R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-25-2011, 02:43 PM   #1681
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1
Default hoping to get a reply from Charlie

Hi Charlie, I've emailed you about my 2 kinetics getting really hot on v1.4 but runs ok on v1.3, could you email me back and let me know how we can fix the problem.

Thanks Andy.
andy110m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 03:26 PM   #1682
Suspended
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,990
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by macdude View Post
RPM values are stuck again I don't know if the link is the issue or what, but everything worked on tuesday. Then last night at the track was making some fine tuning adjustments and the rpm range would not take the new values. I tried all the tricks hitting return after each value, tabbing to the next box... still nothing. All the other values would change but not the RPM range. Which means it will only be a short time till the timing range refused to work too.

To say I am disappointed really is an understatement. Novak support has been great, but the quality of this ESC is just lacking. I have just about every brand of ESC out and none have had this many issues. I have tried to be patient and understanding as they work the bugs out.... but this is pushing 9 months and the word on the track is to stay away from the Orange nightmare! I like the fact that these are designed and built in the US. And that really weighs on my decisions. So I just recommend the Havok pro SC if someone id asking about Novak. I have seen the least amount of issues with these and you get about 90% of the functionality.
The fact is the kinetic has not been reliable. If I take it to a big race I want to know I can be reasonably certain that all its functions will work everytime I hook it up to the PC. Right now I can't.
Look for my post a few pages back about what worked to fix it for me and try it following each step.
__________________
Pimp Formally Known as OG
PFKAOG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 03:36 PM   #1683
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 72
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by escman View Post
30-45 degree is the timing on the motor.

Do not add the motor timing and the electrical timing, our software takes care of all that stuff.
When you select 55 degree of timing on the esc firmware in the esc accounts for the motor timing and applies the required electrical timing.
Static Timing on the motor and the electrical timing applied by the esc are the same.

25 degree on the motor and 35 in the esc is pretty normal, we a a few oval driver that use about 20 degree on the motor and 38-40 degree in the esc and they are doing very well with that setup.
The most important thing to remember is the motor temperature at the end of the run, it should be around 140-150 and once you stop it will go up as you no longer have any cooling air.
Adnan
Thanks Adnan, that was the answer I needed. Makes perfect sence now. I too would like to see an advance curve graph like the throttle and brake. I made an excel graph to better see the curve. The motor temp info was good also. The after run temp rise is mearly the higher internal temp bleeding off.

A 2000 start rpm seems pretty low if you are pulling the motor back to 15-20. What's the point if you are adding it right back in. I have been running over 17000 on the top end. As a percentage of the total rpm range, 2000 seems almost immediate. If pulling the timing back adds torque, wouldn't you want a start rpm just before the torque curve flattens out? You could set a high start rpm to a point where you feel the car lay down a bit and feel the dynamic kick in, and then gradually lower the start to where you have a smooth transition.
GLOWHEAD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 05:18 PM   #1684
Tech Master
 
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: I'm All Over The Place
Posts: 1,160
Default

Greetings RC Tech Fans!

Please see the attached "How to fix your Cap" file. We have discovered that a number of the 5678 Trans Cap Modules had the power cap installed wrong. Some of these got installed onto ESCs as well. If you have the newere "Smaller Cap" Please check them very closely. The Red Side of the Capacitor, should actually be on the NEGATIVE side of the PC Board. DO NOT Switch the 16awg wires. The cap must be removed, flipped and re-installed. Novak will have an official update on this topic Monday. This is the quickest way I could get the info to you guys.

PLEASE, if you have questions at all on this topic, EMAIL ME DIRECTLY: [email protected]

Thanks!
Charlie
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Trans Cap Module Repair How Too.pdf (163.0 KB, 407 views)
__________________
Novak Electronics Tech Support
Charlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 05:23 PM   #1685
Tech Master
 
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: I'm All Over The Place
Posts: 1,160
Default

For further clarification on what you're looking for.

The Cap on the Right is Correct. Note the Color on the cap and the wire it lines up with.
Attached Thumbnails
Novak Kinetic-capacitor-right-correct2.jpg  
__________________
Novak Electronics Tech Support
Charlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 10:36 PM   #1686
Tech Adept
 
ed517's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 151
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie View Post
For further clarification on what you're looking for.

The Cap on the Right is Correct. Note the Color on the cap and the wire it lines up with.
just to chime in, what worked best for me was to cut the cap at the bends(just a little to small pulling out of the board)flip and resolder. you will need 3/4 shrink wrap to finish the job.
ed517 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2011, 04:29 PM   #1687
Tech Adept
 
leebolt's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: orange county
Posts: 147
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by C harlie View Post
For further clarification on what you're looking for.

The Cap on the Right is Correct. Note the Color on the cap and the wire it lines up with.
well,mine just blew 5 minutes ago,came on the thread to ask if I could wire a hi performance GTB cap on it when I read your update.Went to the trash to retrieve the cap and sure enough it was backwards. Odd thing is it has been running to much success since I bought it 2 months ago paired with a 17.5 SS novak and reedy 5400. 45c exclusively.The second I plugged in a 60c protek(brand new just got today in the mail and was advised on here it was safe to run) the cap blew.
Anyway,can I wire a GTB cap on? Kinda in a bind as I have round seven of TLR at OC/RC tomorrow. A tough find at hobby stores today.
__________________
Team OCD OC/RC
Kyosho RT5,SC-R SP,DB
AE RC8 2.1,B44
Durango DESC410R
leebolt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2011, 05:22 PM   #1688
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 117
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by leebolt View Post
well,mine just blew 5 minutes ago,came on the thread to ask if I could wire a hi performance GTB cap on it when I read your update.Went to the trash to retrieve the cap and sure enough it was backwards. Odd thing is it has been running to much success since I bought it 2 months ago paired with a 17.5 SS novak and reedy 5400. 45c exclusively.The second I plugged in a 60c protek(brand new just got today in the mail and was advised on here it was safe to run) the cap blew.
Anyway,can I wire a GTB cap on? Kinda in a bind as I have round seven of TLR at OC/RC tomorrow. A tough find at hobby stores today.
Yes you can use GTB cap module
Adnan
__________________
Novak Engineering Dept
escman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2011, 08:46 PM   #1689
Tech Adept
 
leebolt's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: orange county
Posts: 147
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by escman View Post
Yes you can use GTB cap module
Adnan
thank you for the prompt reply
__________________
Team OCD OC/RC
Kyosho RT5,SC-R SP,DB
AE RC8 2.1,B44
Durango DESC410R
leebolt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 08:27 PM   #1690
Tech Champion
 
skypilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9,524
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

very pleased with the performance of my Kinetic ESC and Ballistic motor this past weekend at Carpet Nats, TQ and 2nd overall in the 21.5 class.
__________________
semi retired..
skypilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 09:51 AM   #1691
Company Representative
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,891
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skypilot View Post
very pleased with the performance of my Kinetic ESC and Ballistic motor this past weekend at Carpet Nats, TQ and 2nd overall in the 21.5 class.
Congratulations on your success! Keep us posted.
NovakTwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 10:37 AM   #1692
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 215
Default Up in smoke

Well thats's my 2nd Kinetic that's gone up in smoke now, not to mention a dead brainboard on my replacement and a number of firmware issues along the way.

I don't think I can take this any more. I'm sorry Novak but I've been a loyal customer for the best part of 10 years and loved using your kit. But after 2 fires nearly taking out the rest of my car and expensive gear I give up!

My ESC settings hadn't changed from when I successfully ran the car a few months ago. I was on my second 5 minute run testing the car at the track, after waiting 20 mins and making some small setup changes. After 6 laps the braking went and I saw flames inside the car. I ran over and unplugged the battery and assessed the damage. It looks like a fire started on the Capacitor module but something was rattling inside the speedo.

I just can't count on this speedo anymore. I give up. Does anyone know if Novak offer refunds. I just want to be able to race. Back to the GTB for now.
dvaid852456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 10:46 AM   #1693
Company Representative
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,891
Default

We will work with you in any way you want to see that you are happy with our products. We can replace your esc for you with any other products you choose.

Contact [email protected] for assistance.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dvaid852456 View Post
Well thats's my 2nd Kinetic that's gone up in smoke now, not to mention a dead brainboard on my replacement and a number of firmware issues along the way.

I don't think I can take this any more. I'm sorry Novak but I've been a loyal customer for the best part of 10 years and loved using your kit. But after 2 fires nearly taking out the rest of my car and expensive gear I give up!

My ESC settings hadn't changed from when I successfully ran the car a few months ago. I was on my second 5 minute run testing the car at the track, after waiting 20 mins and making some small setup changes. After 6 laps the braking went and I saw flames inside the car. I ran over and unplugged the battery and assessed the damage. It looks like a fire started on the Capacitor module but something was rattling inside the speedo.

I just can't count on this speedo anymore. I give up. Does anyone know if Novak offer refunds. I just want to be able to race. Back to the GTB for now.
NovakTwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 11:23 AM   #1694
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 215
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NovakTwo View Post
We will work with you in any way you want to see that you are happy with our products. We can replace your esc for you with any other products you choose.

Contact [email protected] for assistance.
I have sent in an email. Support in the past has been flawless, I just don't know how much more support I want. I just want a working ESC and I'm not sure the Kinetic is what I want any more.
dvaid852456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 11:30 AM   #1695
Company Representative
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,891
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dvaid852456 View Post
I have sent in an email. Support in the past has been flawless, I just don't know how much more support I want. I just want a working ESC and I'm not sure the Kinetic is what I want any more.
Charlie has responded to your email; I received a CC.
NovakTwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dyno, Homemade, Using a Novak Sentry Data Logger, Continued, The Experimental Thread. John Stranahan Electric On-Road 344 12-30-2016 05:22 PM
Novak Kinetic racer1812 Radio and Electronics 254 02-04-2013 08:52 PM
Novak Sentry as Brushless Dyno mattnin Electric On-Road 132 01-29-2010 05:53 PM
2009 i-hobby show b-man777 Electric On-Road 7 10-22-2009 09:35 AM
Spintec Battery Manager Erik Jonk Electric On-Road 999 03-26-2009 03:07 AM


Tags
brushless, gtb, novak kinetic, onroad, rc cars


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:37 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net