R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-19-2010, 04:47 PM   #1006
Tech Master
 
DIALED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,645
Trader Rating: 92 (100%+)
Default

Thanks a lot, Johnny! That's some usefull info right there. I'll start with that.
DIALED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 12:48 AM   #1007
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 42
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Wishbone View Post
Need a little more info first. Track size, traction level, carpet or asphalt?
Medium track,prety high traction,carpet.
cailas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 01:56 PM   #1008
Tech Elite
 
Johnny Wishbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,419
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cailas View Post
Medium track,prety high traction,carpet.
Ok, I'll give it a try but don't know alot about the X12 motor, so what ever you do, check your motor temps every couple minutes.

I'd use the default settings for 17.5/2s for the base and then adjust the following. FDR of 7.5 (temp check) with 2 dot insert. Change the timing set point to 5500, start with timing at 30* and boost on, set the delay to 375ms. use 0 for minimum drive but if you need more puch up this to 1 or 2. Go to the modify setting for a custom curve and select default curve 3. The brake settings are something you'll have to play with a bit, personal preference, but this should get you going.......just watch those temps and if to aggressive out of corners, try to soften the throttle curve and min drive.
Johnny Wishbone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2010, 10:38 AM   #1009
Tech Fanatic
 
macdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 925
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default Spec mode racing

Anyone try this thing in spec mode yet? I will be running it this way for the first time this weekend. I have changed, my FDR to 3.9 and the motor is only getting in the 120 range so I could probably get down to the 3.5 recommended on the novak site. I did notice that if you are going to run it this way that the endbell timing needs to be cranked or the whole thing seems really slow. Even with a FDR of 3.9. Overall though I am impressed with the amount of rip out of the corners. Turned the drive freq all the way down and that seemed to wake it up a little more too. The track where I race the lap times were pretty consistent when I was running timing. Which seems a little weird as I thought the dynamic timing was suppose to be making a huge difference in lap times. But that's probably due to the size of the track. Bigger the straights the better faster the achievable top speed.

Just wondering if anyone else has put it through its paces in spec mode and had similar results.
__________________
---------------
KO Eurus / Orca / MMP / XB2 / 22-4 /
macdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2010, 10:54 AM   #1010
Tech Elite
 
Raman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 3,305
Trader Rating: 56 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by macdude View Post
Anyone try this thing in spec mode yet? I will be running it this way for the first time this weekend. I have changed, my FDR to 3.9 and the motor is only getting in the 120 range so I could probably get down to the 3.5 recommended on the novak site. I did notice that if you are going to run it this way that the endbell timing needs to be cranked or the whole thing seems really slow. Even with a FDR of 3.9. Overall though I am impressed with the amount of rip out of the corners. Turned the drive freq all the way down and that seemed to wake it up a little more too. The track where I race the lap times were pretty consistent when I was running timing. Which seems a little weird as I thought the dynamic timing was suppose to be making a huge difference in lap times. But that's probably due to the size of the track. Bigger the straights the better faster the achievable top speed.

Just wondering if anyone else has put it through its paces in spec mode and had similar results.
Is there a Spec mode for the Kinetic? Or do you mean default with no timing and boost
__________________
TRF419X USGT, Roche F1 '16, M06 Pro M Chassis
Raman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2010, 10:55 AM   #1011
Tech Champion
 
skypilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9,524
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

ran mine last weekend is spec, ballistic 17.5 motor timing on 40, Mi4lp geared 3.8, esc setting were all at default settings. out ran every one. the car was, well..... BALLISTIC. oh yea and motor temps were only 130, esc was 90. it was a cold day
__________________
semi retired..
skypilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2010, 11:04 AM   #1012
Tech Fanatic
 
macdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 925
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raman View Post
Is there a Spec mode for the Kinetic? Or do you mean default with no timing and boost
No timing is spec mode as far as I know. It's roar approved.
__________________
---------------
KO Eurus / Orca / MMP / XB2 / 22-4 /
macdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2010, 11:26 AM   #1013
Tech Champion
 
skypilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9,524
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

when you go thru the one step setup it puts it in spec mode. the white light doesn't come on. I'm not sure its an official 'mode' but all the timing and boost is off.
__________________
semi retired..
skypilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2010, 12:16 PM   #1014
Tech Fanatic
 
macdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 925
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skypilot View Post
when you go thru the one step setup it puts it in spec mode. the white light doesn't come on. I'm not sure its an official 'mode' but all the timing and boost is off.
I just set the timing to zero via the novalink. As long as the white LED is out I think your are good to go. All the other settings can still be adjusted. I am running throttle profile 3, and the lowest drive frequency to get a little more punch out of the corners.

Glad to hear your car was "ballistic". I am hoping that I have a good weekend with it like this. One less thing to adjust
__________________
---------------
KO Eurus / Orca / MMP / XB2 / 22-4 /
macdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2010, 02:09 PM   #1015
Tech Elite
 
Johnny Wishbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,419
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by macdude View Post
Anyone try this thing in spec mode yet? I will be running it this way for the first time this weekend. I have changed, my FDR to 3.9 and the motor is only getting in the 120 range so I could probably get down to the 3.5 recommended on the novak site. I did notice that if you are going to run it this way that the endbell timing needs to be cranked or the whole thing seems really slow. Even with a FDR of 3.9. Overall though I am impressed with the amount of rip out of the corners. Turned the drive freq all the way down and that seemed to wake it up a little more too. The track where I race the lap times were pretty consistent when I was running timing. Which seems a little weird as I thought the dynamic timing was suppose to be making a huge difference in lap times. But that's probably due to the size of the track. Bigger the straights the better faster the achievable top speed.

Just wondering if anyone else has put it through its paces in spec mode and had similar results.
I've run is spec mode and have found similar information. Play with your min drive setting as well and it should work very well. Throttle curve setting adjustment will make the mid range power feel more drivable/controlable.

ROAR spec setting for the Kinetic is boost off with no flashing white led.
Johnny Wishbone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2010, 03:44 PM   #1016
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 3,922
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Any one have an idea on the WGT 13.5 single cell set-up.
__________________
Team Epic/Trinity -Michael Bruce Hobbies-Team CRC ,Kimbrough Products and GForce.
WGT-R, GT-12 Racing USA (21.5 ), Formula 1 and Home Track is 386 RaceWay,ROAR #7540.
BullFrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2010, 11:19 AM   #1017
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 42
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Wishbone View Post
Ok, I'll give it a try but don't know alot about the X12 motor, so what ever you do, check your motor temps every couple minutes.

I'd use the default settings for 17.5/2s for the base and then adjust the following. FDR of 7.5 (temp check) with 2 dot insert. Change the timing set point to 5500, start with timing at 30* and boost on, set the delay to 375ms. use 0 for minimum drive but if you need more puch up this to 1 or 2. Go to the modify setting for a custom curve and select default curve 3. The brake settings are something you'll have to play with a bit, personal preference, but this should get you going.......just watch those temps and if to aggressive out of corners, try to soften the throttle curve and min drive.

With 25 timing perfect setup, ~80 celsius in 5minutes.. today in practise was two tcx with LRP SS spec regs,but my car was fastest. So now I need to learn drive better.

p.s when will be soft for MAC?
cailas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 03:14 PM   #1018
am
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,639
Default

Hi!

Can i use the Kinetic 1s without reciver battery? As i understand it delivers 6V and a max at 3Amps of current.

What is the hight of the Kinetic 2S?

Thanks!!
am is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 04:19 PM   #1019
Tech Champion
 
skypilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9,524
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

the 1s will not turn out without a rcvr pack. size of esc is listed on www.teamnovak.com
__________________
semi retired..
skypilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 07:32 PM   #1020
Tech Fanatic
 
macdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 925
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by macdude View Post
I just set the timing to zero via the novalink. As long as the white LED is out I think your are good to go. All the other settings can still be adjusted. I am running throttle profile 3, and the lowest drive frequency to get a little more punch out of the corners.

Glad to hear your car was "ballistic". I am hoping that I have a good weekend with it like this. One less thing to adjust
Well I was way under geared. The top guys running in the spec class were 3.2 FDR.

FYI the Novak has way more rip than the Tekin in spec mode. Top speed is about the same but novak was pulling way harder out of the corners. And it was easier to drive.
__________________
---------------
KO Eurus / Orca / MMP / XB2 / 22-4 /
macdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dyno, Homemade, Using a Novak Sentry Data Logger, Continued, The Experimental Thread. John Stranahan Electric On-Road 344 12-30-2016 05:22 PM
Novak Kinetic racer1812 Radio and Electronics 254 02-04-2013 08:52 PM
Novak Sentry as Brushless Dyno mattnin Electric On-Road 132 01-29-2010 05:53 PM
2009 i-hobby show b-man777 Electric On-Road 7 10-22-2009 09:35 AM
Spintec Battery Manager Erik Jonk Electric On-Road 999 03-26-2009 03:07 AM


Tags
brushless, gtb, novak kinetic, onroad, rc cars


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:57 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net