R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-02-2010, 09:51 AM   #1066
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 8
Default

Hi, i hope there is somebody who can help me on this one.

I installed a new Novak kinetic 2s in my Mi4lp together with a ballistic 13.5t motor.
I also got the novalink programming interface but for some reason i can't get things to work.
When i plug the novalink into the speedcontroller i get the following error messages:

- Start rpm out of range
- End rpm out of range
- Boost rate out of range
- Applied timing out of range
- Turbo mode out of range

If i try to update the settings of the speed controller i get the following error message:

- An error occured when converting data for transmit. Please reset values and try again. Lenght can not be less then zero.
Parameter name: Length

And after that the software seems to "hang" until i disconnect the speed controller.

It's also strange that the date and time in the novalink screen stays at 1-1-1970 0:00 UTC.

When do the novalink connection check everything appears to be oke and every test is passed.

The installed novalink software is version 1.3 and i updated the speedo to firmware version 1.3.

Any suggestions?
Magneto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2010, 03:11 PM   #1067
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 8
Default

Hi, i hope somebody can help me on this one,

I installed a new Novak kinetic 2s speed controller in my Mi4lp together with a ballistic 13.5t motor.
I also got the novalink programming interface but for some reason i can't get things to work.
When i plug the novalink into the speedcontroller i get the following error messages:

- Start rpm out of range
- End rpm out of range
- Boost rate out of range
- Applied timing out of range
- Turbo mode out of range

If i try to update the settings of speed controller i get the following error message:

- An error occured when converting data for transmit. Please reset values and try again. Lenght can not be less then zero.
Parameter name: Length

And after that the software seems to "hang" until i disconnect the novalink from the speedo.

It's also strange that the date and time in the novalink screen stays at 1-1-1970 0:00 UTC.

When i do the novalink connection check everything appears to be oke and every test is passed.

The installed novalink software is version 1.3 and i updated the speedo to firmware version 1.3.

Programming with the switch works fine.
Magneto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2010, 03:56 PM   #1068
Tech Elite
 
Johnny Wishbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,419
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Magneto View Post
Hi, i hope somebody can help me on this one,

I installed a new Novak kinetic 2s speed controller in my Mi4lp together with a ballistic 13.5t motor.
I also got the novalink programming interface but for some reason i can't get things to work.
When i plug the novalink into the speedcontroller i get the following error messages:

- Start rpm out of range
- End rpm out of range
- Boost rate out of range
- Applied timing out of range
- Turbo mode out of range

If i try to update the settings of speed controller i get the following error message:

- An error occured when converting data for transmit. Please reset values and try again. Lenght can not be less then zero.
Parameter name: Length

And after that the software seems to "hang" until i disconnect the novalink from the speedo.

It's also strange that the date and time in the novalink screen stays at 1-1-1970 0:00 UTC.

When i do the novalink connection check everything appears to be oke and every test is passed.

The installed novalink software is version 1.3 and i updated the speedo to firmware version 1.3.

Programming with the switch works fine.
Have you tried to pre-build a program and then load it to the Kinetic? All those messages are legitimate errors if your settings are out of range. OR try to hit the reset setting and re-adjust your settings from start. The only weird message I ever get refers to the Lipo selection, and thats a system fault.
Your screen date is the same as mine, another glitch in the software, but non-effecting.

Last edited by Johnny Wishbone; 11-02-2010 at 04:15 PM.
Johnny Wishbone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2010, 04:23 AM   #1069
Tech Elite
 
nerdling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Canberra
Posts: 2,849
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

got an interesting error on the weekend.

Pluged the Novalink in, got a message to update to version 1.3. I've allready done this. Is this a sign of an underlying problem?
__________________
--XRAY--NOSRAM--PROTOFORM--MUCHMORE--
www.teamxray.com -- www.hudy.net -- www.hobbyexpress.com.au
nerdling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2010, 04:49 AM   #1070
Tech Master
 
xtraman122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Central MA
Posts: 1,251
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

I get that all the time, just unplug and plug it back in. I noticed I always get that if I leave the battery plugged in while doing it.
xtraman122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2010, 05:41 AM   #1071
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 215
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xtraman122 View Post
I get that all the time, just unplug and plug it back in. I noticed I always get that if I leave the battery plugged in while doing it.
I was advised by NOVAK to never leave the main battery plugged in when using novalink as you can damage the brainboard as I did on mine. I believe the online manual has been updated to this effect.

I also get the 1.3 message from time to time. I only saw the out of range error the very first time I connected the Kinetic to the PC. Until recently when playing with the throttle curves.

Try one touch setup and connect the novalink again. This seems to sort most problems and always make sure you disconnect the main battery, it won't always kill the ESC but it can.
dvaid852456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2010, 06:02 AM   #1072
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 215
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dvaid852456 View Post
I was advised by NOVAK to never leave the main battery plugged in when using novalink as you can damage the brainboard as I did on mine. I believe the online manual has been updated to this effect.
I've just checked and it isn't mentioned anywhere. It really should be as it can brick the ESC leaving the main battery connected.
dvaid852456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2010, 06:25 AM   #1073
Tech Master
 
xtraman122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Central MA
Posts: 1,251
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

I know I've seen it mentioned somewhere, Tekin says the same thing for their stuff.
xtraman122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2010, 07:08 AM   #1074
Company Representative
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,891
Default Kinetic 1S Update:

Yesterday, we uploaded the interim SW patch for the Kinetic 1S esc for users with the NovaLink:

NovaLink Downloads

For those of you without the NL, we can send you a new plug-in "brain" board with the micro programmed with this new firmware update. Those of you who would prefer the brain board option, please PM me your mailing address and I will get one out to you.
NovakTwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2010, 09:30 AM   #1075
Tech Fanatic
 
macdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 925
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NovakTwo View Post
Yesterday, we uploaded the interim SW patch for the Kinetic 1S esc for users with the NovaLink:

NovaLink Downloads

For those of you without the NL, we can send you a new plug-in "brain" board with the micro programmed with this new firmware update. Those of you who would prefer the brain board option, please PM me your mailing address and I will get one out to you.
How much is a brain board for the 2S version? I think I fried mine. Another victim of battery while updating. Although everything appears to work except the brakes. Even after resetting doing the one touch set up they are very weak. The only thing I haven't tried is reloading the 1.3 firmware to the device.
__________________
---------------
KO Eurus / Orca / MMP / XB2 / 22-4 /
macdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2010, 09:36 AM   #1076
Company Representative
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,891
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by macdude View Post
How much is a brain board for the 2S version? I think I fried mine. Another victim of battery while updating. Although everything appears to work except the brakes. Even after resetting doing the one touch set up they are very weak. The only thing I haven't tried is reloading the 1.3 firmware to the device.
I suggest emailing all of your symptoms to [email protected] and they can assist you with your problems. We don't currently sell brain boards, but as these products mature, it might be a good idea....
NovakTwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2010, 10:46 AM   #1077
Suspended
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,990
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by macdude View Post
How much is a brain board for the 2S version? I think I fried mine. Another victim of battery while updating. Although everything appears to work except the brakes. Even after resetting doing the one touch set up they are very weak. The only thing I haven't tried is reloading the 1.3 firmware to the device.
try in this order - reload 1.3 and then redo 1 touch and then reset settings with novalink.
Also make sure brake frequency is set to the lowest number - maybe try this one first

I lost all brakes too at one time and was not very happy until I realized I had the brake frequency set too high when playing with the settings.
__________________
Pimp Formally Known as OG

Last edited by PFKAOG; 11-03-2010 at 02:39 PM.
PFKAOG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2010, 02:49 PM   #1078
Tech Fanatic
 
macdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 925
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PFKAOG View Post
try in this order - reload 1.3 and then redo 1 touch and then reset settings with novalink.
Also make sure brake frequency is set to the lowest number - maybe try this one first

I lost all brakes too at one time and was not very happy until I realized I had the brake frequency set too high when playing with the settings.
I'll give this a try when I get home. Like I said before everything in the Nova link seemed to work and I even made adjustments to the drive frequency that I could feel. But the break where just really weak compared to how they where acting before the "oops"
__________________
---------------
KO Eurus / Orca / MMP / XB2 / 22-4 /
macdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2010, 02:55 PM   #1079
Suspended
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,990
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by macdude View Post
I'll give this a try when I get home. Like I said before everything in the Nova link seemed to work and I even made adjustments to the drive frequency that I could feel. But the break where just really weak compared to how they where acting before the "oops"
I forgot to unplug the battery a few times myself and may have gotten lucky by escaping damage. If you were playing with the drive frequencies I'll bet that's the problem.
__________________
Pimp Formally Known as OG
PFKAOG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2010, 03:06 PM   #1080
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 8
Default

Thank you Johnny for your answer, i tried to upload a pre-build program but still the same result.

As soon as i hit the update button, this message: "An error occured when converting data for transmit. Please reset values and try again. Lenght can not be less then zero. Parameter name: Length"
On the background the running circle is present but nothing is happening, and it can only be stopped by clicking the disconnect button.

When i program the esc by use of the switch everything works fine and run perfect.

I'm i still doing something wrong here?
Magneto is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dyno, Homemade, Using a Novak Sentry Data Logger, Continued, The Experimental Thread. John Stranahan Electric On-Road 344 12-30-2016 05:22 PM
Novak Kinetic racer1812 Radio and Electronics 254 02-04-2013 08:52 PM
Novak Sentry as Brushless Dyno mattnin Electric On-Road 132 01-29-2010 05:53 PM
2009 i-hobby show b-man777 Electric On-Road 7 10-22-2009 09:35 AM
Spintec Battery Manager Erik Jonk Electric On-Road 999 03-26-2009 03:07 AM


Tags
brushless, gtb, novak kinetic, onroad, rc cars


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:42 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net