R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-28-2004, 08:54 AM   #1
Tech Elite
 
dr_hfuhuhurr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Westchester, NY
Posts: 4,502
Trader Rating: 75 (100%+)
Default Lathe Setup

Anyone have a good article or list of steps to ensure that a new lathe is properly setup and cutting square?

Blake
__________________
"There is a fine line between hobby and mental illness. Which side are you on?"

“Life is hard; it's harder if you're stupid.” - John Wayne
dr_hfuhuhurr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2004, 09:05 AM   #2
Tech Regular
 
SlobbaTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 423
Default

Just measure the comm with some calipers, if there is more than .002-.003" difference or taper then you need to get it fixed or replaced, the manufacturer or a machinist could do that. Then need to shim the bit in right spot so it's barely above the center of the comm.
SlobbaTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2004, 10:15 AM   #3
Tech Elite
 
popsracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: "Hot, Sunny Southern California"
Posts: 3,120
Default Lathe Setup

dr_hfuhuhurr;

A full size Lathe will always have the cutting edge of the Bit slightly below centerline.

This is the same on our miniature Com Lathes, but most of them rotate in the reverse so the bit will be mounted upside down. Try for .010 to .020 above the bearing blocks.
Mounted this way, if the Bit is installed sitting too low in the Lathe, it will hit the bearing blocks and be damaged. Just add a shim or two to clear the blocks and this should be very close.

If the Lathe was built square at the factory and the bit is sharp and set-up correctly, it should leave a nice true cut from front to rear.
popsracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2004, 10:16 AM   #4
Tech Elite
 
dr_hfuhuhurr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Westchester, NY
Posts: 4,502
Trader Rating: 75 (100%+)
Default

I understand how to shim the bit properly. What I am looking for is how to properly adjust the lathe so there is no taper on the comm.
__________________
"There is a fine line between hobby and mental illness. Which side are you on?"

“Life is hard; it's harder if you're stupid.” - John Wayne
dr_hfuhuhurr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2004, 10:44 AM   #5
Tech Champion
 
rayhuang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Cleveland Heights, Ohio
Posts: 6,511
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to rayhuang
Default

I sent mine to Chris Doseck to have him re-align it. I know its a lame answer-but its like a new lathe after he dialed it in.Some things in life I dont have to know how they work-as long as they work (i.e. plumbing, household wiring, my comm lathe.... )......
rayhuang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2004, 05:05 PM   #6
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: South Ga.
Posts: 615
Trader Rating: 71 (100%+)
Default

i have a cobra com lathe, and i had to make sure the com is cutting straight on bit during cutting. adjust the v blocks to where they are no tapering in your com cuts, and onces you get is set perfect becarefull to not let it get banged up in a pit box or else where ,, because of the chance of it getting knocked out of line again. if you just put it together they can be up to .004 off in play in the v blocks,just loosen the screws and adjust the postions of the v block to get a square cut, so i would make sure that is square,, and cutting true. also like people have post make sure the bit is cutting just above the center line in com. also make sure the lathe is truning in the right direction,, if the com seems its trying to jump out of the v block its spenning toward the bit its backwards,, the com should be spinning away from the bit,, or thats how it is on my cobra,, and it want be jumping around on you,, but for just make sure its cutting true with some old coms and calipers,, then you set,, i dont know if this helps any but maybe something will help you from my post.

BIGDON
BIGDON18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Hudy setup and lathe/CE X3/MM/T2 007/XB8/PT and MORE! ZachKipp R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 02-19-2008 03:49 PM
FS: Lathe, Stock Motors, Setup Board rctoyguy R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 25 01-30-2006 06:50 PM
Trinity Tru-Lathe and Integy F-1 setup Tools Deeds R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 12-14-2005 06:59 PM
Trinity Tru Lathe Setup Problems tminus3 Electric On-Road 27 04-05-2005 11:47 AM
WTB: Lathe setup cbrfreak R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 4 12-27-2004 01:40 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:24 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net