R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-28-2009, 06:17 AM   #1
Tech Adept
 
msbeckysboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 107
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Lightbulb Power Supply 12 Volt -12amp ATX Conversion

Does any of you use a ATX Case Power Supply for powering your charging systems ?
My best friend is a electrical engineer , and he was over checking out my RC set up and looked at my charging station .
He simply asked , why are you not getting your 12 volts from a computer power supply ?
Well , with two of them sitting in a closet , i was all ears .
It will deliver 5 volt - 32 amps
it will deliver 12 volt -12 amps continuous .
I will imagine just about everybody has an old ATX case ( desk top computer box ) from an old computer laying around .
Here is the link to step be step instructions for this simple but effective power supply .
http://www.wikihow.com/Convert-a-Com...b-Power-Supply

Last edited by msbeckysboy; 08-28-2009 at 06:20 AM. Reason: link bad
msbeckysboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2009, 06:22 AM   #2
Tech Adept
 
mattyau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 144
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to mattyau Send a message via Yahoo to mattyau
Default

its good to have for bashing around then im sure you will get to a event and get pulled up as people cry there not earthed correctly
__________________
.:T2'009:.
mattyau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2009, 06:31 AM   #3
Tech Adept
 
msbeckysboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 107
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

It is a power supply for your charger .
Not a charger .
That plugs into the wall 120 volt ac current .
Is your computer not earthly grounded ?
I thought so .
msbeckysboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2009, 06:34 AM   #4
Tech Master
 
kwkride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 1,115
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Being a computer analyst, I went this route the first time I saw how expensive the "hobby" power supplies were.
I know several others who are running converted ATX power supplies also.
They work great.
__________________
Jim
-

"If God had meant for us to drive through the front wheels, he never would have allowed us to invent the ring & pinion"
kwkride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2009, 11:04 AM   #5
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Delaware
Posts: 891
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Wow im glad i didnt throw out my old power supply...i am going to so do this now!

i had been searching for something like this, thanks for being here at the right time :P
Double D Donuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2009, 11:20 AM   #6
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 706
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

I have converted 2 power supplies now. I have one that does strickly +12V. Nice thing is it has two completely seperate 12V rails, one rated for 18A, and another for 12A. Lots of power there.

The other power supply I have kept the +5V rail available too. So now when I use it for operated my comm lathe, tire warmers and tire truer, I can use 5V, 7V, or 12V. The 5V rail is rated for 30Amps.

I de-soldered all the extra cables from the power supplythough, keeps tihngs alot neater.

Shawn.
Shawn68z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2009, 11:33 AM   #7
Tech Elite
 
Skiddins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Windsor, UK
Posts: 4,762
Default

Just in case some of you want to leave the original wiring connectors from the PSU in one piece;

__________________
Xray T4'18, T4'14 (Wet Car)
Xray X12 2018
Xray X1'16
wlrc.co.uk (West London Racing Centre)
RCDisco.co.uk
Skiddins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2009, 12:08 PM   #8
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: colorado
Posts: 192
Send a message via Skype™ to slotracer577
Default

they work well, do a search for how to convert as you need to put a resistor in the circuit so that they sense a load. Was using one, but started to buy industrial power supplies in a chinese market for cheap ($8 for 10 amp, $12/16.5 amp) so I now use those instead.

http://www.wikihow.com/Convert-a-Com...b-Power-Supply

John
slotracer577 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2009, 02:43 PM   #9
Tech Adept
 
msbeckysboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 107
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I skipped the resistor part all together .
I installed a second fan in it,s place .
Another thought would be to put a low voltage auto light instead of the fan .
That is your lead to sense a load .
Like the cool blue one shown in the one for sale .
It is super simple -
brown wire goes with all the orange .
The grey and black for the LED . Or just do not use them at all .
The pink goes with the red wires .
green and one black is the power on switch for on off
The purple lead is not mentioned in the scematic build .
Except for the comtradiction that the grey lead is for the LED -
Later in the tips it says it is used for powering the LED .
Other than that , i capped it off along with the grey lead for the LED .
If the fans are turning ,it is on .
Greg
msbeckysboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2009, 01:42 AM   #10
Tech Adept
 
guerd87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Hervey Bay, QLD
Posts: 104
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

They work good.

I stripped mine apart, de-soldered all the power cabling from the board

I then soldered a larger, thicker single cable to each of the points. Run out to a transfer box with female bullets in it.

You can get 3v, 5v and 12v. Handy for running motors in

Only problem i have with mine is you have to turn it off to plug something in otherwise the short circuit protection kicks in and you need to unplug from the wall.

On the main motherboard ATX cable keep the green wire. Connect it to a switch with any earth and you have power switch
guerd87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:20 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net