R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-13-2012, 01:00 PM   #2026
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 972
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

If you mean a one-touch setup, I did that many times. Spent the whole evening trying to get this to work. It seems to get hosed as soon as I open the custom ramp window, even if I don't modify any values from the default ramp.
Steve S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 03:26 PM   #2027
Tech Elite
 
Johnny Wishbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,419
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve S View Post
If you mean a one-touch setup, I did that many times. Spent the whole evening trying to get this to work. It seems to get hosed as soon as I open the custom ramp window, even if I don't modify any values from the default ramp.

Without the NovaLink hooked up are you able to make the changes and have them stay in the window? I'll try it on my K1S/rxr pack speed control when I get home and let you know.
__________________
Gary Lanzer
Johnny Wishbone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 03:39 PM   #2028
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 972
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Yes, that's no problem, it just doesn't seem to apply the timing to the motor. I also noticed some weirdness in the config files when I save the setup:

Code:
<startRPM>2000</startRPM>
<endRPM>4500</endRPM>
<appliedTiming>45</appliedTiming>
<boostRate>100</boostRate>
<turboMode>1</turboMode>
<RPM1>37500</RPM1>
<RPM2>28571</RPM2>
<RPM3>25531</RPM3>
<RPM4>23076</RPM4>
<RPM5>21052</RPM5>
<RPM6>19354</RPM6>
<RPM7>17910</RPM7>
<RPM8>16666</RPM8>
<timing1>5</timing1>
<timing2>11</timing2>
<timing3>16</timing3>
<timing4>22</timing4>
<timing5>28</timing5>
<timing6>33</timing6>
<timing7>39</timing7>
<timing8>45</timing8>
<customTiming>1</customTiming>
The timing values look way wrong, and ramp the wrong direction. I produced this with the following steps (ESC never connected):
1. Open Novalink
2. Create new profile
3. Go to Advanced tab
4. Set timing level to 45 degrees
5. Click Timing Ramp Up
6. Click OK
7. Save current profile

Maybe those RPM numbers are by design, and are some strange representation of the correct RPM values. Or maybe it's related to my problem. If you have a working custom ramp, could you save it and see what the file looks like? Thanks.
Steve S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 10:32 PM   #2029
Tech Elite
 
Johnny Wishbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,419
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve S View Post
Yes, that's no problem, it just doesn't seem to apply the timing to the motor. I also noticed some weirdness in the config files when I save the setup:

Code:
<startRPM>2000</startRPM>
<endRPM>4500</endRPM>
<appliedTiming>45</appliedTiming>
<boostRate>100</boostRate>
<turboMode>1</turboMode>
<RPM1>37500</RPM1>
<RPM2>28571</RPM2>
<RPM3>25531</RPM3>
<RPM4>23076</RPM4>
<RPM5>21052</RPM5>
<RPM6>19354</RPM6>
<RPM7>17910</RPM7>
<RPM8>16666</RPM8>
<timing1>5</timing1>
<timing2>11</timing2>
<timing3>16</timing3>
<timing4>22</timing4>
<timing5>28</timing5>
<timing6>33</timing6>
<timing7>39</timing7>
<timing8>45</timing8>
<customTiming>1</customTiming>
The timing values look way wrong, and ramp the wrong direction. I produced this with the following steps (ESC never connected):
1. Open Novalink
2. Create new profile
3. Go to Advanced tab
4. Set timing level to 45 degrees
5. Click Timing Ramp Up
6. Click OK
7. Save current profile

Maybe those RPM numbers are by design, and are some strange representation of the correct RPM values. Or maybe it's related to my problem. If you have a working custom ramp, could you save it and see what the file looks like? Thanks.
Ok I checked my K1S with rxr pack, then I changed the timing ramp rpms and timing amounts and it did not change the timing to 0, and the ramps and timing changes where kept in the profile. I then tried everything out, ran it, then went back into the speed control and did a reset of the timing ramp, back to the default settings, again the settings applied and did not effect the final timing to 0, the 55 degrees I had remains there.

I also did the save profile and and then looked at the numbers print out and my rpm numbers are the same as yours with high to low, and the timing the same as well.

The only time that the top end felt soft was when I turned the boost off so it did not get that final rpm snap.

Not sure why yours defaults to 0, i did the ramp changes both ways, with straight number inputs and using the up and down arrows and it always seemed to work.

Not much help here, but if you want me to check something else let me know.
__________________
Gary Lanzer
Johnny Wishbone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 11:27 PM   #2030
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 972
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Very strange. Everything seems to be working in the interface, but the motor is obviously just not being given any timing.

Oh well, I'll see what Charlie says. Thanks for checking it out!
Steve S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 10:37 PM   #2031
Tech Regular
 
dirtman71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 307
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

looking for a good starting point for the Kinetic
got a slash 2wd with a balistic 17.5
76t spur
23t pinion
8.9 FDR
Min drive 6
timming set point 4000
max timming 5000
timming 40*
boost on
current limit 1

Ran it for a few min on the street and nothing got hot motor was 120 esc was 92. Not sure how it will do on the track. Been looking for other's set ups but havent found any. Dont have a fast track more technical but do need top end, getting killed on the straight
This setting has more than enough top end I think. know nothing of setting this up right...give me some pointers thanks
__________________
Kyosho SC-R, RC8Be, Jammin X1CRe, Jammin SCRT10, RC10GT2, T4.1
Slash 2wd ChuckWorks slice B2, E-maxx, RC10T3, Tamiya M-05, TA-05
dirtman71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 02:59 AM   #2032
Tech Elite
 
nerdling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Canberra
Posts: 2,849
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Hi Guys,

looking for some guidance with the Kinetic.

Running a 21.5 powered Touring car in a tight in carpet track with foam tyres.

Current setup:

rollout = 39mm
Timing start 2000 end at 10000
timing = 20
boost delay = 500ms
Motor is a reedy sonic with maximum can timimg.

Here's the problem, with the boost disabled the car is ssllooww..... with the boost enabled its compettive in a straight time but the throttle curve sucks, the boost was comming on at all the wrong times, the other problem is it came off at 139deg C (really hot!!)

The other thing I noticed was that I could not change the timing value off 20, that gives?

Please help...
__________________
--XRAY--NOSRAM--PROTOFORM--MUCHMORE--
www.teamxray.com -- www.hudy.net -- www.hobbyexpress.com.au
nerdling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 05:51 AM   #2033
Tech Master
 
Essnowyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Somewhere Strange Wisconsin!
Posts: 1,662
Send a message via AIM to Essnowyt
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nerdling View Post
Hi Guys,

looking for some guidance with the Kinetic.

Running a 21.5 powered Touring car in a tight in carpet track with foam tyres.

Current setup:

rollout = 39mm
Timing start 2000 end at 10000
timing = 20
boost delay = 500ms
Motor is a reedy sonic with maximum can timimg.

Here's the problem, with the boost disabled the car is ssllooww..... with the boost enabled its compettive in a straight time but the throttle curve sucks, the boost was comming on at all the wrong times, the other problem is it came off at 139deg C (really hot!!)

The other thing I noticed was that I could not change the timing value off 20, that gives?

Please help...
When I ran boosted 17.5 I also coupled the kinetic with a Novak Sentry. The data logging told me that my infield RPMs were still at 6000. So I'm thinking part of your problem is the timing starting way to early.

My set up for boosted rubber 17.5
6500 start
18000 end
50 degrees of advance
motor timing of 30-35
5.6 ratio

I hope that helps.

Snowy.
__________________
Team XRay, RCAmerica, Motiv, Gravity RC, Schacht Design Works.

Drive it, Dont slide it!
Essnowyt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 05:36 PM   #2034
Tech Elite
 
nerdling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Canberra
Posts: 2,849
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Essnowyt View Post
When I ran boosted 17.5 I also coupled the kinetic with a Novak Sentry. The data logging told me that my infield RPMs were still at 6000. So I'm thinking part of your problem is the timing starting way to early.

My set up for boosted rubber 17.5
6500 start
18000 end
50 degrees of advance
motor timing of 30-35
5.6 ratio

I hope that helps.

Snowy.
Thanks Snowy. I guess the main problem I have is that I can't change the ESC of 20deg of boost. Im can change the number in the field but when I hit update it reverts to 20.
__________________
--XRAY--NOSRAM--PROTOFORM--MUCHMORE--
www.teamxray.com -- www.hudy.net -- www.hobbyexpress.com.au
nerdling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2012, 01:47 AM   #2035
Tech Addict
 
Skitee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 745
Default

The software has a quirk or two,if I remember correctly you need to press enter/return after you've entered the value and then hit update.
__________________
Xray T4 2018 ~ HobbyWing Xerun XR10 Pro ~ Motiv RC 4.5
Xray X12 2018 ~ ORCA Vritra VX3 1S ~ Speedzone 4.5

POWERED BY SPEEDZONE USA
Skitee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 01:45 AM   #2036
Tech Elite
 
nerdling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Canberra
Posts: 2,849
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skitee View Post
The software has a quirk or two,if I remember correctly you need to press enter/return after you've entered the value and then hit update.
... I'll check that out
__________________
--XRAY--NOSRAM--PROTOFORM--MUCHMORE--
www.teamxray.com -- www.hudy.net -- www.hobbyexpress.com.au
nerdling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 03:56 AM   #2037
Tech Elite
 
nerdling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Canberra
Posts: 2,849
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skitee View Post
The software has a quirk or two,if I remember correctly you need to press enter/return after you've entered the value and then hit update.
That worked. Thankyou.
__________________
--XRAY--NOSRAM--PROTOFORM--MUCHMORE--
www.teamxray.com -- www.hudy.net -- www.hobbyexpress.com.au
nerdling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 05:37 AM   #2038
Tech Addict
 
Skitee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 745
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nerdling View Post
That worked. Thankyou.
__________________
Xray T4 2018 ~ HobbyWing Xerun XR10 Pro ~ Motiv RC 4.5
Xray X12 2018 ~ ORCA Vritra VX3 1S ~ Speedzone 4.5

POWERED BY SPEEDZONE USA
Skitee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 04:33 PM   #2039
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Fergus Falls, MN
Posts: 120
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default Novalink Profiles

I am running a Novak Kinetic ESC with Novak Ballistic 8.5 brushless motor in my B4.1, anyone know any good Novalink profiles or have any they are willing to share?
ssimonson764 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 10:09 PM   #2040
Tech Regular
 
redbeard87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Duluth, GA
Posts: 368
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

I recently purchased a used Kinetic and Novalink, got all the software installed and it won't read the esc. I've tried on 3 computers and checked all the wiring to make sure it's correct. The green light comes on on the link but it says "ESC Diconnected". I would really appreciate some guidance on this. Also, the esc functions normally, I'm only having trouble with the programming.
redbeard87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dyno, Homemade, Using a Novak Sentry Data Logger, Continued, The Experimental Thread. John Stranahan Electric On-Road 344 12-30-2016 05:22 PM
Novak Kinetic racer1812 Radio and Electronics 254 02-04-2013 08:52 PM
Novak Sentry as Brushless Dyno mattnin Electric On-Road 132 01-29-2010 05:53 PM
2009 i-hobby show b-man777 Electric On-Road 7 10-22-2009 09:35 AM
Spintec Battery Manager Erik Jonk Electric On-Road 999 03-26-2009 03:07 AM


Tags
brushless, gtb, novak kinetic, onroad, rc cars


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:19 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net