R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-31-2010, 10:15 AM   #676
Tech Master
 
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: I'm All Over The Place
Posts: 1,160
Default

Hey Guys,

First and foremorst, thanks for all the efforts in getting things sorted out. it's a bit confusing and while I can explain how to setup an ESC, walking throught the PC Mumbo Jumbo is not my strong point.

Oh, as far as I know, Novak is the only motor with a Temp Sensor inside.

Thanks
Charlie
__________________
Novak Electronics Tech Support

Last edited by Charlie; 08-31-2010 at 09:43 PM.
Charlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2010, 02:47 PM   #677
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 22
Default

The gm motors have temp sensors inside but it's unlikely that the readings will correllate with the Ballistic range ( if the kinetic does read from them )and be directly comparable, as the placement and type of sensor will make a difference to the reading, I know that the gm esc will take readings from the ballistic motors but not sure about the other way around yet.

Steve
Novak UK Team
Steve UK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2010, 07:36 PM   #678
Tech Champion
 
skypilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9,524
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie View Post
Hey Guys,

First and foremorst, thanks for all the efforts in getting things sorted out. it's a bit confusing and while I can explain how to setup an ESC, walking throught the PC Mumbo Jumbo is not my strong point.

Well Done Sirs! Shoot me an email with the walk through if you can SkyPilot (richie right?)

Oh, as far as I know, Novak is the only motor with a Temp Sensor inside.

Thanks
Charlie
will do
__________________
semi retired..

Last edited by skypilot; 08-31-2010 at 09:45 PM.
skypilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2010, 07:48 PM   #679
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 86
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I agree. This thread has been a lifesaver.

Can you imagine the hassle involved in something like this without the internet?

I had to laugh at myself through all of this. When my first went bad, the thought was, "I cannot spend 200.00 to replace it." I'll use my gtb until my repaired/replacement arrives. So I hook up the gtb using the same gearing.

The truck goes otu and runs at about 1/2 the Kinetic speed.

Then my brain remembered it was labor day, that means an extra day delayed for repair. Then the lightbulb went off. I decided to sell the extra after it was repaired, and tying up 200.00 for a short time felt reasonable.

I knwo there have been some small issues, but this is an amazing controller worth every bit of what I had to pay for it.
rcannon409 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2010, 10:34 PM   #680
Tech Master
 
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: I'm All Over The Place
Posts: 1,160
Default

I Love The Internet.
__________________
Novak Electronics Tech Support
Charlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2010, 03:06 AM   #681
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 217
Default

It is good when like minded people can share their experiences and problems and resolve them with the help of such a responsive company as Novak.

Bring on the time sheets on Sunday.
dvaid852456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2010, 04:37 PM   #682
Tech Master
 
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: I'm All Over The Place
Posts: 1,160
Default

Okay, so I've gotten a little better handle on the whole updating situation.

If you have problems with the update, its related to a connection issue. How the plug goes into the NovaLink. So to resolve this, you can simply leave the NovaLink coonnected the ESC, and plug the USB cable into the NovaLink when the updator asks you to "plug in your ESC".

So far not everyone has had problems, but some have, inconsistent USB stuff from what my None Computer Speaking Self understands.....
__________________
Novak Electronics Tech Support
Charlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2010, 04:50 PM   #683
Tech Regular
 
Dadandsonrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 408
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default Hi

Hi Charlie, Heard you made a move back! Maybe i will be able to get hold of you again. Ummmmmm seems to me you owe me dinner whenever you get back to Chicago or do i owe you dinner oh hell either way. Talk to you soon e-mail me a phone #[email protected] Mark Kaye
Dadandsonrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2010, 07:22 PM   #684
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 86
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Guys, I know you are not the offroad forum, so forgive me for asking this.

Is there a need for different settings for onroad use vs offroad? It sounds like a lot of the issues both face are similar.

If they need to be different, what are some specific things I could try for offroad needs?
rcannon409 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2010, 07:36 PM   #685
Tech Champion
 
skypilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9,524
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

from my past off road experience I would say the only issue would be the proper gear ratio do to the balloning tires of a buggy or truck, using the previous setting posted by ed I would think you would be good to go in buggy or truck, 17.5 or 13.5
__________________
semi retired..
skypilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2010, 07:51 PM   #686
Tech Master
 
xtraman122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Central MA
Posts: 1,251
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

I would definitely never use the boost on offroad, I personally don't run any timing, but if you do I wouldn't go crazy with it like on the carpet or asphalt, it'll probably end up with high temps all around.
xtraman122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2010, 10:17 PM   #687
Tech Initiate
 
99lugnutz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 31
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

after reading 46 pages of posts, i still cant find an answer. last night we programed the esc with windows 7 and it worked 2 of 3 times, on the third update, the esc powered off and now it will not come back on. i plug into th e 3 prong plug, all 5 lights come on for one second, then go off. the esc wont power up, will not connect
, nothin. what now?
99lugnutz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2010, 11:30 PM   #688
Tech Regular
 
tofuburger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 339
Default

same thing happened to me. cant reset or use the onetouch. has steering but no power to motor.
__________________
Larry "Chef LT" Tom
StickIt1Racing.com
HobbyAction.com
tofuburger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2010, 01:13 AM   #689
Tech Elite
 
Raman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 3,307
Trader Rating: 56 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 99lugnutz View Post
after reading 46 pages of posts, i still cant find an answer. last night we programed the esc with windows 7 and it worked 2 of 3 times, on the third update, the esc powered off and now it will not come back on. i plug into th e 3 prong plug, all 5 lights come on for one second, then go off. the esc wont power up, will not connect
, nothin. what now?

WOW, that happened to me last week! John at Novak sent me a replacement brain which I installed. So my guess is the brain unit went bad on yours as well.

Since then, I have had zero luck connecting to Novalink on XP 32 bit laptop.
Raman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2010, 06:57 AM   #690
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 86
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Do you guys think this cable will work on our Kinetics? It might be nice to not have to disconnect the receiver every time a change is needed.

http://www.rcplanet.com/Castle_Creat...secclinkqc.htm
rcannon409 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dyno, Homemade, Using a Novak Sentry Data Logger, Continued, The Experimental Thread. John Stranahan Electric On-Road 344 12-30-2016 05:22 PM
Novak Kinetic racer1812 Radio and Electronics 254 02-04-2013 08:52 PM
Novak Sentry as Brushless Dyno mattnin Electric On-Road 132 01-29-2010 05:53 PM
2009 i-hobby show b-man777 Electric On-Road 7 10-22-2009 09:35 AM
Spintec Battery Manager Erik Jonk Electric On-Road 999 03-26-2009 03:07 AM


Tags
brushless, gtb, novak kinetic, onroad, rc cars


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:42 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net