R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-24-2009, 05:32 AM   #1
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4
Default Brushless Problem. Help Needed Plz

Hey i know this is very vague but here goes, i have a brushless motor im unsure of the size and a caster racing brushless 25a esc and a team losi 2.4 ghz receiver and it glitches like you would not beleive. if i hold it in my hand off the ground it goes fine, but as soon as you place it into the ground it just jolts back and forth. if i walk up and give it a little help along it takes off and goes till i release the throttle all the way. the esc has no reset switch so im really stumped.. any help would be appreciated.
outtacontroltnx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2009, 11:49 AM   #2
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3,048
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

If it goes fine once you help it start then it is likely cogging. Its when the speed control cant figure out the position of the rotor in the brushless motor.

We really need more info to try and help you figure out why. What kind of car is this in? Is this the original motor/esc setup from the car? What batteries are you using? What gearing are you using?
burnineyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2009, 12:26 PM   #3
Tech Master
 
Danny-b23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Saskatoon, SK, Canada
Posts: 1,335
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Also, Sensored or Sensorless? If it's sensored your sensor wire is most likely broken or pinched.
__________________
RC America|XRAY|ORCA|Motiv|EA Motorsports
Danny Buck
WCICS Rep - Round 1, Saskatoon, SK
Danny-b23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2009, 06:50 PM   #4
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4
Default

hey im not too sure what you mean by sensor or sensorless? i have just noticed that the black wire from the motor only just hanging onto the motor and quite a few of the wire strands are hanging off. im going to start by resoldering all of these wires and trying again, if this black wire was loose or broken would i be correct in thining it would not be getting full power?
outtacontroltnx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2009, 07:00 PM   #5
Tech Master
 
Danny-b23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Saskatoon, SK, Canada
Posts: 1,335
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

That depends. There's three poles that you solder the wires on to. On sensored motors, there's also another wire that has some thin metal pins in it.
I've attached some images of sensored and sensorless endbells, so you can tell what kind you have.
The purple motor is sensorless design, and the black motor is sensored design. Notice the small white plug-in on the black motor's endbell. That's the sensor wire plug-in.

Usually as long as there's a metal to metal contact between the wire and one of the three solder tabs, it will run, but it sounds more like a sensor/magnet issue with the stuttering on throttle.
Attached Thumbnails
Brushless Problem. Help Needed Plz-vantage_bl_w.jpg   Brushless Problem. Help Needed Plz-hackere3.jpg  
__________________
RC America|XRAY|ORCA|Motiv|EA Motorsports
Danny Buck
WCICS Rep - Round 1, Saskatoon, SK
Danny-b23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2009, 07:09 PM   #6
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 106
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

What battery? If the ESC has a setting for lipo and NiMh and its set wrong then you can cause the receiver to run low on power and cut out. This also accounts for the working off the ground or for a short time when you push it.

I had a similar issue happen to me.
Tiger72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2009, 10:13 PM   #7
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4
Default

hey thanks for the quick reply, i have a sensorless engine i beleive, i only have 3 wires running into the engine. also i am running a lipo battery im unsure of the size, is there a way i could determine its size? i also hooked up a 7.2 nicad i think battery after i fully charged it and it did the same thing.
so im now starting to think i should try anonther esc, as im not sure how to reset this one it has no buttons or anything. it is a 25a caster racing esc if anyone knows how to reset?
outtacontroltnx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2009, 10:37 PM   #8
Tech Master
 
Danny-b23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Saskatoon, SK, Canada
Posts: 1,335
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by outtacontroltnx View Post
hey thanks for the quick reply, i have a sensorless engine i beleive, i only have 3 wires running into the engine. also i am running a lipo battery im unsure of the size, is there a way i could determine its size? i also hooked up a 7.2 nicad i think battery after i fully charged it and it did the same thing.
so im now starting to think i should try anonther esc, as im not sure how to reset this one it has no buttons or anything. it is a 25a caster racing esc if anyone knows how to reset?
The fact that it's sensorless would be one of the reasons for the cogging. But why it needs a bump to get going, I have no idea. If you can get ahold of one, I would try another motor, but since I've never seen the ESC, or run sensorless, I'm clueless as to how they work.
__________________
RC America|XRAY|ORCA|Motiv|EA Motorsports
Danny Buck
WCICS Rep - Round 1, Saskatoon, SK
Danny-b23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2009, 10:40 PM   #9
Tech Elite
 
pakk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,077
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

my car did this once when one of the 3 wires came loose. Just as you described, I could push it to go. But when it got slow enough, it would "cog"

--pakk
__________________
*Photon* *SC10 4x4*
RCRD
pakk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2009, 11:25 PM   #10
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3,048
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

The Caster Racing Brushless Systems are sensorless. I am pretty certain they are re-badged Hobbywings.
If you have any weak connections it will cause your issue. Fix your loose wires and I bet it works just fine, unless of course you already damaged something from using it too much with the problem
Sensorless motors have not had cogging issues in a long time, unless they are not being used properly.
burnineyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 12:08 AM   #11
Tech Master
 
Danny-b23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Saskatoon, SK, Canada
Posts: 1,335
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by burnineyes View Post
Sensorless motors have not had cogging issues in a long time, unless they are not being used properly.
Last I heard, no cogging was still one of the selling points for sensored.
__________________
RC America|XRAY|ORCA|Motiv|EA Motorsports
Danny Buck
WCICS Rep - Round 1, Saskatoon, SK
Danny-b23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 02:51 AM   #12
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4
Default

awesome thanks for the help guys im going to attempt to solder the wires back on properly and see if it helps.. now having one of you guys say it has happened to them before with this wire issue reasures me now that my setup may not be ready for the bin quite yet.
outtacontroltnx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:18 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net