R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-13-2010, 11:42 PM   #841
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Dresden, germany
Posts: 56
Send a message via MSN to jontang001
Default

Can someone please post a setup or give me suggestions for LRP X12 10.5R to a 8min race?
Thanks in advance!!!!
__________________
TAMIYA TRF416, EVO5MS, TB03 FullOP
Schumacher Mi4LP, CAT SXII, Cougar
jontang001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 03:13 AM   #842
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 215
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NovakTwo View Post
We will be sending you a new Kinetic brain board today.
Thanks, great service.
dvaid852456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 06:23 AM   #843
Tech Adept
 
MiCk B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Ireland
Posts: 162
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I'm still waiting for my gear to arrive back from the Euros, but that is another story.

Over the week-end I was able to see the Novalink in action trackside. We were able to update a Kinetic to V1.3 and add in a custom profile with out any hassle.

One thing we did notice was after upload the custom profile to the Kinetic we were unable to change the profile using the set-up button on the Kinetic. Is this correct. I assumed that you could have the 'stock' profile as per the setup button and the custom Novalink profile saved in the Kinetic and then switch between the two.
(#17 THROTTLE PROFILE SELECTION (1 of 2) ALL LEDs)

But impressed with the first use of the Novaklink.

MiCk B. :-)
__________________
http://www.dublinmodelracing.com

http://www.p-dubracing.co.uk

http://www.msdmodels.ie
MiCk B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 06:32 AM   #844
Tech Champion
 
oXYnary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,301
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to oXYnary Send a message via Yahoo to oXYnary
Default

Are you planning on a Kinetic 1s/Ballistic 13.5 combo package?
__________________
www.3drcracing.com <<RC Video Game.
Kyosho Mini-Z Buggy, Moto Racer | Losi Micro SCT, 8ight Mini
oXYnary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 06:56 AM   #845
Tech Elite
 
MAD916's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: La Center Seca
Posts: 3,117
Default

Hey Charlie trying to send you a PM... if you can give us a call at the track
360-263-0262.....

TZR
__________________
Timezone Raceway Park " on-road outdoor european style road course.
Timezone II 60'x100' indoor carpet track. Host of the ROAR 2011 Carpet Nat's.
Timezonehobbies.com your new source for online RC products.
MAD916 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2010, 12:24 PM   #846
Tech Fanatic
 
macdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 925
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

[QUOTE=escman;7936720]
Quote:
Originally Posted by macdude View Post
The biggest complaint I have is that it does not tell you if there is another version of the firmware, or novalink software from in the program. Also updating should not require me to manually uninstall the .....

Thanks for you input, we are working on getting the installation process to be a little less painful.
We spent all our effort on the esc firmware and the Nova Link, the installation process was given a low priority so we could finish the project. Improvements that you ask for are in the pipeline, please give us some time to get them done.
Adnan
I kind of assumed this was the issue. Thanks for your response. Otherwise the program is probably the easiest to set all the parameters. 100% better than the Tekin HW software.

I would like to know why adjusting the throttle curve will cause a high speed surge when running under no load. Seem like it got better with v1.3 but still seems rough about 80% throttle. Doesn't really seem to matter what curve I pick, but the whole car jumps when revving it on the stand. When I go back to linear throttle then there is no surge.
__________________
---------------
KO Eurus / Orca / MMP / XB2 / 22-4 /
macdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2010, 01:15 PM   #847
Tech Master
 
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: I'm All Over The Place
Posts: 1,160
Default

Mad- I'm not good for calls, Email!

Email [email protected] request to forward to me and I'll get it a few hours later.

Jontang- Start with the RPM defaults from the Drop Down as a loose starting point. Just select 10.5 with your battery and voila, it gives you a rough starting point. They usually get you in the ball park. For the most part, with a new setup, I go mild on the RPM points, a good 8-10K spread. I usually start with pretty low timing and work my way up.

The rest of the settings for the profile side of it are very very much driver dependant, so start with the default, then adjust what you need.

What are you running for 8 minutes? 1S 12th scale?
__________________
Novak Electronics Tech Support

Last edited by Charlie; 09-15-2010 at 01:29 PM.
Charlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2010, 03:07 PM   #848
Tech Champion
 
skypilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9,524
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Kinetic 1s in 12R5.1

can't wait to run it.
Attached Thumbnails
Novak Kinetic-003.jpg  
__________________
semi retired..
skypilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 04:11 AM   #849
Tech Initiate
 
JBM Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 49
Default

Suggestion for Novak Kinetic V1.3: I have been doing some testing using the Current Limit feature for wheel spin.

1= max current = high chance of wheel spin
10 = Limited current = low chance of wheel spin

Thats the idea any way... upon testing, I found the setting works well, but you loose the top end speed as well. Test Rig: 17.5T motor with timing at 55 deg.

Can I suggest limiting this setting to the initial launch only? so the current is limited for the initial 10,000 RPM then release it back to max current...

Great speedy... Well Done Novak!
JBM Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 06:56 AM   #850
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: colorado
Posts: 192
Send a message via Skype™ to slotracer577
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by escman View Post

On your second request we maybe able to add a different way of timing setup option.
Perhaps one can fill out a table with 6-8 RPM points and the required applied timing at those points. This method is highly prone to mistakes by the operator.
I have to look at this in more detail.
Adnan
That would be a great option. I know it has a big opertunity for misuse or mistakes, but for oval racing it could be huge as we only run in a set window of rpm's. Would like to have full control of the timing within that window. Could also be better than boost as you could add a bit more timing at super high rpm (end of the straight) for that extra boost. Also could run lower timing at low rpm for good launch and then add more timing once the car is rolling.
__________________
Team Epic
slotracer577 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 07:15 AM   #851
Tech Fanatic
 
jammincrtjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: GA
Posts: 969
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Is the software working with windows7?
__________________
NEXUS RACING www.nexusracing.com | FANTOM RACING www.fantomracing.com
ORCA www.orcarc.com | TURTLE TRAX / www.turtletraxraceway.com
--------------------------------------------------
"If you're not first...you're last!"
jammincrtjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 07:22 AM   #852
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 11
Default

After reading your problems, I disconnected the fan and used a short USB cable to perform the update.
Successfully updated my Kinetic 2S to v1.3

I am surprised by the requirement to plug the Kinetic AFTER launching the GUI - or AFTER selecting the firmware button, when prompted. Can it be changed, so you plug everything and the GUI connects/detects automatically the ESC ? This could avoid multiple physical plug/unplug.

I am wondering about the Reset button: it resets my kinetic 2S with a Voltage cutoff = 3.0V, this makes no sense. it should be either OFF/4.8/6.3 as described in the user's manual recommended values (6.3 preferred of course).

Also, when connecting the ESC it reads out the settings automatically - but afterwards there us no way to force re-read of the ESC, you can only do update. The problem is that when you do modifications of the settings , you cannot go back the the ESC internal settings - or you need to disconnect and re-connect, only way to force a Read.
=> is it possible to add a "Read ESC" next to the "Update" button ?

Finally, is there a way to save the temperature graph , for future reference ? Right now I can only take screenshots, an excel output would be nice.
Many thanks to Novak team !

PS: what means the date and time next to "connected" ?

Last edited by nicov; 09-16-2010 at 07:34 AM.
nicov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 07:32 AM   #853
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 117
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JBM Racing View Post
Suggestion for Novak Kinetic V1.3: I have been doing some testing using the Current Limit feature for wheel spin.

1= max current = high chance of wheel spin
10 = Limited current = low chance of wheel spin

Thats the idea any way... upon testing, I found the setting works well, but you loose the top end speed as well. Test Rig: 17.5T motor with timing at 55 deg.

Can I suggest limiting this setting to the initial launch only? so the current is limited for the initial 10,000 RPM then release it back to max current...

Great speedy... Well Done Novak!
Thanks JMB Racing
This would require an update to the firmware of Kinetic.
I like to idea, let me look at the code and see what will will take to implement this function in the next update of the esc.
Adnan
escman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 07:37 AM   #854
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 117
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by slotracer577 View Post
That would be a great option. I know it has a big opertunity for misuse or mistakes, but for oval racing it could be huge as we only run in a set window of rpm's. Would like to have full control of the timing within that window. Could also be better than boost as you could add a bit more timing at super high rpm (end of the straight) for that extra boost. Also could run lower timing at low rpm for good launch and then add more timing once the car is rolling.
slotracer577
We are looking at implementing this in our next update, I am thinking of a table setup that you have to fill out completely before the program will let you proceed.
We have to built in some smarts so the you can not enter data out of end point range or sequence.
I will keep up updated.
Adnan
escman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 07:48 AM   #855
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 117
Default

[QUOTE=macdude;7943767]
Quote:
Originally Posted by escman View Post

I kind of assumed this was the issue. Thanks for your response. Otherwise the program is probably the easiest to set all the parameters. 100% better than the Tekin HW software.

I would like to know why adjusting the throttle curve will cause a high speed surge when running under no load. Seem like it got better with v1.3 but still seems rough about 80% throttle. Doesn't really seem to matter what curve I pick, but the whole car jumps when revving it on the stand. When I go back to linear throttle then there is no surge.
macdude

Also I would like make a point about our software.
The following parameters:
Minimum Brake
Drag Brake
Minimum Dive
Dead Band

Have a dual mode entry, one can select from the given index or enter a value that is 0.1 increment, I believe this is unique to Novak and its is very difficult to implement. We spent a lot of time to get this function to work properly and integrate into the esc firmware.
Its fairly easy to implement simple up or down buttons, but to add the ability to enter a floating point number is quite involved.
I hope you racer are using that function, over the years I been asked many times for that ability select Dead band or Minimum drive value in 1/10 increment.
escman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dyno, Homemade, Using a Novak Sentry Data Logger, Continued, The Experimental Thread. John Stranahan Electric On-Road 344 12-30-2016 05:22 PM
Novak Kinetic racer1812 Radio and Electronics 254 02-04-2013 08:52 PM
Novak Sentry as Brushless Dyno mattnin Electric On-Road 132 01-29-2010 05:53 PM
2009 i-hobby show b-man777 Electric On-Road 7 10-22-2009 09:35 AM
Spintec Battery Manager Erik Jonk Electric On-Road 999 03-26-2009 03:07 AM


Tags
brushless, gtb, novak kinetic, onroad, rc cars


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:22 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net