Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Gearing for HPI Pro D >

Gearing for HPI Pro D

Gearing for HPI Pro D

Old 10-06-2009, 06:34 AM
Tech Initiate

Questions?? Gearing or Lipo Problem?

Hey guys

Need a lil help with choosing the correct pinion gear for my pro d, after running it tonight, had issues with it drawing too much current and overheating due to working the motor too hard.

I think the pinion gear it came with is for a 540 standard motor.

Im running a 60a Brushless Sensorless easy run system with 9 turn motor.

Anyone thats had any experience with this chasis offer any help?

Or know where i can find some? Im very new to RC thankyou.

Last edited by GC StReeT DRiFT; 10-10-2009 at 09:37 PM.
Old 10-06-2009, 08:24 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)

how long did it take to overheat?

i dont know the pro d but for drifting you dont need an exact gear ratio, just something you can run hard and be safe.

I would start out with a pinion about 5 teeth smaller then you have now and try again. If it still over heats keep going smaller 1 or 2 teeth at a time till you can run the whole pack without over heating. if it stays cold after the whole pack you can go back up one tooth at a time to get more speed back out of it
Old 10-06-2009, 03:37 PM
Tech Initiate

Originally Posted by VenturaDC
how long did it take to overheat?

i dont know the pro d but for drifting you dont need an exact gear ratio, just something you can run hard and be safe.

I would start out with a pinion about 5 teeth smaller then you have now and try again. If it still over heats keep going smaller 1 or 2 teeth at a time till you can run the whole pack without over heating. if it stays cold after the whole pack you can go back up one tooth at a time to get more speed back out of it

Umm at first it was cutting out intermitenly but this was as soon as I start running it so motor wasnt even hot then, but apparently drawing too much charge.