R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-03-2009, 06:45 AM   #1
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Behind my Tx
Posts: 214
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default W speed transmission for electric cars?

Hi. Was wondering if anyone makes a 2 speed gear set for electric cars nowadays. I remember some years back there were a few such items in the market but can't remember who made them.
radwerx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2009, 09:43 AM   #2
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Rantoul,Il
Posts: 424
Default

HPI made one that fit an As. RC10 trans. It worked just fine in a RC10DS. For the most part 2 speeds are not required for electrics. The torque produced by the motors we use as soon as they start turning eliminates the need for a 2 speed. Don
DLS II is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2009, 09:54 AM   #3
Tech Elite
 
niznai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: All over the place
Posts: 2,940
Default

Yokomo has one too which fits the YR4-M2 J Pro. The torque curve of electric motors however eliminates the need for it.
__________________
Team Greasy Weasel

The best upgrade to any car is some driver skill.
niznai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2009, 06:27 PM   #4
Tech Adept
 
badmotor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Perth, WA
Posts: 162
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Used to be one on my Kyosho TF2. It was pretty fantastic to use, I still have all of the parts. But there was a 1 way bearing involved which was it's major drawback. It was Extremely delicate, if your car rolled backwards at all (ie a spin, even if it was only for 5-10cm rollback), all the rollers inside the bearing broke, the bearing was set inside a spur gear hub.

My local hobby shop could never get the hub by itself, and it cost $170AU for a new 2speed. I did it twice and then never bothered again
__________________
__________________
WHY IS THERE BACON IN THE SOAP?!?!?!
badmotor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2009, 08:52 AM   #5
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 7,211
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

2 speeds has another problem which couldn't be fixed. As the battery pack was used up, the shift point of the tranny would change, and you would lose any advantage you had.
jiml is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RC Clean up sale garage sale Rotary Racer R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 12 06-19-2007 08:08 AM
Ntc w/O.S.18 and BN Rc10 L4 oval/xxxt mf2 rossoh10 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 18 07-31-2006 08:30 PM
Literally Tons of Stuff For Sale or Trade. Something For Everyone!!! Nrctc3 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 24 01-23-2005 07:22 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:35 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net