R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-28-2010, 11:06 PM   #1051
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Great Falls, MT
Posts: 190
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scottrik View Post
Sorry Aaron, I don't understand wtf half of this is...and I don't think I agree with the other half
Thanks Scottrik, at least I know I had it half right - not sure which half I'll author more concise postings in the future. That was admittedly drivel and didn't translate through the keyboard well at all!

You're on the right track here. Novak was served up the pitch to hit a homerun with an ESC that was Tekins rival AND INCLUDED onboard circuit boosting capabilities. It's what the consumer thought they were waiting for. Swing and a MISSSS.
__________________
Dude, Go RRReally FFFast - When something gets in your way - Turrrnn
VRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 07:35 AM   #1052
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 12
Default

[QUOTE=Scottrik;8137070]And that way ALL the voltage goes to the magneto for all that neck-snapping power".


A magneto produces it's own electricity via coil and magnet. It is not dependant on an outside power source.
toyotaknut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 08:18 AM   #1053
Tech Champion
 
skypilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9,524
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

__________________
semi retired..
skypilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 08:44 AM   #1054
Tech Addict
 
pmes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Bismarck, ND
Posts: 515
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

The Kinetic is high end, that requires a receiver pack. Get used to it. With a life or lipo receiver pack your servo is always getting a higher voltage than you ever will with a booster. If you don't want the highest performance equipment you don't have to buy it. Get a lower end ESC with the booster built in or buy the booster separately. I'm glad the Kinetic does not have this low end stuff packed into it.

Bob and his crew are right on top of the game.
pmes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 08:58 AM   #1055
Company Representative
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,891
Default

If we had designed a Kinetic 1S with a built-in booster , we surely would have included that info in our press information; not sure why anyone was misled.

How many minute races are you talking about---the longer the race the more valuable the rx pack?
NovakTwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 11:27 AM   #1056
am
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,638
Default

HOW DIFFICULT IS IT TO MESSURE THE HIGHT OF A KINETIC 2S???????!!!!!!!!!!!!!
am is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 11:56 AM   #1057
Company Representative
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,891
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by am View Post
HOW DIFFICULT IS IT TO MESSURE THE HIGHT OF A KINETIC 2S???????!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Kinetic 1S 17.85mm
Kinetic 2S 25.0mm
NovakTwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 02:09 PM   #1058
Tech Regular
 
Paul Ohlsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Colorado
Posts: 302
Send a message via Yahoo to Paul Ohlsen
Default

I'm having a problem with my 1s ver. When I turn it on the lights turn on then go out. the motor doesn't work but there is power the the rx and servo.


I look back in the thread and could see if anybody had the same problem.

Thanks.

Paul
__________________
Viper R/C Solutions | Team ARC USA | Express Motorsports | Xpert USA | Max.FX |Blitz / Team Titan | Hiro Seiko

Maxim 39-There is a difference between spare parts and extra [parts]. From The Seventy Maxims of Maximally Effective Mercenaries
Paul Ohlsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 03:04 PM   #1059
am
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,638
Default

Thank you NovakTwo!!!
am is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2010, 09:46 PM   #1060
Tech Champion
 
skypilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9,524
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

1s Kinetic with the dreaded rcvr pack, novak 10.5 set on 40degrees of timing, rollout of 66.223, 110 motor temp. default ESC setup with no timing. AE WGT, happy happy joy joy
__________________
semi retired..
skypilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010, 03:02 AM   #1061
Tech Initiate
 
JBM Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 49
Default

When will 1.4 software be out?

Really looking forward to an update....
JBM Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010, 08:31 AM   #1062
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 217
Default

Sounds like a damaged brainboard. Mine did this after I updated the ESC via USB with Novalink whilst having the main battery plugged in.

Contact Novak Tech support, they may send you a replacement board.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Ohlsen View Post
I'm having a problem with my 1s ver. When I turn it on the lights turn on then go out. the motor doesn't work but there is power the the rx and servo.


I look back in the thread and could see if anybody had the same problem.

Thanks.

Paul
dvaid852456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010, 08:50 AM   #1063
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 217
Default

I tried the Kinetic indoors on a large carpet track, 30M x 12M with a long back straight and very twisty infield and was very happy.

10.5 TC Geared at an FDR of 8 with 40* advance timing, start RPM 7000, end RPM 25,000. The car was flying on the straights, had oodles of snap between corners on the infield and came off barely 60*C.

I was able to forget about the ESC settings and concentrate on the more immediate problem of lack of rear grip. By the end of the night I had the setup 85% of the way there. Once sorted I could have looked at fine tuning the RPM range and could easily have up-ed the timing.

Now I have a starting point that works well for both indoors and outdoors I can gradually lower the top RPM and squeeze more and more performance out of the Kinetic. I think the next thing to look at is the throttle curves to smooth out the torque at low RPM to make the car a bit more drivable.

I had a quick play with a custom throttle curve and the first time I tried one I got an error message saying my Transmitter settings were out of range and to perform a one touch setup. I did this and tried again and the throttle response went crazy! On barely any throttle it came on full and then slowed and then sped up, it was all over the place.

So I performed one touch a second time and tried reloading the throttle curve. It behaved as expected then but every now and then at low revs there was still a slight blip.

Has any one else had problems with custom throttle curves?
dvaid852456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010, 11:05 AM   #1064
Tech Regular
 
Paul Ohlsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Colorado
Posts: 302
Send a message via Yahoo to Paul Ohlsen
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dvaid852456 View Post
Sounds like a damaged brainboard. Mine did this after I updated the ESC via USB with Novalink whilst having the main battery plugged in.

Contact Novak Tech support, they may send you a replacement board.
Thank you.
Paul Ohlsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010, 02:11 PM   #1065
Tech Elite
 
Johnny Wishbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,419
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dvaid852456 View Post
Has any one else had problems with custom throttle curves?
No, none to speak of.
Johnny Wishbone is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dyno, Homemade, Using a Novak Sentry Data Logger, Continued, The Experimental Thread. John Stranahan Electric On-Road 344 12-30-2016 05:22 PM
Novak Kinetic racer1812 Radio and Electronics 254 02-04-2013 08:52 PM
Novak Sentry as Brushless Dyno mattnin Electric On-Road 132 01-29-2010 05:53 PM
2009 i-hobby show b-man777 Electric On-Road 7 10-22-2009 09:35 AM
Spintec Battery Manager Erik Jonk Electric On-Road 999 03-26-2009 03:07 AM


Tags
brushless, gtb, novak kinetic, onroad, rc cars


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:43 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net