R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-24-2009, 07:16 AM   #1
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 102
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default Duo 1 & Duo Motors 2 Which is Better??

I have heard that the Duo 1 is more of a torque motor and the Duo 2 is more of an RPM motor (17.5 & 13.5).... Of those of you that are currently running these motors in 12th scale which version is working better. The Duo 1 or 2?

Thanks!
Murray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2009, 08:57 AM   #2
Team EAM
 
EAMotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 9,158
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to EAMotorsports
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Murray View Post
I have heard that the Duo 1 is more of a torque motor and the Duo 2 is more of an RPM motor (17.5 & 13.5).... Of those of you that are currently running these motors in 12th scale which version is working better. The Duo 1 or 2?

Thanks!
On the dyno there is very little difference between the two. Usually the Duo 2's will have about 3-500 more RPM and 3-5Watts higher. All using the Turbo Dyno.

On the track Ive found the Duo 2's run slightly cooler (5-10 degrees) over a 5-8 minute run. They are easier to adjust timing on for sure. But for overall performance its really really hard to tell a difference to me.

EA
__________________
Contact Us
Team EAM, Our Facebook
Team EAM | Xray | RCAmerica | Hudy | APEX Raceway and Hobbies | RC Mission | Killer Concepts | AVID | Hobbywing.
EAMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2009, 11:16 AM   #3
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 5,310
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

While not having run them yet I happen to hav e both of them in front of me right now. They both look to have the same wind and wire guage, same can, front plate, rotor size and magnet strength. The only difference I can see is the timming adjustment on the back. The duo2 has more adjustment where as the duo 1 has only 3 settings.
__________________
Blade: Andro Treiber H 79g AN
FH: Donic Bluefire M3 Max Blk
BH: Donic Bluefire M2 Max Red
Powered by Falco
Dragonfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2009, 12:10 PM   #4
Team EAM
 
EAMotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 9,158
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to EAMotorsports
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragonfire View Post
While not having run them yet I happen to hav e both of them in front of me right now. They both look to have the same wind and wire guage, same can, front plate, rotor size and magnet strength. The only difference I can see is the timming adjustment on the back. The duo2 has more adjustment where as the duo 1 has only 3 settings.
Pretty much perfect descrpition. The stator is slightly different on the duo 2 but not much.

Full timing on the Duo 2 is slightly more than middle hole on the Duo 1.

EA
__________________
Contact Us
Team EAM, Our Facebook
Team EAM | Xray | RCAmerica | Hudy | APEX Raceway and Hobbies | RC Mission | Killer Concepts | AVID | Hobbywing.
EAMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2009, 08:16 AM   #5
Tech Regular
 
decibels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: in a house
Posts: 431
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EAMotorsports View Post
Pretty much perfect descrpition. The stator is slightly different on the duo 2 but not much.

Full timing on the Duo 2 is slightly more than middle hole on the Duo 1.

EA
yes and the can is ever so slightly different at the back!! the duo2 is slightly more close on the venting than the duo1. And the can matches the endbell!!
__________________
Team Wave Speedies
Thunder power lipo's
flying fox rc
!!And an idiot with a controller!!
decibels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2009, 03:29 PM   #6
P2
Tech Fanatic
 
P2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Oahu, Hi
Posts: 865
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EAMotorsports View Post
Pretty much perfect descrpition. The stator is slightly different on the duo 2 but not much.

Full timing on the Duo 2 is slightly more than middle hole on the Duo 1.

EA
EA,

Where is the 0 timing mark on the Duo 2??

Thanks!
Paul
__________________
TopRacingUSA | Team EPIC | Thunder Power | OD Racing
P2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2009, 03:36 PM   #7
Team EAM
 
EAMotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 9,158
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to EAMotorsports
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by P2 View Post
EA,

Where is the 0 timing mark on the Duo 2??

Thanks!
Paul
Its the longest line right in the center.

EA
__________________
Contact Us
Team EAM, Our Facebook
Team EAM | Xray | RCAmerica | Hudy | APEX Raceway and Hobbies | RC Mission | Killer Concepts | AVID | Hobbywing.
EAMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2009, 04:35 PM   #8
Tech Elite
 
ShaunMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Loading...
Posts: 3,390
Default

Nevermind, I fixed the problem. Motor works fine now.

Where is a good starting point for the timing on a 17.5 Duo 2?

Last edited by ShaunMac; 09-25-2009 at 05:02 PM.
ShaunMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2009, 04:58 PM   #9
Team EAM
 
EAMotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 9,158
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to EAMotorsports
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShaunMac View Post
My Duo 2 came set at the 0* timing mark. Motor runs fine at this setting, but any attempts to even slightly advance the timing result in the motor not running at all. Set it back to 0* and it comes back to life.

Any ideas?
Ive been running mine mostly at full timing and gearing about the same as an original duo. In rubber tire I backed it down a notch and a half from full timing. Never had any problems thus far. Come off around 150 degrees with a fan in TC.

Dumb question but you did turn it toward the + side correct? I know if you retard the timing it will make them do funny stuff sometimes depending on the speedo!

EA
__________________
Contact Us
Team EAM, Our Facebook
Team EAM | Xray | RCAmerica | Hudy | APEX Raceway and Hobbies | RC Mission | Killer Concepts | AVID | Hobbywing.
EAMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2009, 05:07 PM   #10
Tech Elite
 
ShaunMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Loading...
Posts: 3,390
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EAMotorsports View Post
Ive been running mine mostly at full timing and gearing about the same as an original duo. In rubber tire I backed it down a notch and a half from full timing. Never had any problems thus far. Come off around 150 degrees with a fan in TC.

Dumb question but you did turn it toward the + side correct? I know if you retard the timing it will make them do funny stuff sometimes depending on the speedo!

EA
Thanks for the help Eric. One of the windings was pushed in and hitting the black timing ring. Once I pushed the winding back in place it worked fine.
ShaunMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2009, 11:25 PM   #11
Tech Regular
 
decibels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: in a house
Posts: 431
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EAMotorsports View Post
Ive been running mine mostly at full timing and gearing about the same as an original duo. In rubber tire I backed it down a notch and a half from full timing. Never had any problems thus far. Come off around 150 degrees with a fan in TC.

Dumb question but you did turn it toward the + side correct? I know if you retard the timing it will make them do funny stuff sometimes depending on the speedo!

EA
i don't think full timing is that good, what speedy do you run it on?? as i find a little bit of timing to increase spool and top end is good and then gear it for the rest otherwise i find motors get to soft if you run to much advance once you add motor advance and speedy advance aswell!!
__________________
Team Wave Speedies
Thunder power lipo's
flying fox rc
!!And an idiot with a controller!!
decibels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2009, 05:41 AM   #12
Team EAM
 
EAMotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 9,158
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to EAMotorsports
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by decibels View Post
i don't think full timing is that good, what speedy do you run it on?? as i find a little bit of timing to increase spool and top end is good and then gear it for the rest otherwise i find motors get to soft if you run to much advance once you add motor advance and speedy advance aswell!!
Been running the SPX since it came out. Profile 7 for TC. Setup just like posted lap times usually only fall off .1-.2 per 5 minute run. Motor doesnt seem to go soft. I havent really gotten to do a ton of track testing as most was done at the IIC with the duo 2. Once our carpet track gets going good in a few weeks I'll do a lot more in depth testing and will try the lower timing on the motor with higher gearing to see how that compares.

EA
__________________
Contact Us
Team EAM, Our Facebook
Team EAM | Xray | RCAmerica | Hudy | APEX Raceway and Hobbies | RC Mission | Killer Concepts | AVID | Hobbywing.
EAMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2009, 07:15 AM   #13
V12
Tech Elite
 
V12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 2,641
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Do you know what´s the difference between Profile 6, 7 and 8 with the SPX?
V12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2009, 10:08 AM   #14
Team EAM
 
EAMotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 9,158
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to EAMotorsports
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by V12 View Post
Do you know what´s the difference between Profile 6, 7 and 8 with the SPX?
Profile 6 on the SPX is Almost the exact same as profile 8 on the previous TC speedo. 7 and 8 are the advanced timing avance settings with 8 being the most.

EA
__________________
Contact Us
Team EAM, Our Facebook
Team EAM | Xray | RCAmerica | Hudy | APEX Raceway and Hobbies | RC Mission | Killer Concepts | AVID | Hobbywing.
EAMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2009, 10:26 PM   #15
Tech Addict
 
Shopkeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: California
Posts: 519
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

I have a duo that has 4 race days on it and it just shut down on me at the start of the main last race. It went for a about 2 feet off the start line at full throttle and just quit. Is there any repair of these duo motors?
Shopkeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:27 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net