R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-27-2009, 02:12 PM   #1
Tech Champion
 
YR4Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: So Cal
Posts: 5,625
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default Does anyone make a brushless speedo for 1s lipo?

I've looked, LRP, Tekin, Novak, and Orion. All of these mfgs make a speedo that require a minimum of 4.8v

1S lipo has been around for some time now and has been used already in 1/12th and world GT and yet no one makes a speedo for it?

I know they make a receiver battery pack to get around the BEC issues and there is also a voltage booster/ regulator that does the same thing thats not the issue. The problem is, how are the brushless speedos able to function on 3.7v 1S lipo if they're minimum rated voltage is 4.8V? Wouldn't this damage the speedo in the long term?
YR4Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2009, 02:15 PM   #2
Tech Champion
 
liljohn1064's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Deerfield, WI
Posts: 5,578
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by YR4Dude View Post
I've looked, LRP, Tekin, Novak, and Orion. All of these mfgs make a speedo that require a minimum of 4.8v

1S lipo has been around for some time now and has been used already in 1/12th and world GT and yet no one makes a speedo for it?

I know they make a receiver battery pack to get around the BEC issues and there is also a voltage booster/ regulator that does the same thing thats not the issue. The problem is, how are the brushless speedos able to function on 3.7v 1S lipo if they're minimum rated voltage is 4.8V? Wouldn't this damage the speedo in the long term?
The Tekin RS has a 1S setting and works on 3.7V. It does require a booster or receiver pack. Novak is coming out with a 1S soon and has the booster built into it. Most of the others will work with a receiver pack or booster installed also.
__________________
John Higgins former student of The Ian Ruggles Negative Reinforcement Driving School. The "Team Principal".
liljohn1064 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2009, 02:27 PM   #3
Tech Master
 
EricF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: AZ
Posts: 1,547
Default

[QUOTE=YR4Dude;6265367]I've looked, LRP, Tekin, Novak, and Orion. All of these mfgs make a speedo that require a minimum of 4.8v
QUOTE]
Look again at novak; they make one 1s Havok and it comes with a booster installed for better servo, transponder action.
E
__________________
<
AE 12R5.2 & R6(x2) - TC7.1 convert, F6 - M05 - M05V2R

People who don't have to wait for the latest item, should not tell those that do, that "It's worth the wait"
EricF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2009, 02:39 PM   #4
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 238
Default New Novak Havoc

I think the new 1S Havoc with the booster built in from Novak requires a motor that has a functioning temp sensor so it must be run with the Novak motors or something with the temp function.

----------Mitch
__________________
Mitch Witteman
"Everybody goes faster!!"
www.teamcrc.com, www.teameam.com, www.tqwire.com, www.slapmastertools.com, Drinks Inc., SJS, KoonDog and M&G Roustabout
flyernemesis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2009, 02:42 PM   #5
Company Representative
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,891
Default

here is a link to our upcoming Havoc 1S products, customized for single cell racing:

Novak's Havoc 1S System
NovakTwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2009, 08:26 PM   #6
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,158
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

I run an Associated 12r5 with a Mongoose speedo with a 10.5ss(yes the 540 can) on a single cell with no booster with no problems. I set the esc on Nihm setting so the low voltage cutoff wouldn't kick in.

Try it with out the booster first. I have one in my box but haven't needed it.
Joe Maxey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2009, 08:38 PM   #7
Tech Master
 
CarlosG.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Falls City,TX
Posts: 1,145
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to CarlosG.
Default

Hey, Maxey, it is me Carlos from the SA group. You all are running 12th scale up there in Austin? Oh, yeah, I am running the GTB 4-cell with a Losi Micro T battery pack in my 12r5. But I hae also ran it without it as well on 1s lipo.
CarlosG. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 11:23 AM   #8
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,158
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CarlosG. View Post
Hey, Maxey, it is me Carlos from the SA group. You all are running 12th scale up there in Austin? Oh, yeah, I am running the GTB 4-cell with a Losi Micro T battery pack in my 12r5. But I hae also ran it without it as well on 1s lipo.
Hey bubba. We run a bucket class (12, 14 and 18th scale all together) we don't have enough for a class by its self. Maybe this winter.

Tell all the SA guys we say what's up bubba.
Joe Maxey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:53 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net