R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Old 10-18-2009, 05:21 PM   #1
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default Question on Weight Distribution for Touring Cars

Why are batteries off to one side seem to be the common and prevalent chassis layout for touring?

I'm a newb in on-road, but in off-road 4wd, having saddle or the battery down or closer to the center was an advantage in balance...

Why are there more TC cars with batteries on one side rather then something like the JRX-S where the battery is down the center?

in 2WD RWD foam cars (like the RC10L), saddle was the way to balance it. Batteries on one side was only for LTO (left-turn-only) cars...
Old 10-18-2009, 05:47 PM   #2
Tech Master

Send a message via ICQ to rcnewb2004

Don't quote me on this, but the one side battery configuration is perhaps better than the saddle for front to back weight distribution. The other reason is because of maintainability. I recall seeing someone with a JRX-S, and boy, did it look complicated to put the battery into the car (versus just one piece of tape). If the battery was in the center, the CG of the car may have to be shifted upwards. (since the placement of the electronics would be more difficult). I am really not to sure about this one... but I think keeping all rotating parts close to the center line of the car, also helps to balance the car dynamically, while the car is under power, making it easier to drive (This is why most drive shafts and drive belts of cars today are located on the center line). And since the rotating parts are put on the center line, the batter must be placed elsewhere.

That's my 2cents anyways. Happy Racing!

Feel free to correct me! I am also a newb to rc still and would like to learn what the pros here have to say.
Spintec
rcnewb2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 10:33 PM   #3
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)