R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-02-2011, 10:08 PM   #1906
Suspended
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,990
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by touringdriver View Post
i've been racing the tekin rs pro systems for the last 3 years but maybe looking to moving back to novaks, looking for some honest opinions about the novak kinetic systems compared to the tekin rs pro systems.
Novak is better. I sold all my tekin stuff to buy more Novak stuff after trying a Kinetic one night...
__________________
Pimp Formally Known as OG
PFKAOG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2011, 07:50 AM   #1907
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 215
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by touringdriver View Post
i've been racing the tekin rs pro systems for the last 3 years but maybe looking to moving back to novaks, looking for some honest opinions about the novak kinetic systems compared to the tekin rs pro systems.
The kinetic is amazing. Now I finally have it dialed I'm coming off cooler and I'm faster down the straight than a top driver using a tekin.

Just need to be able to drive like him now

The PC interface is so easy to change settings and read back Motor and ESC temps after each run too.
dvaid852456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2011, 03:52 AM   #1908
Tech Master
 
jelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: here
Posts: 1,007
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

anyone got novalink to work with 64 bit win 7?

i get unhandled exception when i try to start the firmware updater.
jelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2011, 09:00 AM   #1909
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 649
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jelly View Post
anyone got novalink to work with 64 bit win 7?

i get unhandled exception when i try to start the firmware updater.
I got it to work. Very first thing to try is updating the .net framework from Microsoft's site. I've seen posts on here that some have issues and others don't.

If you still have problems email tech support at Novak. They're really helpful when it comes to install issues.
Fred_B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2011, 02:04 PM   #1910
Tech Adept
 
justchris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Gosport England
Posts: 145
Default Kinetic novice!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hi everyone
Please can you help with a set up i've been reading posts
but at present i'm getting more confused. Im a novice at the programming side and im wondering if someone could give me a base set-up.

The track - quite technical with 120ft straight.

The car - TC6; 17.5 Novak ballistic motor

Novak kinetic ESC

Any help at all would be much appreciated.

Many thanks for reading this.
__________________
TC6 Savox ] TC6.1 Sanwa ]
XL 5.9 Optifuel] M11X 2.4G ] 6000 IP lipo
justchris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2011, 05:23 PM   #1911
Tech Master
 
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: I'm All Over The Place
Posts: 1,160
Default

[email protected] Thanks!
__________________
Novak Electronics Tech Support
Charlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2011, 02:05 AM   #1912
Tech Master
 
mikecatts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,274
Trader Rating: 18 (95%+)
Default ballistic motor timing

Hi all....
General question if anyone could help..
Ive changed a stator from 17.5 to 21.5...
When reading the Novak "ballistic motor timing information update page..
It states

"Novak’s Ballistic motors come with pre‐calibrated timing that is set from the factory. Using custom‐built and calibrated electronic equipment, each motor is set to 30 degrees of timing. This timing is 100 percent electrical and not based on an arbitrary reference pre‐built into the motor. After calibration, the timing label is added, which corresponds to the set timing N on the side of the motor."

So am I to assume that when changing a stator, the timing mark changes as well?
Why I ask is that my motor was slow, no power, no punch..Read that u can over time a Ballistic,,so i put a 3.7 volt pack in...undone the timing screws and reved the motor while turning the timing bel..Strange Because when i went + timing it slowed heaps down..When went - timing reved right up..Held at full revs and redone screws..Put back on track..and off we go, a LOT better
Ended up at -45deg and say 2.5 marks again so say -60deg???????
I did this to another persons Ballistic 17.5 to 21.5...his timing ended about the same????


My question is..how do you find the "correct" 30 deg timming when changing stators?

Am i right to assume i found the "correct" timing mark or am I wrong...Just thinking to the pre-brushless days....
Its in VTA blinky mode...so no dumping issues
Mike
mikecatts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2011, 02:24 AM   #1913
Suspended
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 6,240
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

It sounds like something was installed in reverse !
bertrandsv87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2011, 02:28 PM   #1914
Tech Master
 
mikecatts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,274
Trader Rating: 18 (95%+)
Default ????

Quote:
Originally Posted by bertrandsv87 View Post
It sounds like something was installed in reverse !
If this is referance to my post..I dont understand?????? U cannot install reverse?????
mikecatts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2011, 05:33 PM   #1915
Suspended
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 6,240
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I am talking about the manufacturer of either the motor or esc parts, not you ! Chances are you will have to test that motor thouroughly, including the new parts that you added to it ! Make sure you have another good Novak motor next to it when comparing stators, sensor board etc....
bertrandsv87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2011, 07:46 PM   #1916
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 6
Default

So I've run about 4 battery charges through my novak kinetic 2s and it worked fine, or so it seemed. Well today after I turned it on, as soon as I pressed the accelerator the cap started smoking and caught fire. Well I checked their website and saw that some of the caps were installed reverse polarity. From the info they provided, I can see that mine was one of the incorrectly installed caps. I just sent an email to costumer service and was wandering if anyone has had his experience. As long as they will repair it free of charge it isn't a big deal.
pensfan2987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2011, 07:57 PM   #1917
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Fresno CA
Posts: 218
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

They will
dex410usa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2011, 08:30 PM   #1918
Suspended
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,990
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pensfan2987 View Post
So I've run about 4 battery charges through my novak kinetic 2s and it worked fine, or so it seemed. Well today after I turned it on, as soon as I pressed the accelerator the cap started smoking and caught fire. Well I checked their website and saw that some of the caps were installed reverse polarity. From the info they provided, I can see that mine was one of tthe incorrectly installed caps. I just sent an email to costumer service and was wandering if anyone has had his experience. As long as they will repair it free of charge it isn't a big deal.
They'll send a replacement without any problems
__________________
Pimp Formally Known as OG
PFKAOG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 02:22 AM   #1919
Tech Adept
 
MiCk B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Ireland
Posts: 162
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

+3

Novak customer service are great!!

MiCk B. :-)
__________________
http://www.dublinmodelracing.com

http://www.p-dubracing.co.uk

http://www.msdmodels.ie
MiCk B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 05:22 PM   #1920
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 6
Default

I just found it strange that it would work for a while then seemingly out of the blue, fail. What confuses me is that when it did fail, the motor didn't turn. It had previously worked or seemed to work fine the previous times I ran it. I turned on the ESC and it the fan started up and everything seemed to start up normal, servo was working. When I pressed the accelerator, the cap started to smoke, but the motor didn't even start to turn. I understand why the cap failed, just wandering why the motor didn't even try to turn when it did fail. I guess the ESC could have a "safety switch" built into it or something of the sort. Oh well, I'll see what they say hopefully tomorrow.
pensfan2987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dyno, Homemade, Using a Novak Sentry Data Logger, Continued, The Experimental Thread. John Stranahan Electric On-Road 344 12-30-2016 05:22 PM
Novak Kinetic racer1812 Radio and Electronics 254 02-04-2013 08:52 PM
Novak Sentry as Brushless Dyno mattnin Electric On-Road 132 01-29-2010 05:53 PM
2009 i-hobby show b-man777 Electric On-Road 7 10-22-2009 09:35 AM
Spintec Battery Manager Erik Jonk Electric On-Road 999 03-26-2009 03:07 AM


Tags
brushless, gtb, novak kinetic, onroad, rc cars


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:42 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net