R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Old 09-07-2009, 02:26 PM   #1
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 4 (67%+)
Default Novak GTB or lrp sphere tc??

I'm new to the world of electric and have narrowed it down to these two esc. Which would
everyone recommend and why? The gtb I'm looking at has the lipo cut off just so everyone knows. I plan on running 17.5 stock sedan. Also, what's a good "C" rating to start out with? Is the 40c worth the difference over a 20c lipo? I'm looking to buy today so any help would be appreciated. I'm getting a used Orion platinum but I've been looking at the yeah racing from rcmart or the intellect from rcmarket as both of these fit in my price range. If there are other batteries that would fall into the $45-60 range please let me know!
Old 09-07-2009, 04:25 PM   #2
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shane369 View Post
I'm new to the world of electric and have narrowed it down to these two esc. Which would
everyone recommend and why? The gtb I'm looking at has the lipo cut off just so everyone knows. I plan on running 17.5 stock sedan. Also, what's a good "C" rating to start out with? Is the 40c worth the difference over a 20c lipo? I'm looking to buy today so any help would be appreciated. I'm getting a used Orion platinum but I've been looking at the yeah racing from rcmart or the intellect from rcmarket as both of these fit in my price range. If there are other batteries that would fall into the $45-60 range please let me know!
Either of the ESC's you've identified are solid choices. I like Novak for the customer service, but many people like LRP. "Orange vs. Blue" is an old-time debate, which speaks to their similarities more than their differences. Get your best price and call it good.