R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-05-2009, 08:09 PM   #16
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 46
Default

As I heard from the TP motor checker manufacturer, the usage of lipo battery in the TP checker because the lipo battery output voltage is quite steady with a sudden high current drawn by the motor. Also, the lipo can provide a constant voltage curve for a period of time and this is the reason why it is commonly to use the lipo in most RC model car today, so the lipo battery can provide a stable source to the checker and make the output results more consistence.
engine.tech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 07:53 AM   #17
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 5,310
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

The Kv reading will be unaffected by the drop in voltage so that will allow you to compare any motor to previous tests even with a half charged pack. if the system is any good it will have a "soft start up" to eliminate huge current draw with low turn motors. This is a nessesatiy if you are going to use aligator clips like those in the pics anyway. High current would most likely melt them or make the very hot real quick.
__________________
Blade: Andro Treiber H 79g AN
FH: Donic Bluefire M3 Max Blk
BH: Donic Bluefire M2 Max Red
Powered by Falco
Dragonfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 09:48 AM   #18
Tech Elite
 
DENNIS STORTI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Horsham
Posts: 2,400
Trader Rating: 42 (94%+)
Send a message via AIM to DENNIS STORTI
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by engine.tech View Post
As I heard from the TP motor checker manufacturer, the usage of lipo battery in the TP checker because the lipo battery output voltage is quite steady with a sudden high current drawn by the motor. Also, the lipo can provide a constant voltage curve for a period of time and this is the reason why it is commonly to use the lipo in most RC model car today, so the lipo battery can provide a stable source to the checker and make the output results more consistence.
DENNIS STORTI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 10:26 PM   #19
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 46
Default

In IIC race, there is a TP checker to have demo. I see there are 8 power levels LED on top of the checker. At the start of running, it is default to set as power level 3 and it can use up, down key to increase the power level, so I think it can prevent a huge current drawn by the motor from the start up on the lower start up power level.
engine.tech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2009, 09:30 PM   #20
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 46
Default

any one know when will be avaliable in US?
engine.tech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2009, 11:21 AM   #21
Tech Adept
 
Nemo racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 159
Send a message via Yahoo to Nemo racing
Default

Quote:
any one know when will be avaliable in US?
It is available now in the US.

http://store.hkshobby.com/product_in...oducts_id=6153
__________________
A800
Scorpion Power System
Nemo racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2009, 05:49 AM   #22
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 46
Default

good news!
engine.tech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2009, 11:11 AM   #23
Tech Elite
 
Skiddins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Windsor, UK
Posts: 4,761
Default

It's no good asking about Kv ratings as they prove nothing.
As is mentioned everytime a motor checking thread appears, rev's without torque is useless and you can't check torque without putting a load on the motor.

It will have less variables than when we were testing brushed motors but there will still be inaccuracies.

Skiddins
__________________
Xray T4'18, T4'14 (Wet Car)
Xray X12 2018
Xray X1'16
wlrc.co.uk (West London Racing Centre)
RCDisco.co.uk
Skiddins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2009, 01:22 PM   #24
Tech Master
 
HB Moose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Surf City, USA
Posts: 1,080
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skiddins View Post
It's no good asking about Kv ratings as they prove nothing.
As is mentioned everytime a motor checking thread appears, rev's without torque is useless and you can't check torque without putting a load on the motor.

It will have less variables than when we were testing brushed motors but there will still be inaccuracies.

Skiddins
Can we put a breakin fan on to give it some load?
__________________
Bruce "Moose" Riedinger
HB Moose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 08:11 PM   #25
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 46
Default

yes. the measured result will be more accurate if any loading can on the motor. However, this kind of motor checker can allow anyone to check and compare different brand or same brand of BL motors with the same platform. At least the user can know which one is better at the same platform and if the motor is healthy or not. One more important note, I found the ampere reading shown on the checker that can really reflect the punch power to the rc car. In other words, for high ampere reading for the motor which can have more punch power!!
engine.tech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2009, 09:14 PM   #26
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 46
Wink

engine.tech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2009, 07:42 PM   #27
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 46
Default

have any one test it?
engine.tech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2009, 11:03 PM   #28
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 46
Default

any one have comment on it?
engine.tech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2009, 08:18 AM   #29
Tech Master
 
picco007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: TX.
Posts: 1,814
Trader Rating: 91 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to picco007 Send a message via Yahoo to picco007
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by charlie_b View Post
Im almost wondering is you can just connect a simple 10a power supply like the OFNA one to power it.


It could be a simple fix, right?


Charlie b, I thought the same thing too regarding using a power supply. But if my mind serves me right, wouldn't a high amp draw be needed sometimes like much over 30 amps? I know that these lipos can handle quite a bit of amp draw and maybe that is why they are using a 2 cell lipo........
Then again, maybe amp draw would not be a problem since there is no load from what I can see.

Just my .02 cents.....and thoughts
__________________
EA Motorsports
picco007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2009, 10:29 AM   #30
Super Moderator
 
charlie_b's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Anaheim
Posts: 9,830
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to charlie_b Send a message via MSN to charlie_b Send a message via Yahoo to charlie_b
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by picco007 View Post
Charlie b, I thought the same thing too regarding using a power supply. But if my mind serves me right, wouldn't a high amp draw be needed sometimes like much over 30 amps? I know that these lipos can handle quite a bit of amp draw and maybe that is why they are using a 2 cell lipo........
Then again, maybe amp draw would not be a problem since there is no load from what I can see.

Just my .02 cents.....and thoughts
You are probably right. I didn't think about the higher spikes, although, like you said..there isn't any load so who knows at this point. Someone needs to buy one and test so we can all know for sure.
__________________
''Many of life's failures are people who did not realize how close they were to success when they gave up.''-- Thomas Alva Edison
CAL RACEWAY:CAL RACEWAY
GT10 SERIES:GT10 SERIES
CFX Paintworks:="https://www.facebook.com/CFXPaintworks?fref=ts
TEAM ASSOCIATED|REEDY|HITEC|PARMA|PROTEKRC|SWEEP|IWATA| RPM|AMAIN|CREATEX/WICKED/AUTOAIR PAINTS|CFX|CAL RACEWAY
charlie_b is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cebu RC Car Racing Club jpn Manila Racers 14147 05-27-2016 10:01 PM
The Big Locked Thread donitaROSE Manila Racers 89718 03-26-2015 08:17 AM
New TEAM WAVE racing brushless system TEAMWAVE Electric On-Road 1930 07-25-2014 07:12 AM
Novak 10.5 Brushless Motor - Integy Tire Truer - Integy Motor Checker dbme R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 6 09-18-2009 05:54 PM
RC equipments for Sale ijnek Malaysian R/C Racers 22836 09-09-2009 02:50 PM
Lots for Sale With More To Come !!!! mav913 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 13 05-16-2009 02:33 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:33 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net