R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-14-2009, 04:40 PM   #256
Tech Lord
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,861
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Derek, you have a PM. If you want to gloat some more, use that instead.
__________________
Sean. Certified speed crazed mowron.
Team Shepherd USA
www.ashfordhobby.com
wingracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2009, 05:08 PM   #257
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Im confused, and I may have missed it, but did someone answer if this is a prototype or a production ESC that is hard to get? If it is available, where?
or8ital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2009, 05:11 PM   #258
Tech Master
 
DerekB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,421
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by or8ital View Post
Im confused, and I may have missed it, but did someone answer if this is a prototype or a production ESC that is hard to get? If it is available, where?
It's a proto-type...CRC is going to import the production. You can't have one yet.
DerekB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2009, 05:12 PM   #259
Tech Elite
 
al dente's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: 5280 Raceway. Denver's finest RC facility
Posts: 4,765
Default

i was running one in my car, the rx pack plugs directly into the speedo because the speedo has the regulator built in.

kenny l - it is not that we were unwilling to do so. the fact of the matter is that without the rx pack plugged into the speedo, the spedo would not work. much the same way that your tekin will not work without the switch on. had we wired the rx pack directly to the receiver, the srevo would run on 7.4 v. and still,by the way, send 7.4volts back to the speedo. we went over this in tech with the tech team and they came to the same conclusion. for the record, when i first put mine into my car, i tried to run without an rx pack just a booster, and the speedo would not function. even if the rx pack would run throug a regulator, then to the reciever, then to the speedo, you would still be sending more than 3.7v to the speedo, just like everyone else.
__________________
Team CRC / Dumper's Speed Shop / Team Scream Racing / Black Art
RC America / FB/FX / Colorado On Road RC Club
5280 Raceway (5280raceway.com) home of the MILE HIGH INDOOR CHAMPS April 19-22, 2018
al dente is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2009, 05:16 PM   #260
Tech Master
 
veecee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 1,439
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Were they really that much faster? I mean look at how skinny those motor wires are...
__________________
SMOKEM --- XPRESS --- MONTECH --- SRT
veecee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2009, 05:16 PM   #261
Tech Master
 
DerekB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,421
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by al dente View Post
i was running one in my car, the rx pack plugs directly into the speedo because the speedo has the regulator built in.

kenny l - it is not that we were unwilling to do so. the fact of the matter is that without the rx pack plugged into the speedo, the spedo would not work. much the same way that your tekin will not work without the switch on. had we wired the rx pack directly to the receiver, the srevo would run on 7.4 v. and still,by the way, send 7.4volts back to the speedo. we went over this in tech with the tech team and they came to the same conclusion. for the record, when i first put mine into my car, i tried to run without an rx pack just a booster, and the speedo would not function. even if the rx pack would run throug a regulator, then to the reciever, then to the speedo, you would still be sending more than 3.7v to the speedo, just like everyone else.
There 100% is a way to run it normally, and for the record the Tekin works just fine without a switch. I have 2 cars running off the LIPO RX pack into the RX It didn't need to be on when the power from it is coming from the other side. EVERY Brushless system is still "ON" without the switch saying "ON" ...it won't work but power is available.
DerekB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2009, 05:18 PM   #262
Tech Master
 
DerekB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,421
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by veecee View Post
Were they really that much faster? I mean look at how skinny those motor wires are...

What? Everybody is running 1 gauge wire in 1/12...they are lighter, more flexible and don't get warm. Having too thick of wire is a waste and has more resistance.
DerekB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2009, 05:19 PM   #263
Tech Master
 
veecee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 1,439
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DerekB View Post
What? Everybody is running 1 gauge wire in 1/12...they are lighter, more flexible and don't get warm. Having too thick of wire is a waste and has more resistance.
Since when do thicker wires have more resistance?
__________________
SMOKEM --- XPRESS --- MONTECH --- SRT
veecee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2009, 05:20 PM   #264
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chandler, Arizona
Posts: 3,273
Send a message via AIM to Dawn Sanchez
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcos.J View Post
plus, how are they going to tech the software?? will there be a limit on timing?
This is why I'm watching this thread.

Also, I remember resistance and wire gauges as the bigger the wire,
the less resistance it has. The only way I remember this is to think of the current flowing through the wire in terms of water flowing in a pipe. Smaller pipes have more resistance to water flow, just like smaller wires have more electrical resistance.
Dawn Sanchez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2009, 05:20 PM   #265
Tech Elite
 
al dente's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: 5280 Raceway. Denver's finest RC facility
Posts: 4,765
Default

veecee - the thing is top fuel.

derek - you are wrong. we tried it to avoid the controversy. sorry if you were not there to see it.
__________________
Team CRC / Dumper's Speed Shop / Team Scream Racing / Black Art
RC America / FB/FX / Colorado On Road RC Club
5280 Raceway (5280raceway.com) home of the MILE HIGH INDOOR CHAMPS April 19-22, 2018
al dente is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2009, 05:23 PM   #266
Tech Elite
 
JasonC's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: oceanside ca
Posts: 4,099
Trader Rating: 120 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DerekB View Post
What? Everybody is running 1 gauge wire in 1/12...they are lighter, more flexible and don't get warm. Having too thick of wire is a waste and has more resistance.
hey beer... i need help on cod
__________________
#60 of the Original 100
If your not part of the solution
Your part of the problem !
JasonC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2009, 05:26 PM   #267
Tech Master
 
DerekB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,421
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by veecee View Post
Since when do thicker wires have more resistance?
We're dealing with low voltage. Think of a giant building size block of copper...if you connect 3.8 volts to it that doesn't mean it's more efficient. In the grand scheme of what we are dealing with the heavier wire offers NO advantage to run. So I am wrong in the terms of "less resistance" and should have used wasted energy.
DerekB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2009, 05:28 PM   #268
Tech Master
 
DerekB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,421
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dawn Sanchez View Post
This is why I'm watching this thread.

Also, I remember resistance and wire gauges as the bigger the wire,
the less resistance it has. The only way I remember this is to think of the current flowing through the wire in terms of water flowing in a pipe. Smaller pipes have more resistance to water flow, just like smaller wires have more electrical resistance.

Water is a bad example...that doesn't take into account flow rate. You can have more water coming out of a smaller pipe since the water being used depends on what's on both ends.

A giant pipe will have a slower velocity of water. A rocket uses this to get the thrust faster...your car exhaust does similar. Exhaust gas velocity is no 100% dependent of pipe size.
DerekB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2009, 05:37 PM   #269
Tech Lord
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,861
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DerekB View Post
We're dealing with low voltage. Think of a giant building size block of copper...if you connect 3.8 volts to it that doesn't mean it's more efficient. In the grand scheme of what we are dealing with the heavier wire offers NO advantage to run. So I am wrong in the terms of "less resistance" and should have used wasted energy.
Voltage doesn't matter. You can put 50,000,000 volts through a wire smaller than a human hair. It's current (amp draw) that determines the needed gauge of wire. But you are correct, no need to go over 16 gauge. It does the job, is more flexible and weighs less.
__________________
Sean. Certified speed crazed mowron.
Team Shepherd USA
www.ashfordhobby.com
wingracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2009, 05:39 PM   #270
Tech Master
 
DerekB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,421
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wingracer View Post
Voltage doesn't matter. You can put 50,000,000 volts through a wire smaller than a human hair. It's current (amp draw) that determines the needed gauge of wire. But you are correct, no need to go over 16 gauge. It does the job, is more flexible and weighs less.
yes, and to be more specific frequency also makes a difference. I'm not sure where we fall on brushless but since we've run ESCs at higher frequency voltage I'll be it also follow AC wire physics and only really flows on the outside skin of the wire...making thickness not as important.
DerekB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:28 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net