ed517's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 151
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Collins View Post
Just got a new kinetic running 10.5 L/M. It will only run for about 1 minute then it shuts down to an idle. Power off and back on it will run ok for another 30 to 40 sec. and shut down to idle again.( No heat anywhere.) Please help.
Tom
possible sensor/sensor wire issue. start with these items first. then try to recalibrate your radio making sure epa is 100% forward and brake. let us know
ed517 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2010, 09:05 PM   #1265
Tech Regular
 
ThrottleKing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 452
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ed517 View Post
possible sensor/sensor wire issue. start with these items first. then try to recalibrate your radio making sure epa is 100% forward and brake. let us know
I agree
Even if you your radio adjusts all the way to 150 stop at 100.
Not sure if the Novaks have trouble over 100 but I have seen some escs that do.
__________________
Acts 2:21- And it shall come to pass, that whosoever shall call on the name of the Lord shall be saved.
ThrottleKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2011, 09:03 AM   #1266
Company Representative
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,891
Default

One problem we are seeing is timing assemblies damaged from over-aggressive screw tightening. Apparently, some users adjust the motor timing often, and when re-tightening the screws, tighten them so much that it deforms the boards. This may lead to either breaking a component on the sensor board, or shorting the assembly to another part of the case.

This is why we always suggest contacting tech support before sending motors (and Kinetics, Havoc Pro SCs) in for service; if it is the motor timing assembly, most racers can replace it without returning the motor to us. With our newer escs, we can send a new BB, if we diagnose that as the problem.
NovakTwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2011, 09:10 PM   #1267
Tech Adept
 
ed517's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 151
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThrottleKing View Post
I agree
Even if you your radio adjusts all the way to 150 stop at 100.
Not sure if the Novaks have trouble over 100 but I have seen some escs that do.
we went throught this at the onroad nats. moving the epa around throws off the esc. i will only go as far as 110 after set up. if you want that "punchy" feel use the esc throttle profile option on the novalink or the expo setting on your radio.
also want to share some carpet tc 17.5 settings with those running the Ballistic motors and the Kinetic. really happy with this set up. track is 70x30ish. lap times are mid 9's

mtr timing 15
timing 50
start 5200
end 16000
boost on at 150
fdr 6.2
throttle expo +25% on m11
please post if you tryed this set up and let me know your thoughts.....
ed517 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2011, 09:31 PM   #1268
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,999
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ed517 View Post
we went throught this at the onroad nats. moving the epa around throws off the esc. i will only go as far as 110 after set up. if you want that "punchy" feel use the esc throttle profile option on the novalink or the expo setting on your radio.
also want to share some carpet tc 17.5 settings with those running the Ballistic motors and the Kinetic. really happy with this set up. track is 70x30ish. lap times are mid 9's

mtr timing 15
timing 50
start 5200
end 16000
boost on at 150
fdr 6.2
throttle expo +25% on m11
please post if you tryed this set up and let me know your thoughts.....
Get that thing up to speed cause after all the trash talking we have done about the TC6 everyone will be gunning for us this asphalt season See ya on the track bro.
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2011, 09:35 PM   #1269
Tech Adept
 
ed517's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 151
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by STLNLST View Post
Get that thing up to speed cause after all the trash talking we have done about the TC6 everyone will be gunning for us this asphalt season See ya on the track bro.
OOOOOOH believe me Clint she's on Pace for sure!! call me i will fill you in on the race today
ed517 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 09:24 AM   #1270
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Seymour In.
Posts: 3
Default Kinetic help

Quote:
Originally Posted by ed517 View Post
possible sensor/sensor wire issue. start with these items first. then try to recalibrate your radio making sure epa is 100% forward and brake. let us know
Thanks to all of you that have tried to help, but I have tried different motors, different batteries, and end point settings, but I still have the same problem. Thanks, Tom
Tom Collins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2011, 09:34 AM   #1271
Tech Elite
 
Johnny Wishbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,419
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ed517 View Post
we went throught this at the onroad nats. moving the epa around throws off the esc. i will only go as far as 110 after set up. if you want that "punchy" feel use the esc throttle profile option on the novalink or the expo setting on your radio.
also want to share some carpet tc 17.5 settings with those running the Ballistic motors and the Kinetic. really happy with this set up. track is 70x30ish. lap times are mid 9's

mtr timing 15
timing 50
start 5200
end 16000
boost on at 150
fdr 6.2
throttle expo +25% on m11
please post if you tryed this set up and let me know your thoughts.....
Is that with the +1300 rotor or the stock one?
__________________
Gary Lanzer
Johnny Wishbone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2011, 04:28 PM   #1272
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 72
Default First Timer

I'm a veteran nitro guy with my first venture into anything electric. This is all Greek to me. Had my share of the initial problems most of you have had, plus a few nobody is talking about. I seem to have sorted things out, and the system is stable at this point.

My first quandry is relative to one of the errors I encountered. At one point after updating to 1.3, I would connect to Novalink and get an error stating that Start RPM, End RPM, Boost Rate, Applied Timing and Turbo Mode were out of range. I resolved that finally by saving the settings. I guess after an update, you loose settings.

The real question for me is relative to the nomenclature. Am I just dense, and the Start RPM listed in the error message is actually the Timing Set Point along with the rest of the settings on the advanced tab? Seems strange that the software would call certain parameters by two different names. Really put me off track for a while.

I'm heading out tomorrow for my first 1/12th run, and was hoping to get a starting setup. 17.5 Ballistic, Kinetic 1S in a Gen XL. I see ed517's setup but I believe it was for a TC. Is that still a good start for 1/12th? It would be nice to go out the first time and have a half descent day! I'm not looking for your bling setup, I just don't want to be way off.
GLOWHEAD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2011, 06:29 PM   #1273
Tech Elite
 
Johnny Wishbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,419
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GLOWHEAD View Post
I'm a veteran nitro guy with my first venture into anything electric. This is all Greek to me. Had my share of the initial problems most of you have had, plus a few nobody is talking about. I seem to have sorted things out, and the system is stable at this point.

My first quandry is relative to one of the errors I encountered. At one point after updating to 1.3, I would connect to Novalink and get an error stating that Start RPM, End RPM, Boost Rate, Applied Timing and Turbo Mode were out of range. I resolved that finally by saving the settings. I guess after an update, you loose settings.

The real question for me is relative to the nomenclature. Am I just dense, and the Start RPM listed in the error message is actually the Timing Set Point along with the rest of the settings on the advanced tab? Seems strange that the software would call certain parameters by two different names. Really put me off track for a while.

I'm heading out tomorrow for my first 1/12th run, and was hoping to get a starting setup. 17.5 Ballistic, Kinetic 1S in a Gen XL. I see ed517's setup but I believe it was for a TC. Is that still a good start for 1/12th? It would be nice to go out the first time and have a half descent day! I'm not looking for your bling setup, I just don't want to be way off.
24
24
4
4
custom F2
linear
Rest are defaults on page1
1600
3800
30*
boost off (to start)
delay 225 (when boost on)

Sorry not sure about fdr I'm running 13.5 with a real small tire 46/74. (I think, not around my car right now)

I don't understand your other start rpm question/statement, please explain more.
__________________
Gary Lanzer
Johnny Wishbone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2011, 06:43 PM   #1274
Tech Adept
 
ed517's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 151
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Wishbone View Post
Is that with the +1300 rotor or the stock one?
lol. not sure i just have Charlie check my rotors for me and run the ones he says are good. im sure they are +1300 or better. and yes all my setting are fot TC. this is my main focus right now. Also forgot to mention min drive set at 10 with posted settings
ed517 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2011, 06:55 PM   #1275
Tech Elite
 
Johnny Wishbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,419
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ed517 View Post
lol. not sure i just have Charlie check my rotors for me and run the ones he says are good. im sure they are +1300 or better. and yes all my setting are fot TC. this is my main focus right now. Also forgot to mention min drive set at 10 with posted settings
I'll give the setup a try then with what I have.
__________________
Gary Lanzer
Johnny Wishbone is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dyno, Homemade, Using a Novak Sentry Data Logger, Continued, The Experimental Thread. John Stranahan Electric On-Road 344 12-30-2016 05:22 PM
Novak Kinetic racer1812 Radio and Electronics 254 02-04-2013 08:52 PM
Novak Sentry as Brushless Dyno mattnin Electric On-Road 132 01-29-2010 05:53 PM
2009 i-hobby show b-man777 Electric On-Road 7 10-22-2009 09:35 AM
Spintec Battery Manager Erik Jonk Electric On-Road 999 03-26-2009 03:07 AM


Tags
brushless, gtb, novak kinetic, onroad, rc cars


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:30 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net