R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-22-2010, 08:56 PM   #886
Tech Elite
 
Johnny Wishbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,419
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oldpugva View Post
Very nice write-up Gary. My observation is the Super Stock temps. Novak says via their web site to keep it below 165 or so (maybe it is 175). That is really close to DAMAGE to internals.

I find that having such a low 'ceiling' stresses me out, as I reach those temps quickly. My FDR is around 5.0 on RCGT and I would like to add two more cogs to get me around 4.7 or so. I am not as fast as others due to the smaller pinion. I cannot get there due to temps.
The 171* was with a Duo2 which I'm positive it can take more than that temp. remembering of course that the Novak reconmendation is with their combination of motor and speed control, so with the ballistic the temp sensor is within the motor so its reconmendation could be off of what one might see with external temp of another motor. You could probably creep up on the gearing if you had to but in my case overgearing did not produce any better lap times and under gearing started to show slower lap times. This final fdr was possibly off by about 0.10 fdr, but it also produced far more consistant lap times for me.

I also know that some of the elite drivers where coming off at over 212*, all for a few fast laps, but in no way where those motors run much longer after that.

I still am very happy with how smooth the Kinetic is from bottom end to top end speed. I had a chance to try a mamba max and look at the interface adjustability in Texas at Mikes Hobby Shop. The Kinetic is still a smoother speed control and with the fractional adjustments or open adjustments compaired to the mm locked in increments, the Kinetic makes for a more adjustable speed control. On the software side the scroll over info available with the Kinetic offers more info than the help feature of the mm. Also the throttle curve graphs appear larger and easier to manipulate with the Kinetic over the mm. Even the owner of the mm thought the software side of the Novak seemed easier to change. (Thanks Eryk from Mikes)
Johnny Wishbone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2010, 08:32 AM   #887
Company Representative
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,891
Default

FWIW, we consider our TransCap modules an intrinsic component of our overall esc design. This is not just a power capacitor, but an entire circuit.

Novak TransCap Modules

Here is the list of all of our external, replaceable modules for various voltage requirements; you can always use a higher rated module---for example a 4S with a 2S battery:

TC Modules; Listings

We have introduced a smaller 1S module installed on our new Kinetic 1S escs and we are prototyping a smaller 2S TC module. For now, we recommend only our 2S module as replacement on our racing 2S controllers (brush or brushless).

This same module can be used as a replacement/upgrade for other mfgs' 2S controllers. If you are installing a TransCap module on one of those other escs with damaged, internal power caps, we recommend complete removal of the blown caps before installing our module.

We think this module is pretty cheap insurance:

Quote:
This is the replacement Power Trans-Cap Module for the Kinetic Racing Brushless ESC, Havoc Pro Brushless ESC, GTB Brushless/Brush ESC, Havoc Sport Brushless/Brush ESC, GTX or any other brushed or brushless racing speed control (except high-voltage ESCs) compatible with 2S Li-Po/4-6 cell NiMH.

This unit improves efficiency and lowers operating temperatures for speed controls, and is factory-wired with 16GA silicone wire for easy installation on a ESCís Direct-Solder Wiring Tabs. The module includes a 5,600 microfared 10V Electrolytic capacitor with a transorb circuitry that provides protection from voltage spikes.

Note: Use of any other power capacitor with the Kinetic 2S, Havoc Pro SC, Havoc Pro, GTB, Havoc 2S Sport, GTX, etc. is not recommended and may cause damage to the ESC.

For more information on Novak's Power Trans-Cap Modules, click here.
Quote:
Originally Posted by xtraman122 View Post
Anyone do much testing without the big cap on there? I'm considering trying the little Tekin ones or just going completely without it, I think my cars would be fine, the hottest motor I run is a 7.5. I know when I used to run Tekin stuff I had mine break off and went the whole night without it and experienced no negative side effects.
NovakTwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2010, 10:35 AM   #888
Tech Elite
 
JayL's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ca
Posts: 2,880
Default

good work novak! your new esc is looking good in stock AND mod, that is a feat

I've been watching Ed get that thing faster every week

And now a smaller cap

now we just need color choices
JayL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2010, 11:42 AM   #889
Tech Master
 
xtraman122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Central MA
Posts: 1,251
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

Random question, I know on the Havoc Pro SC that the drag brake is programmable up to 27% (I think that's the number). Now, is that number based on the original firmware for the Kinetic, where it was really double that and felt like 54%, or is it like the v1.3 and any other speedo where it's actually 27% of your total braking power. Pretty much, will it have the same drag brake as a GTB or will it be double?
xtraman122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2010, 03:49 PM   #890
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 117
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xtraman122 View Post
Random question, I know on the Havoc Pro SC that the drag brake is programmable up to 27% (I think that's the number). Now, is that number based on the original firmware for the Kinetic, where it was really double that and felt like 54%, or is it like the v1.3 and any other speedo where it's actually 27% of your total braking power. Pretty much, will it have the same drag brake as a GTB or will it be double?
Xtraman122:
The maximum Minimum Brake or Drake Brake is 30 percent of maximum brake value using the One Touch button and 50% through Nova Link

1 is OFF and the remaining percentages are as follow:

3,6,9,12,15,18,21,24,30

Adnan
__________________
Novak Engineering Dept
escman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2010, 06:18 PM   #891
Tech Regular
 
oldpugva's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Culpeper, VA
Posts: 402
Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Wishbone View Post
The 171* was with a Duo2 which I'm positive it can take more than that temp. remembering of course that the Novak reconmendation is with their combination of motor and speed control, so with the ballistic the temp sensor is within the motor so its reconmendation could be off of what one might see with external temp of another motor. You could probably creep up on the gearing if you had to but in my case overgearing did not produce any better lap times and under gearing started to show slower lap times. This final fdr was possibly off by about 0.10 fdr, but it also produced far more consistant lap times for me.

I also know that some of the elite drivers where coming off at over 212*, all for a few fast laps, but in no way where those motors run much longer after that.

I still am very happy with how smooth the Kinetic is from bottom end to top end speed. I had a chance to try a mamba max and look at the interface adjustability in Texas at Mikes Hobby Shop. The Kinetic is still a smoother speed control and with the fractional adjustments or open adjustments compaired to the mm locked in increments, the Kinetic makes for a more adjustable speed control. On the software side the scroll over info available with the Kinetic offers more info than the help feature of the mm. Also the throttle curve graphs appear larger and easier to manipulate with the Kinetic over the mm. Even the owner of the mm thought the software side of the Novak seemed easier to change. (Thanks Eryk from Mikes)
Nice post Johnny. I sure wish I could run the heck out of the motor without regard to temps. Must be nice to be able to swap motors after a heat!

__________________
<Straights are Easy>
| AE | LRP | Tekin | Spektrum |
RCRNV Twitter |RCRNV Web |RCRNV Facebook |

Last edited by oldpugva; 09-24-2010 at 04:29 AM.
oldpugva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2010, 09:09 AM   #892
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Walterboro S.C. USA
Posts: 330
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Is this gonna be the same size a wieght as my GTB ?
tc3jp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2010, 10:47 AM   #893
Company Representative
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,891
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tc3jp View Post
Is this gonna be the same size a wieght as my GTB ?
Slightly smaller in both weight and footprint.
NovakTwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2010, 01:30 PM   #894
Tech Adept
 
MiCk B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Ireland
Posts: 162
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Just started with the Nova link.

Maybe I'm missing something but I have noticed the following.

In total I have updated the firmware on 4 kinetics.

On at least two (possibly all, can't be 100%) it would not accept the update, wired into the car. Ie battery disconnected and receiver plug into Nova Link. They only way I could get it to connect to the Nova Link was to disconnect the switch as well. As soon as the switch was removed it all worked.

Other thing I've uploaded a custom profile to the Kinetic, so the speedo is running in profile 2. When I hold the programming switch I get all the lights on giving 2 flashes, confirming that it is running the uploaded custom profile. Using the switch I can go back to the in-built profile 1, all the lights flashing once. But cannot go back to profile 2. I assumed that I could have two profiles stored in the Kinetic, one programmed via the switch other via the Novak Link. Then be able to swap between the two.

Last thing, when the Nova Link loads up does it read the setting the speedo is currently set to or, are the on screen settings just a default setting.

Cheers.

MiCk B. :-)
__________________
http://www.dublinmodelracing.com

http://www.p-dubracing.co.uk

http://www.msdmodels.ie
MiCk B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2010, 02:53 PM   #895
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Lynnwood, Washington
Posts: 791
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quick question. Looking through the instructions ... it seems no timing is the default setting?
malkiy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2010, 04:57 PM   #896
Tech Master
 
xtraman122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Central MA
Posts: 1,251
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MiCk B View Post
Last thing, when the Nova Link loads up does it read the setting the speedo is currently set to or, are the on screen settings just a default setting.
It shows what you're currently at.
xtraman122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2010, 04:07 PM   #897
Tech Master
 
xtraman122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Central MA
Posts: 1,251
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

Random question on the Havoc Pro SC, I was looking through the online manual and saw where you set the RPM start point for the timing, but never saw any mention of the end point for where it's fully applied.
xtraman122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2010, 09:13 PM   #898
Tech Elite
 
dangerwr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 2,245
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default Settings for a Durango?

Do you guys know of a good starting point for this ESC in a DEX410? I am using the Ballistic 8.5. I usually start with the stock profile on these but was curious if anyone knew of a better starting point. Cheers!
__________________
-------------------------
Losi 8ight 2.0 EP - MMM & Tekin 1900Kv
Losi 8ight-T 2.0 EP - MMM & Tekin 1550Kv
Durango DEX410 - Orion R10 Pro & 8.5T
TLR 22 - Orion R10 Pro & 13.5T
dangerwr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2010, 08:59 PM   #899
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 117
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by malkiy View Post
Quick question. Looking through the instructions ... it seems no timing is the default setting?
When one touch programming is performed, the ESC revert to all default values.
Default value for Timing is OFF.
Adnan
__________________
Novak Engineering Dept
escman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2010, 09:03 PM   #900
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 117
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xtraman122 View Post
Random question on the Havoc Pro SC, I was looking through the online manual and saw where you set the RPM start point for the timing, but never saw any mention of the end point for where it's fully applied.
Timing setting 2-8 are some what based on motor winds.
2 for low turn modified upper RPM point ~35K
8 for 1 cell 10.5 turn racing ~ 9K RPM
Adnan
__________________
Novak Engineering Dept
escman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dyno, Homemade, Using a Novak Sentry Data Logger, Continued, The Experimental Thread. John Stranahan Electric On-Road 344 12-30-2016 05:22 PM
Novak Kinetic racer1812 Radio and Electronics 254 02-04-2013 08:52 PM
Novak Sentry as Brushless Dyno mattnin Electric On-Road 132 01-29-2010 05:53 PM
2009 i-hobby show b-man777 Electric On-Road 7 10-22-2009 09:35 AM
Spintec Battery Manager Erik Jonk Electric On-Road 999 03-26-2009 03:07 AM


Tags
brushless, gtb, novak kinetic, onroad, rc cars


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:19 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net