R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-29-2011, 11:36 AM   #1696
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 215
Default

Yet again, great response. Fingers crossed this is the last time I need to contact you guys.
dvaid852456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2011, 06:01 AM   #1697
Tech Rookie
 
Luca Giacovazzi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Bedfordview, Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 2
Default

Hi Guys,

I'm a new rc fan and a student. I recently spent my savings on the new Novak Kinetic 2S. I heard such great things about the esc that I thought it would be a great investment, not to mention: Novak's well documented customer service.

Unfortunately I have had nothing but trouble with the esc. I have yet to get it running, nor connect to my novalink. I am unable to perform the one touch set up (I have replaced and tried a number of different cables to my receiver and I was able to link other esc with the same receiver).

When I connect to novalink, the software would not allow me to connect. After reading the forum I followed the firmware update instructions posted by other members incase this was the issue. The firmware updater never quite gets going, it instructs me to "Please connect my speed control". Which I do and nothing happens. The esc just switches on, goes through its light sequence and settles on the red and green light.

I have followed all instructions such as:
Using the device updater
Ulpluging the fan
Running as administrator
Ensure the rdd file is in the right place
I have used previous versions of Novalink
I have used a number of computer with different OS

I feel really concerned as I can not get the esc to function. I have contacted Charlie (Who has responded swiftly and provided advice). The esc really cost me alot of money (A significant amount for a student without a regular income) I have already missed a national event and feel really fustrated with the product. Another issue I have is that I have to send it to Novak which will cause another hefty delay. Plus I don't know whether I'm going to have to spend more money to fix the device. I feel extremely disheartened as I have put all my effort into it;(

Sorry Novak but as a young boy just entering into this awesome support I have had nothing but headaches and disappointment!

If anyone can please help me please let me know...
Luca Giacovazzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2011, 08:43 AM   #1698
Tech Adept
 
sidewaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 131
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Luca Giacovazzi View Post
Hi Guys,

I'm a new rc fan and a student. I recently spent my savings on the new Novak Kinetic 2S. I heard such great things about the esc that I thought it would be a great investment, not to mention: Novak's well documented customer service.

Unfortunately I have had nothing but trouble with the esc. I have yet to get it running, nor connect to my novalink. I am unable to perform the one touch set up (I have replaced and tried a number of different cables to my receiver and I was able to link other esc with the same receiver).

When I connect to novalink, the software would not allow me to connect. After reading the forum I followed the firmware update instructions posted by other members incase this was the issue. The firmware updater never quite gets going, it instructs me to "Please connect my speed control". Which I do and nothing happens. The esc just switches on, goes through its light sequence and settles on the red and green light.

I have followed all instructions such as:
Using the device updater
Ulpluging the fan
Running as administrator
Ensure the rdd file is in the right place
I have used previous versions of Novalink
I have used a number of computer with different OS

I feel really concerned as I can not get the esc to function. I have contacted Charlie (Who has responded swiftly and provided advice). The esc really cost me alot of money (A significant amount for a student without a regular income) I have already missed a national event and feel really fustrated with the product. Another issue I have is that I have to send it to Novak which will cause another hefty delay. Plus I don't know whether I'm going to have to spend more money to fix the device. I feel extremely disheartened as I have put all my effort into it;(

Sorry Novak but as a young boy just entering into this awesome support I have had nothing but headaches and disappointment!

If anyone can please help me please let me know...
Well I'd start by trying another usb port. I would try and install on a virgin pc if you can. Install all software from current one and start fresh. What firmware is your kinetic.
__________________
Team Novak [email protected] | Pinnacle Freight Specialists www.pinnaclefreight.ca
Trick Parts Trick-Parts.com Stainless Steel screw kits lifetime warranty
Xray T3'11 Havoc Pro SC/17.5 Ballistic| Xray T2'008 Havoc Pro SC/21.5 Balistic CVTA
WGT CRC Gen-X 10LE Havoc Pro SC/17.5 Ballistic| CRC GenX Havoc Pro SC/17.5 Ballistic
Action Hobbies Kingsville | Lou's Speedway Dorchester www.lousspeedway.com
sidewaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2011, 09:34 AM   #1699
Tech Champion
 
skypilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9,524
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

After all that it may be as simple as making sure when plugging the esc into the novalink you make sure the signal wire makes contact first. (White wire) and make sure you plugging it in with the correct polarity.


On a side note. Don't worry about missing the nationals. your brand new to the hobby and not ready for all that anyway.
__________________
semi retired..
skypilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2011, 10:58 AM   #1700
Tech Master
 
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: I'm All Over The Place
Posts: 1,160
Default

Thanks for emailing us as well as posting here.
__________________
Novak Electronics Tech Support
Charlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2011, 02:44 PM   #1701
Tech Elite
 
Johnny Wishbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,419
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Luca, did you try the connection tester?

Also how old is the speed control? This could be a brain board issue if its one of the first speed controls out there.

Not that current version speed controls need this, but if you have a older one, did you wire in the on/off switch into the wiring harness? This works far better than plugging/un-plugging the rx wire, and also some times is enough to boot start the sc talking to the novalink.

You have to make sure that the Novalink is running the same version software as the speed control, otherwise they won't talk to each other, and they are not backwards compatible. So if your running split software it won't communicate.

The connection tester is really the key to figuring out where the issue is. If it doesn't see your novalink first off, you have wrong port configured or bad cord or bad Novalink. Just follow thru with the requests and see where you end up. The final step will tell you what version of software is on the speed control and that could be the next clue to whats wrong.

Good luck and let us know if you get it working.
__________________
Gary Lanzer
Johnny Wishbone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 12:32 AM   #1702
Tech Rookie
 
Luca Giacovazzi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Bedfordview, Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 2
Default

Hi Guys,

Thanks for all your responses. I must really commend Novak on their excellent customer relationships and the support of their community of drivers.

Basically I decided to approach some of the more experienced guys at the Novak agency in South Africa. Another issue I was having was that I was unable to perform a one touch setup nor connect to Novalink.

We tried using the switch on the cord (Which they had already made) and connecting to Novalink in case all the issues were a result of firmware. We still had no luck. We tried connecting using a functioning Novalink and still had no luck.

Ultimately we decided to send the esc to Novak so they can try diagnose the problem. I think this was the best option rather than fiddling too much.

I can report however that my dad bought me another Novak Kinetic. I performed the One-Touch and connected without any issues. It sounds awesome and I CANT WAIT to run it. When I get the other one back I will run it in a second class.

Again a special thank you to Charlie for trying to help me and responding extremely swiftly and to everyone for your help.
Luca Giacovazzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2011, 10:36 PM   #1703
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: OKC area
Posts: 162
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Kinetic 2S:Ruining most recent firmware and data corruption prevention switch

1. Does anybody else have to flip the power switch multiple times to get the LED's to come on? What usually happens is that I flip the switch and the esc will power the fan and servo but no esc lights. I've tried several different power switches (all Novak units) but the problem persists. It can take 10 - 15
attempts before it'll work.

Novaklink

1. Does your Novalink software crash when you try to adjust the timing curve?
2. Can you set timing advance to anything less than 15%? Nor will the software let me turn the boost on unless timing is set to 15%.

Ballistic 550 9.5

1. What is this motors RPM range? I know it's rated as a 2250KV motor but if I'm trying to set RPM trip points for this motor it helps to know the range and I'm not sure the default (from the drop down) 10.5 2S setting is close enough.

Speaking of which anybody have a profile or settings for one that would help eliminate wheel spin on a track with lose dirt / low traction but still provide for some decent speed/punch for getting over some jumps without the rear end wanting to step out? Yes I know...throttle control...tires...suspension setup and last but not least loosen the slipper. Got all of that set as good as it's going to get but I'm trying to hit the power sweet spot.
Redbeard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2011, 12:41 PM   #1704
Tech Elite
 
Johnny Wishbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,419
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redbeard View Post
Kinetic 2S:Ruining most recent firmware and data corruption prevention switch

1. Does anybody else have to flip the power switch multiple times to get the LED's to come on? What usually happens is that I flip the switch and the esc will power the fan and servo but no esc lights. I've tried several different power switches (all Novak units) but the problem persists. It can take 10 - 15
attempts before it'll work.

Novaklink

1. Does your Novalink software crash when you try to adjust the timing curve?
2. Can you set timing advance to anything less than 15%? Nor will the software let me turn the boost on unless timing is set to 15%.

Ballistic 550 9.5

1. What is this motors RPM range? I know it's rated as a 2250KV motor but if I'm trying to set RPM trip points for this motor it helps to know the range and I'm not sure the default (from the drop down) 10.5 2S setting is close enough.

Speaking of which anybody have a profile or settings for one that would help eliminate wheel spin on a track with lose dirt / low traction but still provide for some decent speed/punch for getting over some jumps without the rear end wanting to step out? Yes I know...throttle control...tires...suspension setup and last but not least loosen the slipper. Got all of that set as good as it's going to get but I'm trying to hit the power sweet spot.
Lots of questions.
1 - no
NL
1 - no
2 - minimum setting of 20* required to enable timing curve.
Ballistic
1 - Don't know but drop down is going to be close.
2 - Try to adjust current limit, or throttle curve and freq.
__________________
Gary Lanzer
Johnny Wishbone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 12:01 AM   #1705
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Fresno CA
Posts: 218
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Just wanted to say thank you to Brandon Clements and Ed for all the help with my new Kinetic!! Speedo worked awesome in mod. Never knew mod motors can be boosted!!!! Thank you Novak
dex410usa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 05:57 PM   #1706
Tech Elite
 
BlackedOutREVO's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: CA
Posts: 3,791
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dex410usa View Post
Just wanted to say thank you to Brandon Clements and Ed for all the help with my new Kinetic!! Speedo worked awesome in mod. Never knew mod motors can be boosted!!!! Thank you Novak
No problem
__________________
R1 Wurks/Awesomatix USA/Roche USA/Protoform/Solaris/Mo Speed/Speedworld Raceway
BlackedOutREVO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2011, 01:35 PM   #1707
Tech Adept
 
MiCk B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Ireland
Posts: 162
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redbeard View Post
Kinetic 2S:Ruining most recent firmware and data corruption prevention switch

1. Does anybody else have to flip the power switch multiple times to get the LED's to come on? What usually happens is that I flip the switch and the esc will power the fan and servo but no esc lights. I've tried several different power switches (all Novak units) but the problem persists. It can take 10 - 15
attempts before it'll work.
.
Yep.

I've that issue with mine. Some time it will switch on just fine other times, have to switch it on and off before the motor works.

I think that it's to do with the receiver that I'm running.
I've yet to try an alternative receiver.

MiCk B. :-)
__________________
http://www.dublinmodelracing.com

http://www.p-dubracing.co.uk

http://www.msdmodels.ie
MiCk B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2011, 08:24 PM   #1708
Tech Apprentice
 
cyljock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: southern indiana
Posts: 55
Default timing set points/max timing rpm and throttle profiles

Does anyone have problems with adjusting and saving these values? For example,if I enter 4000 start and 17500 end,and update esc with these values,they reset to 4200/18002. wtf? Also when I try to save a custom throttle profile and then go back to retrieve it , it's back to a default profile???? I'm running the novalink software as Administrator. any ideas??
cyljock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2011, 09:10 PM   #1709
Tech Master
 
Scott B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: NOR-CAL
Posts: 1,248
Trader Rating: 43 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dex410usa View Post
Just wanted to say thank you to Brandon Clements and Ed for all the help with my new Kinetic!! Speedo worked awesome in mod. Never knew mod motors can be boosted!!!! Thank you Novak
Kiss a$$!!!!
__________________
Mugen Racing USA, Sweep Racing Tires, R1 Wurks, Protoform, Speedworld Raceway...

"On-road is racing.. off-road is 50% competitive jumping and 50% crash avoidance"...
Scott B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2011, 10:59 PM   #1710
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Fresno CA
Posts: 218
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

lol dont hate you got help from both and almost finished 2nd until you failed
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott B View Post
Kiss a$$!!!!
dex410usa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dyno, Homemade, Using a Novak Sentry Data Logger, Continued, The Experimental Thread. John Stranahan Electric On-Road 344 12-30-2016 05:22 PM
Novak Kinetic racer1812 Radio and Electronics 254 02-04-2013 08:52 PM
Novak Sentry as Brushless Dyno mattnin Electric On-Road 132 01-29-2010 05:53 PM
2009 i-hobby show b-man777 Electric On-Road 7 10-22-2009 09:35 AM
Spintec Battery Manager Erik Jonk Electric On-Road 999 03-26-2009 03:07 AM


Tags
brushless, gtb, novak kinetic, onroad, rc cars


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:21 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net