R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-03-2010, 05:43 PM   #1186
Tech Champion
 
skypilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9,524
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

I got lost somewhere... the new 1.4 update,,,,,, I think the one posted is for the 1s but there is one being tested for the 2s correct..... well send it my way. I think you guys already have my email.
__________________
semi retired..
skypilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 11:33 AM   #1187
Company Representative
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,891
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skypilot View Post
I got lost somewhere... the new 1.4 update,,,,,, I think the one posted is for the 1s but there is one being tested for the 2s correct..... well send it my way. I think you guys already have my email.
You can contact [email protected] for the 1.4 Kinetic 2S Beta update.
NovakTwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 10:26 PM   #1188
Tech Champion
 
skypilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9,524
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

thanks
__________________
semi retired..
skypilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 02:34 AM   #1189
Tech Elite
 
nerdling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Canberra
Posts: 2,849
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Hi Guys,

got a new question for everyone....

I'm running a Kinetic (2S) with a Balistic 4.5.

At low revs the motor seems to make a kind of popping noise. Revs do't vary and on track seems fine.

thoughts?

Oh yeah I've replaced the sensor harnes...
__________________
--XRAY--NOSRAM--PROTOFORM--MUCHMORE--
www.teamxray.com -- www.hudy.net -- www.hobbyexpress.com.au
nerdling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 08:57 AM   #1190
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 649
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nerdling View Post
Hi Guys,

got a new question for everyone....

I'm running a Kinetic (2S) with a Balistic 4.5.

At low revs the motor seems to make a kind of popping noise. Revs do't vary and on track seems fine.

thoughts?

Oh yeah I've replaced the sensor harnes...
I'm assuming that the motors cogging off the bottom. You already changed out the sensor wire so I would try doing the sensor test to ceck the sensor board. Then try a little less timing on the motor (keep track of where you started just in case that's not the problem)
Fred_B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 11:20 AM   #1191
Tech Elite
 
Turbonium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 2,302
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Turbonium
Default

im having a connectivity issue today. when i tried connecting the speedo, it told me the firmware was out of date, so i have spent this morning trying to get all of that updated. but now, when i connect the link to the speedo, i get nothing- no lights, nada. only thing i get is the green led on the novalink adapter.

earlier i was getting the standard flash, then settling on the two that remained lit, but still didnt connect. according to the software. but now, nothing.

its the same thing on both my speedos, i have a Kinetic 1s and 2s.
any ideas?
__________________
Wes

Team Novak
Turbonium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 12:23 PM   #1192
Tech Elite
 
Turbonium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 2,302
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Turbonium
Default

i just tried the "Connection Test", and got through the "test usb" portion passing, but no connection to the esc. i might have a bad link, i suppose.
__________________
Wes

Team Novak
Turbonium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 02:33 PM   #1193
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 117
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nerdling View Post
Hi Guys,

got a new question for everyone....

I'm running a Kinetic (2S) with a Balistic 4.5.

At low revs the motor seems to make a kind of popping noise. Revs do't vary and on track seems fine.

thoughts?

Oh yeah I've replaced the sensor harnes...
We have a fix coming for this popping noise, it has nothing to do with timing.
This fix will be included in the Rev 1.4
Adnan Khan
__________________
Novak Engineering Dept
escman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 04:41 PM   #1194
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Orlando FL
Posts: 989
Trader Rating: 13 (93%+)
Default

I have a question. I'm trying to update my Kinetic using the NovaLink, and it keeps giving me drag brake. I have ind. drag brakes activated, but it still keeps the min. brake and drag brake together. If I set the min. brake to 0, the drag brake still stays. I have the 1.3v software, any idea why this is happening?
__________________
Chad "The Chad" Cason
Novak Electronics / Airtronics / Pro-Line / Black Label Vinyl / Kustom R/C Graphics
**BLACK LABEL VINYL** -Custom Sponsor Shirts / Custom Paint Masks / Multi-Layer Vinyl Stickers
The Chad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 06:56 PM   #1195
Tech Elite
 
Johnny Wishbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,419
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Turbonium View Post
i just tried the "Connection Test", and got through the "test usb" portion passing, but no connection to the esc. i might have a bad link, i suppose.
What version of software did you end up with? Can you try rolling back to the previous version? I seemed to get that same message all the time but I knew that 1.3 was the only thing out there so I just ignored the message and went about programming. Not much help, but I'd be running 1.3 firmware with 1.3 Novalink right now, until all the bugs are worked out of 1.4.
__________________
Gary Lanzer
Johnny Wishbone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 07:03 PM   #1196
Tech Elite
 
Johnny Wishbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,419
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Chad View Post
I have a question. I'm trying to update my Kinetic using the NovaLink, and it keeps giving me drag brake. I have ind. drag brakes activated, but it still keeps the min. brake and drag brake together. If I set the min. brake to 0, the drag brake still stays. I have the 1.3v software, any idea why this is happening?
If I understand you right, the two settings are dependant of each other, in that I mean you can't have less minmum brake than what your drag brake is set up. What happens if it was independant is that you could have drag brake set and when you let off the throttle it would work normal, but if you started to apply brake from neutral with a lower setting than your drag brake setting, the car would actually speed up, even though your pushing the trigger ahead, something you really don't want.

Hope thats what your asking.
__________________
Gary Lanzer
Johnny Wishbone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 11:12 PM   #1197
Tech Elite
 
nerdling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Canberra
Posts: 2,849
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by escman View Post
We have a fix coming for this popping noise, it has nothing to do with timing.
This fix will be included in the Rev 1.4
Adnan Khan
Thanks for the responce guys. I'm not running any timing on the ESC and the motor is set to its 0 point.
__________________
--XRAY--NOSRAM--PROTOFORM--MUCHMORE--
www.teamxray.com -- www.hudy.net -- www.hobbyexpress.com.au
nerdling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2010, 07:37 AM   #1198
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Orlando FL
Posts: 989
Trader Rating: 13 (93%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Wishbone View Post
If I understand you right, the two settings are dependant of each other, in that I mean you can't have less minmum brake than what your drag brake is set up. What happens if it was independant is that you could have drag brake set and when you let off the throttle it would work normal, but if you started to apply brake from neutral with a lower setting than your drag brake setting, the car would actually speed up, even though your pushing the trigger ahead, something you really don't want.

Hope thats what your asking.
Perfect. Make sense to me now. Thanks a lot!
__________________
Chad "The Chad" Cason
Novak Electronics / Airtronics / Pro-Line / Black Label Vinyl / Kustom R/C Graphics
**BLACK LABEL VINYL** -Custom Sponsor Shirts / Custom Paint Masks / Multi-Layer Vinyl Stickers
The Chad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2010, 10:39 PM   #1199
Tech Elite
 
Turbonium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 2,302
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Turbonium
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Wishbone View Post
What version of software did you end up with? Can you try rolling back to the previous version? I seemed to get that same message all the time but I knew that 1.3 was the only thing out there so I just ignored the message and went about programming. Not much help, but I'd be running 1.3 firmware with 1.3 Novalink right now, until all the bugs are worked out of 1.4.

working with my netbook, i uninstalled the 1.3 i was using, and tried a new download off the site. when that didnt work, i went back to the desktop and tried the 1.1 disc i have. nothing will light the lights on the speedo, tho.

i think i have a buddy local with a link, ill see if i can borrow his to tell if its a hardware or software issue. thanks for the ideas, tho.
__________________
Wes

Team Novak
Turbonium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 07:37 AM   #1200
Tech Addict
 
pmes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Bismarck, ND
Posts: 515
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I've become the NovaLink guy at my local track, one guy's ESC wouldn't light up and just before sealing the box to send it back to Novak I tried it three more times. On the third plugin it worked! I must have pluged/unpluged the thing at least 50 times total. Now it works every time.
pmes is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dyno, Homemade, Using a Novak Sentry Data Logger, Continued, The Experimental Thread. John Stranahan Electric On-Road 344 12-30-2016 05:22 PM
Novak Kinetic racer1812 Radio and Electronics 254 02-04-2013 08:52 PM
Novak Sentry as Brushless Dyno mattnin Electric On-Road 132 01-29-2010 05:53 PM
2009 i-hobby show b-man777 Electric On-Road 7 10-22-2009 09:35 AM
Spintec Battery Manager Erik Jonk Electric On-Road 999 03-26-2009 03:07 AM


Tags
brushless, gtb, novak kinetic, onroad, rc cars


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:40 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net