R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-28-2010, 11:29 AM   #901
Company Representative
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,891
Default Kinetic Upgrades

Today, we have added the Kinetic Upgrade options to our ESC Trade-In Program:

TeamNovak ESC Trade-In Program

Novak customers can return any speed control we have ever offered---brush or brushless---and upgrade to either our Kinetic 2S or our Kinetic 1S. If you wish to add a NovaLink, see program details.
NovakTwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2010, 03:46 PM   #902
Tech Initiate
 
Torque221's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: New Caney, TX
Posts: 28
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NovakTwo View Post
Today, we have added the Kinetic Upgrade options to our ESC Trade-In Program:

TeamNovak ESC Trade-In Program

Novak customers can return any speed control we have ever offered---brush or brushless---and upgrade to either our Kinetic 2S or our Kinetic 1S. If you wish to add a NovaLink, see program details.
Sweet!
Torque221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2010, 05:28 PM   #903
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 86
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Jackie at novak is the greatest. My second exchanged Kinetic arrived today, a completely new replacement, so I can sell one. They also replaced my new motor in case it was the issue.

Great people to deal with.
rcannon409 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 03:35 AM   #904
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 215
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcannon409 View Post
Jackie at novak is the greatest. My second exchanged Kinetic arrived today, a completely new replacement, so I can sell one. They also replaced my new motor in case it was the issue.

Great people to deal with.
I second that! My replacement brain board arrived today and my ESC is back up and running

Great service and communication!
dvaid852456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 08:41 AM   #905
Company Representative
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,891
Default

We have the best customer service staff in the entire industry. Jackie has been our CS manager for over 20 years---she is always cheerful and goes out of her way to help our customers.

Always being cheerful is a challenge when dealing with customers----for 20 years! I have forwarded your praise to her.
NovakTwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 09:42 AM   #906
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 215
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NovakTwo View Post
We have the best customer service staff in the entire industry. Jackie has been our CS manager for over 20 years---she is always cheerful and goes out of her way to help our customers.

Always being cheerful is a challenge when dealing with customers----for 20 years! I have forwarded your praise to her.
Please pass on a thanks to the entire Novak Team as everyone contributed to sorting my problem.

Take a bow
dvaid852456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 10:45 AM   #907
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2
Default

Received my shiny new Kinetic. Installed and looking good EXCEPT for that infernal software!!!

OK - I have read, re-read, installed, re-installed, disconnected fans, checked and re-checked - but I still can't get version 1.3 firmware on to the ESC.

I have the latest software - Version 1.3
I have downloaded it with Firewall/ Antivirus all deactivated.
I have downloaded the new firmware the same way, and downloaded it directly to the NovaLink folder.
Tried extraction, no extraction.
I am running Windows 7, 32 Bit.
I have tried running the program with XPSP2 compatibility.

With the original software (came with the Novalink) it worked, I could see the ESC and all was ok. The one touch set up process is fine.

Followed the latest instruction manual from Novak to the letter and I keep getting:

"File does not exist. Make sure your image is in the C:\Program Files\Novak Electronics\Novalink Folder

Now at the end of the line.......... anyone with any bright ideas will be most welcome!
benh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 10:53 AM   #908
Tech Fanatic
 
macdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 925
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by benh View Post
Received my shiny new Kinetic. Installed and looking good EXCEPT for that infernal software!!!

OK - I have read, re-read, installed, re-installed, disconnected fans, checked and re-checked - but I still can't get version 1.3 firmware on to the ESC.

I have the latest software - Version 1.3
I have downloaded it with Firewall/ Antivirus all deactivated.
I have downloaded the new firmware the same way, and downloaded it directly to the NovaLink folder.
Tried extraction, no extraction.
I am running Windows 7, 32 Bit.
I have tried running the program with XPSP2 compatibility.

With the original software (came with the Novalink) it worked, I could see the ESC and all was ok. The one touch set up process is fine.

Followed the latest instruction manual from Novak to the letter and I keep getting:

"File does not exist. Make sure your image is in the C:\Program Files\Novak Electronics\Novalink Folder

Now at the end of the line.......... anyone with any bright ideas will be most welcome!
Download the file. Unzip it and put it in the directory above. (This part is important. the installer does not unzip the file)

plug in the novalink and start the software.

click on the Firmware updater button

A window will open and ask you to connect your controller

plug in the controller to the link

This should start the update process,

If it does not then you will need to start over.

unplug the controller and then click on the updater button, then replug the controller.

It took me a couple of tries to get the software on the device.
Make sure you are plugging the controller in all pins at once, this seems to make a difference as to if the updater will see the controller correctly or not.
__________________
---------------
KO Eurus / Orca / MMP / XB2 / 22-4 /

Last edited by macdude; 09-29-2010 at 10:57 AM. Reason: added an explanation
macdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 11:50 AM   #909
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ashland city tn
Posts: 2,646
Trader Rating: 53 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NovakTwo View Post
Today, we have added the Kinetic Upgrade options to our ESC Trade-In Program:

TeamNovak ESC Trade-In Program

Novak customers can return any speed control we have ever offered---brush or brushless---and upgrade to either our Kinetic 2S or our Kinetic 1S. If you wish to add a NovaLink, see program details.

im i understanding that u can trade in a havok 2s for a kinetic 2s for $144?
__________________
Rick Hess
Yokomo-Amain-Protek RC
R&C Hobby shop Clarksville TN
RCP Customs-RC Juice
rkhess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 04:15 PM   #910
Tech Master
 
xtraman122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Central MA
Posts: 1,251
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

Correct.
xtraman122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 05:09 PM   #911
Tech Addict
 
Skitee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 745
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by benh View Post
Received my shiny new Kinetic. Installed and looking good EXCEPT for that infernal software!!!

OK - I have read, re-read, installed, re-installed, disconnected fans, checked and re-checked - but I still can't get version 1.3 firmware on to the ESC.

I have the latest software - Version 1.3
I have downloaded it with Firewall/ Antivirus all deactivated.
I have downloaded the new firmware the same way, and downloaded it directly to the NovaLink folder.
Tried extraction, no extraction.
I am running Windows 7, 32 Bit.
I have tried running the program with XPSP2 compatibility.

With the original software (came with the Novalink) it worked, I could see the ESC and all was ok. The one touch set up process is fine.

Followed the latest instruction manual from Novak to the letter and I keep getting:

"File does not exist. Make sure your image is in the C:\Program Files\Novak Electronics\Novalink Folder

Now at the end of the line.......... anyone with any bright ideas will be most welcome!
Make sure you're running the Novalink application as an administrator.

then...

Make sure that you have the "outloada13.rdd" file in C:\Program Files\Novak Electronics\Novalink, physically check this in windows explorer.

if you've checked the above and still no luck then try...

Open C:\Program Files\Novak Electronics\Novalink in windows explorer and run the "escProgrammer" application as an administrator, this did the trick for me on my desktop pc running Win 7 32bit.
__________________
Xray T4 2018 ~ HobbyWing Xerun XR10 Pro ~ Motiv RC 4.5
Xray X12 2018 ~ ORCA Vritra VX3 1S ~ Speedzone 4.5

POWERED BY SPEEDZONE USA
Skitee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 05:19 PM   #912
Tech Master
 
xtraman122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Central MA
Posts: 1,251
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

Another thing to keep in mind, if you're on a 64-bit os, the file needs to be in C:\Program Files (x86)\" as opposed to the regular 64-bit "C:\Program Files\", I know the little exe they include for the firmware file puts it in C:\Program Files\ regardless of the OS.
xtraman122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 07:48 PM   #913
Tech Initiate
 
JBM Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 49
Default

When will V1.4 be available?

Looking forward to some more configurablility for the Kinetic, like Boost level and more time delay options, say 0-2000mS

I have also tested the Minimum drive, from 0-15%, doesn't seem to do anything. if I creap the car forward with minimum drive set to 1 compairing to 15% I don't notice a difference. is this what this setting is for?
JBM Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 09:46 PM   #914
Tech Champion
 
skypilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9,524
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Got that TimeZone Grand Prix coming up next weekend, Its been a few years since I ran a 1/12 scale, gonna need some help to get a head start, anyone got a starting point for a 13.5 with the 1s K esc. ( its not to late to book a flight charlie)
__________________
semi retired..
skypilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2010, 01:51 PM   #915
Tech Master
 
heretic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: europe
Posts: 1,106
Default

Hi escman and/or Novaktwo

I am in the process of setting up a 2s kinetic for my buddy who can't read english ;-). We have an indoor race coming up next week ( temporary track) and no time to fiddle around for 30 runs to try and figure out what to do.

I have been through the last 20 pages of this thread and haven't been able to find a consistent starting point for 10.5 rubber TC. My buddy is a very skilled driver (I never say that, seriously) so he doesn't want the least HP left on the pit table.

Soooo : here is all the relevant info I can gather

Straight :20-25 meters ( 60-75 feet)
Carpet, medium grip, MM32 tires
usually the layout is really tech in the infield.
Motor is Orion 10.5, 2s obviously

What would be a decent starting point? Not the absolute best but a guarantee not to ruin the first race of the winter season by being lost in the ESC settings. He's coming from a SPX as a previous ESC so he'd like something that at least matches that... for starters ;-)

The info required :

starting FDR (8-ish ?)
Boost mode : off or on ? Delay ?
timing set point
max timing RPM
Timing level
drive frequency

The timing RPM default presets are very puzzling : the preset for 10.5 and 2s indicates Start 2000 Max 4000 which is inconsistent with the advised 4000 RPM gap that you're supposed to have between the two.


Thanks for your help.

PS we want info and not opinions here, so if anyone wants to chime in be welcome, as long as you have a respectable amount of experience with this ESC. This post is supposed to be for the Novak staff mainly. Thanks.
__________________
I love wedge bodies. I love dish wheels.
heretic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dyno, Homemade, Using a Novak Sentry Data Logger, Continued, The Experimental Thread. John Stranahan Electric On-Road 344 12-30-2016 05:22 PM
Novak Kinetic racer1812 Radio and Electronics 254 02-04-2013 08:52 PM
Novak Sentry as Brushless Dyno mattnin Electric On-Road 132 01-29-2010 05:53 PM
2009 i-hobby show b-man777 Electric On-Road 7 10-22-2009 09:35 AM
Spintec Battery Manager Erik Jonk Electric On-Road 999 03-26-2009 03:07 AM


Tags
brushless, gtb, novak kinetic, onroad, rc cars


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:34 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net