Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Tamiya TA-05 Help

Search this Thread

Old 05-01-2009, 10:39 AM
Tech Initiate

Default Tamiya TA-05 Help

Hi guys im new to RC Racing and i just got my Tamyia TA-05.
I have had it for about 2 weeks now.

I need to ask some questions.

What ways can i tune it up to make it go faster.
What websites are they best to get Hop Ups.

I have to have a stock motor i cannot upgrade.
Since i am riding in the class "Clubstock"

Also what gears should i use to have more speed on short straights and less speed on long straights.

Regards Foxx.
Old 05-01-2009, 10:51 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

The best website for hop ups is rcmart.com. a huge selection! but don't be tempted by alloy, it's heavy and slows you down, and when you crash it bends. If you want to make it lighter (and therefore faster) get the 3racing graphite chassis.

When you say more speed on short straights and less on long ones, I assume you mean faster acceleration? If so, ask the other racers what ratio they are using, and use the chart below to work out which pinion gear you need (the stock spur is 70t).

Hope this helps
Joe
Old 05-01-2009, 10:54 AM
Tech Initiate

Yep tx alot Joe.

Can i buy aluminum hop ups except the chassis?
Old 05-01-2009, 10:59 AM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)

When you say "stock" motors, are talking plain old "Silver Can" 540, or are you allowed to use any 27 turn "stock" racing motor?

There is a huge difference in power and speed between the two. If you can use any 27T race motor, I would suggest getting a Trinity CO27 Pro. They have amazing power. I used one for an entire season and a half or racing with the occasional comm cut & rebrush.

Gearing tips:
- smaller pinion = more torque (punch), less top speed, less heat
- larger pinion = less torque (punch), more top speed, more heat