R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-04-2009, 07:56 PM   #1
Tech Adept
 
Nemo racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 159
Send a message via Yahoo to Nemo racing
Default Team Power Brushless Motor Checker

NEW Team Power Brushless Motor Checker

Features:

- Input voltage: 7.6V -8.6V(Suggested Power Input Source: 7.4V 2S-1P LiPo Battery)

- LCD Screen: Blue Screen, White Text Monitor

- Dimension: 150mm x 80mm x 25mm
- Supported Motor: Sensor or Sensorless Brushless motor.
(i) RC Car Motor: 2.5 Turn or over
(ii)Flight Motor: Current drawn that is less than 18A without the Loading
- Functions Included:

(i) Endbell Sensor Test

(ii) RPM/KV measurement

(iii) Ampere measurement

(iv) Motor Cycle
Attached Thumbnails
Team Power Brushless Motor Checker-motorchecker-p4.jpg   Team Power Brushless Motor Checker-motorchecker-p6.jpg  
__________________
A800
Scorpion Power System
Nemo racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2009, 11:20 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
Kevin CBR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: "Racing Budget" is an oxymoron
Posts: 3,706
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

You can test any brand motor with this ?
Kevin CBR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2009, 11:32 PM   #3
Super Moderator
 
charlie_b's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Anaheim
Posts: 9,832
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to charlie_b Send a message via MSN to charlie_b Send a message via Yahoo to charlie_b
Default

Im interested. Is there any more literature i can read about?
__________________
''Many of life's failures are people who did not realize how close they were to success when they gave up.''-- Thomas Alva Edison
CAL RACEWAY:CAL RACEWAY
GT10 SERIES:GT10 SERIES
CFX Paintworks:="https://www.facebook.com/CFXPaintworks?fref=ts
TEAM ASSOCIATED|REEDY|HITEC|PARMA|PROTEKRC|SWEEP|IWATA| RPM|AMAIN|CREATEX/WICKED/AUTOAIR PAINTS|CFX|CAL RACEWAY
charlie_b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2009, 12:34 AM   #4
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 5,310
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Looks nice but the SP motor checker does all this and uses your speedy to control the motor. This allows you to see how the motor performs with YOUR speedy and also has the advantage of being able to test and compare different settings/software on the same speedy.
__________________
Blade: Andro Treiber H 79g AN
FH: Donic Bluefire M3 Max Blk
BH: Donic Bluefire M2 Max Red
Powered by Falco
Dragonfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2009, 07:46 AM   #5
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 46
Default

Agree. It is a good concept to use real ESC to test the motor. However, i think most players including me will check the motor only when there is a problem. I have also bought SP checker and connect my ESC to check the failure motor, but due to the unknown motor problem, my ESC burn out suddenly and I didn't know what happen and didn't know which part is failure.

Besides, it is too complicate to install several modules together to work for SP
checker. I think everyone hope that the checker should be very simple to operate and don't want get trouble on the installation before checking the motor.
engine.tech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2009, 11:20 AM   #6
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 209
Default

Can this be use to tech motor in RC race ? I think it is good to find out if my motor is still healthy or not.
afung1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2009, 11:45 AM   #7
Tech Elite
 
Racecrafter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: RC Mecca
Posts: 4,138
Trader Rating: 25 (96%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nemo racing View Post
NEW Team Power Brushless Motor Checker

Features:

- Input voltage: 7.6V -8.6V(Suggested Power Input Source: 7.4V 2S-1P LiPo Battery)

- LCD Screen: Blue Screen, White Text Monitor

- Dimension: 150mm x 80mm x 25mm
- Supported Motor: Sensor or Sensorless Brushless motor.
(i) RC Car Motor: 2.5 Turn or over
(ii)Flight Motor: Current drawn that is less than 18A without the Loading
- Functions Included:

(i) Endbell Sensor Test

(ii) RPM/KV measurement

(iii) Ampere measurement

(iv) Motor Cycle
Novel indeed. Problem is to make accurate the input voltage needs to remain constant. A battery pack will not allow for this. You need a well regulated power source. A Lipo battery has a serious Voltage drop which will render back to back testing unreliable.

just my $.02
__________________
Jimmy Wright

www.trackstarrc.com ~ www.facebook.com/TrackStarRC ~ Home of the 2x's Stock Nationals Champion TS-Gold & TS-Black tire sauce, TS-1+ lubricants, TS-Precision bearings, XRG Xtreme Racing Grease, Scale Auto Engineering, ElevenTech, WRD2, Carbon 12, Stiff Products
Racecrafter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2009, 11:52 AM   #8
Tech Elite
 
DENNIS STORTI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Horsham
Posts: 2,400
Trader Rating: 42 (94%+)
Send a message via AIM to DENNIS STORTI
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Racecrafter View Post
Novel indeed. Problem is to make accurate the input voltage needs to remain constant. A battery pack will not allow for this. You need a well regulated power source. A Lipo battery has a serious Voltage drop which will render back to back testing unreliable.

just my $.02
i disagree considering you can test a motor in about 30 seconds even testing multiple motor will not be affected by the battery if u use a charged battery when you use this its gonna be very good for analyzing this again is my beleif cause lipo bvatterys do not fall off much during the run so i would assume that during a test your thoughts of inconsitent voltage is incorrect
DENNIS STORTI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2009, 12:17 PM   #9
Tech Elite
 
Racecrafter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: RC Mecca
Posts: 4,138
Trader Rating: 25 (96%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DENNIS STORTI View Post
i disagree considering you can test a motor in about 30 seconds even testing multiple motor will not be affected by the battery if u use a charged battery when you use this its gonna be very good for analyzing this again is my beleif cause lipo bvatterys do not fall off much during the run so i would assume that during a test your thoughts of inconsitent voltage is incorrect
I commend your arguememnt. However do you know what the RPM or Torque difference would be between 8.4 volts versus 8.3v? Or even just a .5v difference? With "X" motor.

In ANY test procedure there should be no input variables.

In this case Voltage.
__________________
Jimmy Wright

www.trackstarrc.com ~ www.facebook.com/TrackStarRC ~ Home of the 2x's Stock Nationals Champion TS-Gold & TS-Black tire sauce, TS-1+ lubricants, TS-Precision bearings, XRG Xtreme Racing Grease, Scale Auto Engineering, ElevenTech, WRD2, Carbon 12, Stiff Products
Racecrafter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2009, 12:22 PM   #10
Tech Elite
 
L.Fairtrace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Beyond the Wall
Posts: 3,774
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to L.Fairtrace
Default

why not just put some kind of voltage reg in the circuit.
__________________
Awesomatix USA - EaMotorsports - RocheUSA - MonTech - Sanwa - BSR Racing Tires - TQ Wire - Solaris Racing Tires - Side Piece Racing

180 and 360 Raceway. Best on the East Coast. Take your pick
L.Fairtrace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2009, 12:29 PM   #11
Super Moderator
 
charlie_b's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Anaheim
Posts: 9,832
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to charlie_b Send a message via MSN to charlie_b Send a message via Yahoo to charlie_b
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by L.Fairtrace View Post
why not just put some kind of voltage reg in the circuit.
Im almost wondering is you can just connect a simple 10a power supply like the OFNA one to power it.


It could be a simple fix, right?
__________________
''Many of life's failures are people who did not realize how close they were to success when they gave up.''-- Thomas Alva Edison
CAL RACEWAY:CAL RACEWAY
GT10 SERIES:GT10 SERIES
CFX Paintworks:="https://www.facebook.com/CFXPaintworks?fref=ts
TEAM ASSOCIATED|REEDY|HITEC|PARMA|PROTEKRC|SWEEP|IWATA| RPM|AMAIN|CREATEX/WICKED/AUTOAIR PAINTS|CFX|CAL RACEWAY
charlie_b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2009, 01:43 PM   #12
Tech Adept
 
Nemo racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 159
Send a message via Yahoo to Nemo racing
Default

The main reason they choose to use battery instead of power supply:

1. Power supply that racer use everyday mostly have an out put between 10 to 30 Amps. IF the motor checker run off the power supply and the motor checker start to run a motor (an modify 3.5 turn motor) it will have a surge peak. And that peak will cause the power supply to cut off. And if you have other product connect to the power supply like charger and tire warmer. It will cause those machine to reset. Using an lipo battery pack will not cause any of those problem.

2. As a racer, you will have as lease one pack of battery. And if you are a serious racer that demand this kind of equipment, you will have more than one pack of battery.

3. In combination of running the Motor checker with the battery, you will also be able to feel which battery will give out better motor performance.
__________________
A800
Scorpion Power System
Nemo racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2009, 02:02 PM   #13
Tech Apprentice
 
Swampgremlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Cape Coral
Posts: 63
Default

If you are checking just to see if you're motor strength is good why would you're battery matter I mean you can test you're battery sepreatly right? I don't know I would think a good motor is a good motor. Reguardless of what battery you are using.
Swampgremlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2009, 02:37 PM   #14
Tech Master
 
over gear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,096
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

cool. that mean i can find the best lipo/motor combo with 1 tester.
over gear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2009, 03:21 PM   #15
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: CA
Posts: 727
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

Maybe use the motor lathe function on the charger as the power supply?
Yellowtaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cebu RC Car Racing Club jpn Manila Racers 14147 05-27-2016 10:01 PM
The Big Locked Thread donitaROSE Manila Racers 89718 03-26-2015 08:17 AM
New TEAM WAVE racing brushless system TEAMWAVE Electric On-Road 1930 07-25-2014 07:12 AM
Novak 10.5 Brushless Motor - Integy Tire Truer - Integy Motor Checker dbme R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 6 09-18-2009 05:54 PM
RC equipments for Sale ijnek Malaysian R/C Racers 22836 09-09-2009 02:50 PM
Lots for Sale With More To Come !!!! mav913 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 13 05-16-2009 02:33 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:57 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net