R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-10-2010, 02:16 AM   #796
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 215
Default

As far as I know the Eagle Tree brushless RPM sensor works but I will confirm or deny later as hopefully it's arriving today
dvaid852456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 07:41 AM   #797
Tech Regular
 
Brum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Goldcoast
Posts: 400
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Brum
Questions??

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hi all still cant work out whats going on with my novak setup.
novak kinetic 2s and novak ballistic 4.5t 550 motor.
I finally got power to my esc again after leaving it unplugged overnight.
when i turn my esc on all the lights come on go through there sequence
and show no errors. i pull the throttle and the motor runs for about 3seconds
then stops and all the lights go out and esc will not switch back on.
i have to diconnect the battery wait 1-2 hours hook it back up and esc works again pull the throttle and it does it all over again what am i doing wrong i have tried sevaral battery packs and recievers makes no difference
my sevo is new ace 1015 please help thanx.
__________________
Mugen eco 6,Castle Mamba.Kopropo.EX-1.
Shumacher cougar svr..tekin rs pro,redline 8.5t.Kopropo.EX-1
Shumacher K1 tekin rs pro,redline 7.5t, Kopropo,EX-1
member of Logan Offroad LORRCCC inc.
Brum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 08:03 AM   #798
Regional Moderator
 
CarbonJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,661
Default

Does it do the same thing with the servo disconnected?
__________________
*** The Gate - Celebrating 8 years at the same location ***
The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits. - Albert Einstein
Understeer is when you hit the wall with the front of the car and oversteer is when you hit the wall with the rear of the car
CarbonJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 08:04 AM   #799
Tech Regular
 
Brum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Goldcoast
Posts: 400
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Brum
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by CarbonJoe View Post
Does it do the same thing with the servo disconnected?
yes
__________________
Mugen eco 6,Castle Mamba.Kopropo.EX-1.
Shumacher cougar svr..tekin rs pro,redline 8.5t.Kopropo.EX-1
Shumacher K1 tekin rs pro,redline 7.5t, Kopropo,EX-1
member of Logan Offroad LORRCCC inc.
Brum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 08:21 AM   #800
Regional Moderator
 
CarbonJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,661
Default

Does it do it with a different motor? Did you try a different sensor wire? If yes to both, sounds like the ESC has an internal soldering or component issue.
__________________
*** The Gate - Celebrating 8 years at the same location ***
The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits. - Albert Einstein
Understeer is when you hit the wall with the front of the car and oversteer is when you hit the wall with the rear of the car
CarbonJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 08:27 AM   #801
Suspended
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,990
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brum View Post
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hi all still cant work out whats going on with my novak setup.
novak kinetic 2s and novak ballistic 4.5t 550 motor.
I finally got power to my esc again after leaving it unplugged overnight.
when i turn my esc on all the lights come on go through there sequence
and show no errors. i pull the throttle and the motor runs for about 3seconds
then stops and all the lights go out and esc will not switch back on.
i have to diconnect the battery wait 1-2 hours hook it back up and esc works again pull the throttle and it does it all over again what am i doing wrong i have tried sevaral battery packs and recievers makes no difference
my sevo is new ace 1015 please help thanx.
Didnt I see another thread you started talking about having the same problem with a Novak GTB?
__________________
Pimp Formally Known as OG
PFKAOG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 08:30 AM   #802
Tech Regular
 
Brum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Goldcoast
Posts: 400
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Brum
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by PFKAOG View Post
Didnt I see another thread you started talking about having the same problem with a Novak GTB?
yeh i think i stuffed up the posting.
__________________
Mugen eco 6,Castle Mamba.Kopropo.EX-1.
Shumacher cougar svr..tekin rs pro,redline 8.5t.Kopropo.EX-1
Shumacher K1 tekin rs pro,redline 7.5t, Kopropo,EX-1
member of Logan Offroad LORRCCC inc.
Brum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 08:32 AM   #803
Suspended
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,990
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brum View Post
yeh i think i stuffed up the posting.
Redo a 1 touch setup. If the problem remains then it sounds like a radio/reciever issue because you have the same problem with 2 different ESCs. Do you have the transmitter set to the right reciever type?
__________________
Pimp Formally Known as OG
PFKAOG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 09:03 AM   #804
Tech Master
 
pejota's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Vero Beach, FL
Posts: 1,022
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

That sounds like your voltage cut-off is incorrectly set or not working. According to the instructions, the cut off voltage for a 2S LiFe battery is 4.75v. Any chance your ESC is set to the wrong battery type?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Brum View Post
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hi all still cant work out whats going on with my novak setup.
novak kinetic 2s and novak ballistic 4.5t 550 motor.
I finally got power to my esc again after leaving it unplugged overnight.
when i turn my esc on all the lights come on go through there sequence
and show no errors. i pull the throttle and the motor runs for about 3seconds
then stops and all the lights go out and esc will not switch back on.
i have to diconnect the battery wait 1-2 hours hook it back up and esc works again pull the throttle and it does it all over again what am i doing wrong i have tried sevaral battery packs and recievers makes no difference
my sevo is new ace 1015 please help thanx.
pejota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 09:17 AM   #805
Company Representative
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,891
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brum View Post
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hi all still cant work out whats going on with my novak setup.
novak kinetic 2s and novak ballistic 4.5t 550 motor.
I finally got power to my esc again after leaving it unplugged overnight.
when i turn my esc on all the lights come on go through there sequence
and show no errors. i pull the throttle and the motor runs for about 3seconds
then stops and all the lights go out and esc will not switch back on.
i have to diconnect the battery wait 1-2 hours hook it back up and esc works again pull the throttle and it does it all over again what am i doing wrong i have tried sevaral battery packs and recievers makes no difference
my sevo is new ace 1015 please help thanx.
It would be helpful if you could confine your requests for assistance to one thread. I have suggested that you contact Novak tech support for the assistance you need in solving your problem. I will post this again for your information:

Quote:
Because I am not part of Novak's technical support group, I suggest you email [email protected] with your question, Our regular CS/Tech Support hours can be located here. Before emailing, take a moment to review the instructions (trouble-shooting guide) originally included with your Novak Item:

Novak Instruction Downloads

Trouble-shooting TeamNovak's One Touch™ Speed Controls

Quote:
Please make your initial email as detailed as possible. Include:

~ speed control (brand/model)
~ motor (brand/wind)
~ number/type of cells
~ battery, brand (c rating/capacity
~ rotor (old/new)
~ connectors used
~ servo (brand/model)
~ radio system (receiver/transmitter)
~ vehicle & gearing
~ warranty claim?
~ lipo cut-off, on/off
~ any external modules (BEC/brand, Glitch Buster)
~ other important info: water damage, corrosive chemical sprays, excess heat, etc
The more information you provide in your first email, the more quickly tech support can offer you assistance.
NovakTwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 09:47 AM   #806
Tech Regular
 
Brum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Goldcoast
Posts: 400
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Brum
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by pejota View Post
That sounds like your voltage cut-off is incorrectly set or not working. According to the instructions, the cut off voltage for a 2S LiFe battery is 4.75v. Any chance your ESC is set to the wrong battery type?
running a 2s lipo and i think the default cutoff is 6.2v .
__________________
Mugen eco 6,Castle Mamba.Kopropo.EX-1.
Shumacher cougar svr..tekin rs pro,redline 8.5t.Kopropo.EX-1
Shumacher K1 tekin rs pro,redline 7.5t, Kopropo,EX-1
member of Logan Offroad LORRCCC inc.
Brum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 09:58 AM   #807
Tech Master
 
pejota's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Vero Beach, FL
Posts: 1,022
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Understood, but you can go into the Custom Settings of the ESC and change battery type it recognizes. Have you messed with any of those settings on purpose or by accident?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brum View Post
running a 2s lipo and i think the default cutoff is 6.2v .
pejota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 10:55 AM   #808
Tech Adept
 
michaelpaul74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Port Orhcard, Washington
Posts: 172
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brum View Post
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hi all still cant work out whats going on with my novak setup.
novak kinetic 2s and novak ballistic 4.5t 550 motor.
I finally got power to my esc again after leaving it unplugged overnight.
when i turn my esc on all the lights come on go through there sequence
and show no errors. i pull the throttle and the motor runs for about 3seconds
then stops and all the lights go out and esc will not switch back on.
i have to diconnect the battery wait 1-2 hours hook it back up and esc works again pull the throttle and it does it all over again what am i doing wrong i have tried sevaral battery packs and recievers makes no difference
my sevo is new ace 1015 please help thanx.
I believe there is an internal short. My Kinetic had exactly the same problem. I had raced with it for almost a month with no issues. Then, the last race I ran 2 problem free heats, and in the main my esc just stopped working. Switching it on and off doesn't help. I had to unplug the battery, and plug it back in. Then, when the esc turns on and I try and give it throttle, it just shuts down. I have also tried different batteries, and motors. I sent mine in for warranty repair, so I will find out soon if it is a manufacturing problem.
__________________
Michael Paul Yates
Kyosho RB5 SP2 WC
Bremerton RC Raceway
Tacoma RC Raceway

Last edited by michaelpaul74; 09-10-2010 at 10:57 AM. Reason: grammar
michaelpaul74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 11:44 AM   #809
Tech Champion
 
skypilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9,524
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

it may be something as simple as a bad motor sensor board
__________________
semi retired..
skypilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 12:08 PM   #810
Company Representative
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,891
Default

I always suggest that customers contact Tech Support and include all of the details I have posted above along with a complete explanation of the problem. If the TS guys can determine the problem, we may be able to offer a much quicker solution than returning the items to the factory.

For example, if we can narrow the problem to a bad brain board, rotor or a motor timing assembly, we can send a replacement part immediately. This is one way it comes in handy to have products that can be serviced by the user---especially the Ballistics. But our Kinetic brain board replacements just plug in for a quick repair.
NovakTwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dyno, Homemade, Using a Novak Sentry Data Logger, Continued, The Experimental Thread. John Stranahan Electric On-Road 344 12-30-2016 05:22 PM
Novak Kinetic racer1812 Radio and Electronics 254 02-04-2013 08:52 PM
Novak Sentry as Brushless Dyno mattnin Electric On-Road 132 01-29-2010 05:53 PM
2009 i-hobby show b-man777 Electric On-Road 7 10-22-2009 09:35 AM
Spintec Battery Manager Erik Jonk Electric On-Road 999 03-26-2009 03:07 AM


Tags
brushless, gtb, novak kinetic, onroad, rc cars


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:22 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net