R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-09-2010, 11:12 AM   #361
Company Representative
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,891
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pmes View Post
Will the Kinetic 2s work with a 1s pack?
Yes. But our upcoming Kinetic 1S is configured specifically for single cell, with a low profile HS, smaller TransCap module, soldered (not plug-in) wires and the rx pack harness installed.
NovakTwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 11:30 AM   #362
Tech Adept
 
ed517's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 151
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gameover View Post
couple of questions regarding Kinetic timing values...

From reading the docs i see:
Boost Delay
Boost Mode
Timing Set Point (RPM Low)
Maximum Timing RPM (RPM Hi)
Timing Level

Questions:
1. Boost Mode says it applies maximum possible motor timing at full throttle (after boost delay). Does this jump to "Timing Level" or is it some other amount of timing?
[B]exactly as stated it alters speedo timing when full throttle is applied. say you set at 45 timing it will apply this amount untill u hit full throttle then it jumps the timing to max. great for long straights.

2. Without using Novalink we can adjust Timing Level & Timing Set Point RPM directly on the speedy. Timing Level #8 is called "Boost". What does this mean?
[B]yes,but only preset levels, level 8 is 55* plus additional amount at full throttle.

3. What is the default setting of Boost Delay, Boost Mode, Maximum Timing RPM when not using Novalink?
using profile 1 boost delay is not adjustable.
(boost mode) i assume you mean timing applied? that is 0*
max timing set point can only be set with novalink. but the default on P1 is 19.5. that is start. so at the default on the speedo you will have 0 timing applied.(sportsman)
Thanks for any reply.

Chris...
hopes this helps chris, these are the values as i understand them.
ed517 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 11:32 AM   #363
Company Representative
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,891
Default Response from Novak Engineering....

Quote:
Originally Posted by gameover View Post
couple of questions regarding Kinetic timing values...

From reading the docs i see:
Boost Delay
Boost Mode
Timing Set Point (RPM Low)
Maximum Timing RPM (RPM Hi)
Timing Level

Questions:
1. Boost Mode says it applies maximum possible motor timing at full throttle (after boost delay). Does this jump to "Timing Level" or is it some other amount of timing?

Boost mode applies the maximum amount of available timing (very close to 60
degrees).


2. Without using Novalink we can adjust Timing Level & Timing Set Point RPM directly on the speedy. Timing Level #8 is called "Boost". What does this mean?

Timing level setting #4
1 0 Timing
2 10 Timing
3 15 Timing
4 20 Timing
5 30 Timing
6 40 Timing
7 55 Timing
8 55 Timing
Once you get to full throttle (and after 100 mS delay) full 60 degree (special Novak Boost mode).

Timing set point adjust #5
Allows the user to set the starting point where the timing is applied
1 19500 RPM and maximum Timing (set by Timing level setting) is applied at 36600
RPM
2 14000 RPM and maximum Timing (set by Timing level setting) is applied at 29300
RPM
3 12700 RPM and maximum Timing (set by Timing level setting) is applied at 18300
RPM
4 9100 RPM and maximum Timing (set by Timing level setting) is applied at 15400
RPM
5 6500 RPM and maximum Timing (set by Timing level setting) is applied at 15400
RPM
6 5500 RPM and maximum Timing (set by Timing level setting) is applied at 13900
RPM
7 4500 RPM and maximum Timing (set by Timing level setting) is applied at 12200
RPM
8 4000 RPM and maximum Timing (set by Timing level setting) is applied at 9100
RPM


3. What is the default setting of Boost Delay, Boost Mode, Maximum Timing RPM when not using Novalink?

100mS
Kinetic ESC timing is applied in a linear ramp up mode, at the starting RPM
approximate 3 degree of timing is applied and then its ramp to the maximum value
specified by Timing level setting #4.


Thanks for any reply.
Chris...
.....
NovakTwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 11:35 AM   #364
Tech Adept
 
ed517's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 151
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gameover View Post
couple of questions regarding Kinetic timing values...

From reading the docs i see:
Boost Delay
Boost Mode
Timing Set Point (RPM Low)
Maximum Timing RPM (RPM Hi)
Timing Level

Questions:
1. Boost Mode says it applies maximum possible motor timing at full throttle (after boost delay). Does this jump to "Timing Level" or is it some other amount of timing?
[B]exactly as stated it alters speedo timing when full throttle is applied. say you set at 45 timing it will apply this amount untill u hit full throttle then it jumps the timing to max. great for long straights.

2. Without using Novalink we can adjust Timing Level & Timing Set Point RPM directly on the speedy. Timing Level #8 is called "Boost". What does this mean?
[B]yes,but only preset levels, level 8 is 55* plus additional amount at full throttle.

3. What is the default setting of Boost Delay, Boost Mode, Maximum Timing RPM when not using Novalink?
using profile 1 boost delay is not adjustable.
(boost mode) i assume you mean timing applied? that is 0*
max timing set point can only be set with novalink. but the default on P1 is 19.5. that is start. so at the default on the speedo you will have 0 timing applied.(sportsman)
Thanks for any reply.

Chris...
hopes this helps chris, these are the values as i understand them.
ed517 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 11:38 AM   #365
Company Representative
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,891
Default

The firmware download file is now fixed. Thanks for the "heads up"!

The Havoc Pro SC is not PC programmable. But all 8 timing levels can be adjusted from the esc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by macdude View Post
So will the novalink work with the havok pro SC?

Also, the downloads on the novak web site are not correct. The first one for the Novalink Software, will not run once un zipped.
And the update for the firmware is just the same file that is in the novalink software zip. The zip file has a different name, but when you unzip it, the file is the escProgrammer.exe file. So you might want to look at this.

Having used windows for a long time, I suspect that you should include the installer file, that way we can actually test the software out before the novalink ships. I see that it is no longer on back order on the novak site. It is everywhere else. So I should be able to get it this week. That's cool.

I can't wait to put this thing through its paces.

Do you have any starting rpm ranges for 17.5

Thanks.
NovakTwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 11:48 AM   #366
Tech Adept
 
ed517's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 151
Default

thanks for the detailed response NovakTwo!!! that blew mine outta the water.
ed517 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 01:13 PM   #367
Company Representative
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,891
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ed517 View Post
thanks for the detailed response NovakTwo!!! that blew mine outta the water.
I have an "in" with the Engineering Dept......
NovakTwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 02:07 PM   #368
Tech Fanatic
 
macdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 925
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NovakTwo View Post
I have an "in" with the Engineering Dept......
That's sweet that you can adjust he RPM range directly on the controller. That definitely puts this above everything else out there right now. Even if it is a little more costly to start with.

Still wondering about the program not running on my windows xp machine. Is there an installer file? or should it just work. Or does it need the novalink plugged in to run?

Thanks
__________________
---------------
KO Eurus / Orca / MMP / XB2 / 22-4 /
macdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 04:16 PM   #369
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 237
Default

NovakTwo, thanks for the excellent response to my questions! I've just one more.

Is there any chance the Boost timing will be configurable lower in a future firmware instead of the fixed 60 deg?

Chris...
gameover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 06:51 PM   #370
Tech Rookie
 
truthspeaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: McAnalLovin', NE
Posts: 16
Default

The Kinetic is awesome. I love all the new adjustments and the timing.
__________________
No playing on the carpet track!
We set up with ride height low at the Plex' 2.0
The road to success is always under construction
truthspeaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2010, 02:10 AM   #371
Tech Fanatic
 
irgo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 893
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by macdude View Post
That's sweet that you can adjust he RPM range directly on the controller. That definitely puts this above everything else out there right now. Even if it is a little more costly to start with.

Still wondering about the program not running on my windows xp machine. Is there an installer file? or should it just work. Or does it need the novalink plugged in to run?

Thanks
right the software requires novaLink to connect
then the software will detect it, and splash the setting screen.

you must buy the novalink...
__________________
Quark Force
irgo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2010, 02:15 AM   #372
Tech Fanatic
 
irgo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 893
Default Novak Kintetic 2S AMP

Quote:
Originally Posted by NovakTwo View Post
I have an "in" with the Engineering Dept......
NovakTwo what's the average AMP and the Max AMP for
the Novak Kinetic 2S ?
__________________
Quark Force
irgo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2010, 07:38 AM   #373
Tech Fanatic
 
macdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 925
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by irgo View Post
right the software requires novaLink to connect
then the software will detect it, and splash the setting screen.

you must buy the novalink...
I can get the program to run now without the drivers for the novalink. I just get a bunch of error screens before it will launch. I have a novalink coming. The controller should be here tomorrow. But the link won't be here until later in the week.

I like how there is a description built into the interface. Every parameter is described very well. I also like the default timing ranges for different motors. That makes it easy to figure a good starting point.

Only thing I would like to see is maybe a better boost control. Right now it looks like there is only on or off. And then it just adds the max timing to the controller. I will have to see how this works at the track. I know I don't use the turbo ever on the tekin as the indoor track I race on is not big enough.
__________________
---------------
KO Eurus / Orca / MMP / XB2 / 22-4 /
macdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2010, 07:39 AM   #374
Tech Fanatic
 
macdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 925
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NovakTwo View Post
The firmware download file is now fixed. Thanks for the "heads up"!

The Havoc Pro SC is not PC programmable. But all 8 timing levels can be adjusted from the esc.
Great to see that both files are fixed.

Thanks.
__________________
---------------
KO Eurus / Orca / MMP / XB2 / 22-4 /
macdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2010, 08:37 AM   #375
Tech Regular
 
scoyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 465
Default

Has anyone started to post settings setups for different motors - I am looking for a good starting point for 10.5 that is close to my outgoing GM120?

Stephen
scoyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dyno, Homemade, Using a Novak Sentry Data Logger, Continued, The Experimental Thread. John Stranahan Electric On-Road 344 12-30-2016 05:22 PM
Novak Kinetic racer1812 Radio and Electronics 254 02-04-2013 08:52 PM
Novak Sentry as Brushless Dyno mattnin Electric On-Road 132 01-29-2010 05:53 PM
2009 i-hobby show b-man777 Electric On-Road 7 10-22-2009 09:35 AM
Spintec Battery Manager Erik Jonk Electric On-Road 999 03-26-2009 03:07 AM


Tags
brushless, gtb, novak kinetic, onroad, rc cars


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:48 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net