R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-20-2009, 07:21 PM   #1
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 264
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default Novak 13.5 getting hot REALLY fast

by really fast I mean 30 secs

I have a novak 13.5 motor that I used for about 2 months with no problems what so ever
I recently purchased a xray t2 007 and a LRP TC Spec ESC, I am using the same motor as mentioned earlier

I was in the process of programming the ESC and I noticed that the motor was very hot after about 15 to 20 secs, so I turned everything off

Now this motor has no pinion attached to it yet so it was just freespinning, and i also noticed that the motor shaft didn't spin that fast either

I will mention that the motor is virtually brand new and used for only a couple of months

Mike
pantherblack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2009, 07:38 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
Foxxrocket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sonoma County
Posts: 2,018
Default

I've had a Novak motor thermal, then get really hot after a few minutes of light racing. But not in 30 seconds. Once they thermal, you pretty much damaged the magnets, inside. It'll still run, but not as long, or as hard.

Send it back to Novak, and have them send you a replacement.
__________________
Tamiya 416X/ Tamiya TA-05 IFS/ Losi XXX-SCT/ HPI Baja 5SC/ Tamiya M05/ Tamiya F103/ Tamiya F104/ Team Associated 10R5O/ Kyosho IGT2/
Foxxrocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2009, 07:41 PM   #3
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 264
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxxrocket View Post
I've had a Novak motor thermal, then get really hot after a few minutes of light racing. But not in 30 seconds. Once they thermal, you pretty much damaged the magnets, inside. It'll still run, but not as long, or as hard.

Send it back to Novak, and have them send you a replacement.
In my situation I wasn't even racing, like I said there wasn't even a pinion on the motor, it was freespinning

I could still touch the motor with my hand but I knew something was wrong cause every second it would get hotter and hotter
pantherblack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2009, 08:01 PM   #4
Tech Fanatic
 
RobS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Chatham, Ontario
Posts: 875
Default

Make sure your solder joints are secure... If its not spinning freely either, she may be pooched.
__________________
Rob Say
Action Hobbies Kingsville
"In racing you never really lose. You either win, or learn."
RobS is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2009, 08:04 PM   #5
Tech Champion
 
robk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Macho Business Donkey Wrestler
Posts: 7,586
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Make sure you had the motor wires in the correct orientation as well.
__________________
A mutually re-enforcing cascade of failure

"Failior [sic] crowns enterprise." Robert Goddard

I-Lap Scoring Systems http://www.rclapcounter.com/
robk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2009, 08:12 PM   #6
Company Representative
 
SweepRacingUSA's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: www.SweepRacingUSA.com
Posts: 1,742
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

seem like your sensor cable is out of order and ESC was not set in neutural.
SweepRacingUSA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2009, 08:14 PM   #7
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 264
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RobS View Post
Make sure your solder joints are secure... If its not spinning freely either, she may be pooched.
The solder joints are the same as it was before, I have the quick connects on the wires so there was no need to touch the solder joints

I have the motor out of the car and by hand it spins perfectly normal, by that I mean it spins like it did before it went into the car

I am kind of baffled and I am not sure what to do

Might have to buy a new one for the time being and send this one back to Novak for a replacement
pantherblack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2009, 01:46 PM   #8
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 264
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

anyone??
pantherblack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2009, 02:25 PM   #9
The Evicerator
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 4,142
Default

As someone else mentioned I think that you need to ensure that the sensor harness is fully seated into the ESC's connector.

In some ESCs if you do not plug the sensor in the ESC assumes you are using a brushed motor and will switch to brushed mode... which can cause excessive heating to a brushless motor.

If all the connections are fine (sensor harness plugged in properly, no shorts between the phase wires) there's a chance the motor winds could have a short in them somewhere... but it's just as likely that there is some sort of problem with the ESC.

Unless you have another motor or ESC to test in the system it can be difficult to determine which component is actually bad.

If you don't have access to extra equipment to do this testing with, you can always send the motor in to us for evaluation.

We will test it out and ensure that it is in working order.

If you go this route, please complete a warranty service form for the motor and be as detailed as possible about the problem you are experiencing.

The warranty service form can be found on our website in the customer service section.

Oh yeah... anytime you want a quick response, you might want to consider emailing us directly at [email protected] or calling us at 949.833.8873. We check the forums regularly... but email and telephone are the preferred methods!
__________________
Steve Weiss
TEAM ASSOCIATED -- REEDY -- SANWA -- PROTOFORM -- 1UP Racing -- ActivRC -- P1 BRAND -- TEAM KINWALD -- TEAM STEVE INTERNATIONAL
Steve Weiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2009, 03:46 PM   #10
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 264
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

thankyou for the response

On second thought it could of been that the sensor wire was not plugged in, when I was programming the ESC I believe I didn't have the sensor wire plugged in, but I had the main power wires to the motor hooked up

I will try everything again with the sensor harness plugged in and see how that goes

Mike
pantherblack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2009, 04:52 PM   #11
Tech Elite
 
Yeti35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SL, UT
Posts: 2,804
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Yeah, you need that sensor wire plugged in for it to work right. Double check everything and try again.
__________________
JRXS Type R, I have four of them!! ;) ( Yes, I still have them!!)And racing one of them again!!
22 3.0SR
22T 2.0 w/ Exotech chassis
Yeti35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2009, 06:22 PM   #12
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 264
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

problem fixed

as mentioned above the sensor wire was not plugged in fully, redid everything and checked over thoroughly and everything seems to be working fine

Thanks for the help
Mike
pantherblack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2009, 06:34 PM   #13
Company Representative
 
SweepRacingUSA's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: www.SweepRacingUSA.com
Posts: 1,742
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

hahah when I left you a message your replied with "anyone?? " hahaha

then you thanks to steve for his response. hhahah
SweepRacingUSA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2009, 11:16 PM   #14
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 264
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

I never said thankyou to anyone specifically

If you read I said "as mentioned above" it wasn't implied to the person right above me, just all the posts above me

I took all the info and when I got home from work today I started to look for the problem and I found it
pantherblack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2009, 11:54 PM   #15
Tech Addict
 
louis flood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: yucaipa ca
Posts: 531
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to louis flood
Default

there might still be damage done to the motor u might still want to send it in
__________________
powered by venom-group , atomik and evolution sports in Redlands CA paintball airsoft and R/C (909)792-9898
my rides atomik v2mr ae b44.2 tlr 8ight 2.0
louis flood is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ask Steve "The Evicerator" Weiss TeamButter Electric On-Road 7088 07-16-2011 06:01 PM
Novak 13.5 Brushless thread BrainTeased Australian Racing 48 02-18-2007 01:46 AM
FOR THE NEWBIES!!! IF YOU ARE NEW READ THIS omaharich Electric On-Road 54 01-18-2007 02:32 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:36 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net