R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-04-2010, 05:38 PM   #1096
Tech Rookie
 
"MrQuiick"'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 19
Default Looking for a ESC

I was interested in getting the new Kinetic ESC since Novak is now offering it with the computer attachment as a promo in Nov, but after reading up of the system and talking with a few people it seems that there is a problem. The problem is that the system does not work with window 7 because windows 7 is a 64 bit system. can any one verify this information? has there been an update to this and its has been fixed?
__________________
Dan "MrQuiick" Dix
Xray T3-17.5 Boosted (Mazda 6), Xray T2 009-21.5 super GT (2008 MB AMG DTM C-Class)
"MrQuiick" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010, 05:41 PM   #1097
Tech Rookie
 
"MrQuiick"'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 19
Default

I was wondering if anyone as done any test of this Kenetic ESC in a real one on one type of setting against the other ESC out with the same features?
__________________
Dan "MrQuiick" Dix
Xray T3-17.5 Boosted (Mazda 6), Xray T2 009-21.5 super GT (2008 MB AMG DTM C-Class)
"MrQuiick" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010, 05:42 PM   #1098
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 117
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by "MrQuiick" View Post
I was interested in getting the new Kinetic ESC since Novak is now offering it with the computer attachment as a promo in Nov, but after reading up of the system and talking with a few people it seems that there is a problem. The problem is that the system does not work with window 7 because windows 7 is a 64 bit system. can any one verify this information? has there been an update to this and its has been fixed?
It works with 32 bit version Window 7, we are not supporting Window 64 bit yet.
Adnan
__________________
Novak Engineering Dept
escman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010, 05:43 PM   #1099
Tech Champion
 
skypilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9,524
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

just downloaded and installed V2, works perfect, thanks again.
__________________
semi retired..
skypilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010, 05:45 PM   #1100
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 117
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by macdude View Post
Is this just for the 1S version?
Yes this one is just for 1S version.
We will be coming out with version 1.4 soon, Currently its in engineering testing, I will be interested in finding some beta tester for the new software.
Adnan
__________________
Novak Engineering Dept
escman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010, 05:54 PM   #1101
Tech Apprentice
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 83
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Windows 7 comes in 32 and 64 bit versions.
JimBo1008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010, 06:00 PM   #1102
Tech Champion
 
skypilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9,524
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by "MrQuiick" View Post
I was interested in getting the new Kinetic ESC since Novak is now offering it with the computer attachment as a promo in Nov, but after reading up of the system and talking with a few people it seems that there is a problem. The problem is that the system does not work with window 7 because windows 7 is a 64 bit system. can any one verify this information? has there been an update to this and its has been fixed?
As escman stated, they are not supporting 64 bit, HOWEVER, I have it on my windows 7 64 bit home pc and it works. it took a bit of fussing about to get it to work but it does, I listed the instructions some pages back.

Quote:
Originally Posted by "MrQuiick" View Post
I was wondering if anyone as done any test of this Kenetic ESC in a real one on one type of setting against the other ESC out with the same features?
all of the boosting escs are different in how they setup, boost and adjust, so its kinda hard to do that, I have ran it against tekins and its every bit as fast now that I know how to adjust it. before novak I was running the speedpassion esc's (i've had each and every version and model) it is every bit as fast as those also. my club does not have any boosted classes so I haven't done any boosted testing with the 1s version other then at the TZGP last month and I was still figuring out what the 1s likes, (the same settings on 1s pan car were not as good as they were on a 2s sedan.) I can tell you that in no boost mode with a novak ballistic motor it is just that, ballistic.

Novak service is awesome
__________________
semi retired..
skypilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010, 06:01 PM   #1103
Tech Champion
 
skypilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9,524
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by escman View Post
Yes this one is just for 1S version.
We will be coming out with version 1.4 soon, Currently its in engineering testing, I will be interested in finding some beta tester for the new software.
Adnan
more then happy to help out, novak two has my email address
__________________
semi retired..
skypilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010, 06:09 PM   #1104
Tech Fanatic
 
macdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 925
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by escman View Post
Yes this one is just for 1S version.
We will be coming out with version 1.4 soon, Currently its in engineering testing, I will be interested in finding some beta tester for the new software.
Adnan
I am planning on running this thing at the indoor champs. What are the changes you are making. Right now with everyone wanting to run in the spec class for stock, mostly I am adjusting the drive freq and break freq.
__________________
---------------
KO Eurus / Orca / MMP / XB2 / 22-4 /
macdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010, 06:11 PM   #1105
Suspended
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,990
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by macdude View Post
I am planning on running this thing at the indoor champs. What are the changes you are making. Right now with everyone wanting to run in the spec class for stock, mostly I am adjusting the drive freq and break freq.
Did you get your brakes issue resolved?
__________________
Pimp Formally Known as OG
PFKAOG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010, 06:59 PM   #1106
Tech Champion
 
Scottrik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Billings, MT
Posts: 6,212
Trader Rating: 245 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by macdude View Post
But the upside to the dongle from Castle is that they give it to you for free with the MM pro. You have to request it via coupon in the mail, but it is essentially comes with the controller. On top of that it is only 124$.
It's AMAZING what you can sell stuff for when you're using vacuum tubes instead of transistors. Anything THAT big and clunky HAS to have tubes in it, right?
__________________
Congressmen should wear uniforms like NASCAR drivers so we can identify their corporate sponsors.

THE REVOLUTION WILL NOT BE TELEVISED -Gil Scott-Heron (1949-2011)
Scottrik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010, 07:55 PM   #1107
Tech Fanatic
 
macdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 925
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scottrik View Post
It's AMAZING what you can sell stuff for when you're using vacuum tubes instead of transistors. Anything THAT big and clunky HAS to have tubes in it, right?
LOL, yeah but size and weight wise it is actually smaller than the kinetic. I have used it in my TC for a while and it really isn't that big. Plus all its capacitors are actually inside the case. No dangling thing hanging from the side.
__________________
---------------
KO Eurus / Orca / MMP / XB2 / 22-4 /
macdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010, 10:30 PM   #1108
Tech Champion
 
skypilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9,524
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

__________________
semi retired..
skypilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2010, 12:40 AM   #1109
Tech Rookie
 
"MrQuiick"'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skypilot View Post
As escman stated, they are not supporting 64 bit, HOWEVER, I have it on my windows 7 64 bit home pc and it works. it took a bit of fussing about to get it to work but it does, I listed the instructions some pages back.



all of the boosting escs are different in how they setup, boost and adjust, so its kinda hard to do that, I have ran it against tekins and its every bit as fast now that I know how to adjust it. before novak I was running the speedpassion esc's (i've had each and every version and model) it is every bit as fast as those also. my club does not have any boosted classes so I haven't done any boosted testing with the 1s version other then at the TZGP last month and I was still figuring out what the 1s likes, (the same settings on 1s pan car were not as good as they were on a 2s sedan.) I can tell you that in no boost mode with a novak ballistic motor it is just that, ballistic.

Novak service is awesome
Thanks for your very informative response. I'm probably not going to go with the novak due to the sofeware issue. i have a very particular laptop and put a program on it that I know was not designed for it is just not a good idea based on past experiences. I wanted to go with something other than what everyone else was using i.e. "Tekin". I have a hoppywing 60A Xerun that I use in the 21.5 no timing no boost class because im not happy with the sofeware. I guess I'll have to give Tekin another look.
__________________
Dan "MrQuiick" Dix
Xray T3-17.5 Boosted (Mazda 6), Xray T2 009-21.5 super GT (2008 MB AMG DTM C-Class)
"MrQuiick" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2010, 09:53 AM   #1110
Tech Adept
 
aegiswa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Pacific NW
Posts: 140
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by "MrQuiick" View Post
Thanks for your very informative response. I'm probably not going to go with the novak due to the sofeware issue. i have a very particular laptop and put a program on it that I know was not designed for it is just not a good idea based on past experiences. I wanted to go with something other than what everyone else was using i.e. "Tekin". I have a hoppywing 60A Xerun that I use in the 21.5 no timing no boost class because im not happy with the sofeware. I guess I'll have to give Tekin another look.
I have it on 2 computers a Win7 Home Premium (Track book) and Ultimate both 64bit OS - Windows supports 32bit apps on their 64bit platforms - runs with out issue on both

The only thing you need to do is install/run as administrator if you have not disabled the Windows UAC (pain it the butt) - I love the fact they even give you a tool in the msconfig to disable it -

I would install it and buy the Kinetic and be very happy
__________________
AegisWA <><
Ofna Hyper SC10 + 2S Kinetic/Ballistic 5.5 (550)
Ofna Hyper 10TT + 2S Kinetic/Ballistic 6.5 (540)
Team Associated - FT SC10 + 2S Kinetic/Ballistic 10.5
Mugen - MBX6 + Nova - hibernating 'till things warm up and dry-out....
aegiswa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dyno, Homemade, Using a Novak Sentry Data Logger, Continued, The Experimental Thread. John Stranahan Electric On-Road 344 12-30-2016 05:22 PM
Novak Kinetic racer1812 Radio and Electronics 254 02-04-2013 08:52 PM
Novak Sentry as Brushless Dyno mattnin Electric On-Road 132 01-29-2010 05:53 PM
2009 i-hobby show b-man777 Electric On-Road 7 10-22-2009 09:35 AM
Spintec Battery Manager Erik Jonk Electric On-Road 999 03-26-2009 03:07 AM


Tags
brushless, gtb, novak kinetic, onroad, rc cars


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:31 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net