R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-23-2009, 10:12 PM   #1
Tech Master
 
hound_dogs_01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,091
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default Thunder Power TP-610C Charger

Ok I'm trying to discharge my lipos as they have been sitting for a few weeks.... I may do some runnning Tomorrow... So heres my question...

I run SMC and only SMC lipos...

I have one lightning volts 5400/24C 2 cell lipo that my charger will discarge just fine...

Now I have a sportmax 4500/28C 2 cell lipo that everytime I hook it up to discharge is says error: warning wrong polarity...

I use deans connectors so I can't hook them up wrong and they are pluged into the charger correctly....

Is this a battery problem or a charger problem? The charger has the current 5.5 software....


Alex
hound_dogs_01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2009, 10:24 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
Johnny Wishbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,419
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Did you try to power cycle the 610? I have had the same problem with charge every once in a while and a power cycle seems to fix it up.

By the way 5.7 is the newest software for that charger.
Johnny Wishbone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2009, 10:26 PM   #3
Tech Master
 
hound_dogs_01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,091
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

power cycle meaning I need to unplug the charger and retry?

if thats what that means it didnt work, I tried it already...

Alex
hound_dogs_01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2009, 10:58 PM   #4
Tech Elite
 
pakk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,077
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

The same thing happens to me from time to time. I usually just have to disconnect and reconnect the battery and then it works. So it seems to do this for me when I have a bad connection.

Assuming the connections are good, the only thing left would be a bad battery. Have you put a meter to the battery to see what it reads?
__________________
*Photon* *SC10 4x4*
RCRD
pakk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2009, 11:09 PM   #5
Tech Master
 
hound_dogs_01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,091
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pakk View Post
The same thing happens to me from time to time. I usually just have to disconnect and reconnect the battery and then it works. So it seems to do this for me when I have a bad connection.

Assuming the connections are good, the only thing left would be a bad battery. Have you put a meter to the battery to see what it reads?
Charger says its at 7.65V

Alex
hound_dogs_01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2009, 11:29 PM   #6
Tech Elite
 
pakk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,077
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hound_dogs_01 View Post
Charger says its at 7.65V

Alex
Not with the charger. If the charger is saying the polarities are wrong, then it could be reading that pack wrong for what ever reason(connections?). Put a meter to it and see what it reads.
__________________
*Photon* *SC10 4x4*
RCRD
pakk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2009, 11:46 PM   #7
Tech Master
 
hound_dogs_01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,091
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

it charges the lipo just fine.... Just wont dis charge it

Alex

Last edited by hound_dogs_01; 08-24-2009 at 12:01 AM.
hound_dogs_01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2009, 12:17 AM   #8
Tech Elite
 
pakk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,077
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

I don't know what to tell ya then. If it is only happening with that pack, it has to be the pack. And, more than likely, I still have to believe it is a connection issue. I get the same error and reconnection the battery always works.

The charger only reads voltage. If it reads voltages out of wack, it will give that error.

And you might get more/better responses if this was in the Radio and Electronics section. There are some real helpful charger gurus in there.

--pakk
__________________
*Photon* *SC10 4x4*
RCRD
pakk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2009, 12:24 AM   #9
Tech Master
 
hound_dogs_01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,091
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

i figured it out my cut off was 3.9V per cell... which is 7.8V so it was under the cut off voltage... so when i went to discharge it it read it as a voltage error...

those instructions do come in handy lol

thanks for the replys guys!!!

Pakk youll have a PM in about 2 mniutes my good man


Alex
hound_dogs_01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2009, 04:13 PM   #10
Tech Elite
 
Johnny Wishbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,419
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

You should still get the 5.7 software for the competition mode charge.
Johnny Wishbone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2009, 04:38 PM   #11
Tech Elite
 
pakk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,077
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Wishbone View Post
You should still get the 5.7 software for the competition mode charge.
what exactly does this charge mode do?

--pakk
__________________
*Photon* *SC10 4x4*
RCRD
pakk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2009, 04:46 PM   #12
Tech Elite
 
Johnny Wishbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,419
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

8.44 volts at peak.
Johnny Wishbone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2009, 04:55 PM   #13
Tech Elite
 
JimmyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 4,443
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I've been using the competition mode for several months now. You have to watch it at some tracks that tech for voltage before you race. At my home track my pack is usually 8.43v on the track meter and my personal meter. But I went to the Nats track at the Coliseum and their meter reads a little high. My voltage was 8.45v. So that would be illegal for Roar. I had to run my car full throttle for about 10 or so seconds to bring it down to 8.43v. I know the LRP Pulsar 3 is adjustable. So I asked Thunderpower if we could have it adjustable +/- 0.05 volts, but they said no. So you need to watch this. Just a little heads up.
__________________
M.J. McIntyre

Yokomo YRX12
Tamiya TB03
JimmyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2009, 04:59 PM   #14
Tech Champion
 
RC MARKET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: HK
Posts: 6,172
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

TP-610C same Hot Power H610C ?
RC MARKET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2009, 06:43 PM   #15
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Lexington, Ky
Posts: 763
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

Do you have to send the charger back for the newest software? How do you know what software you currently have?
bmcallister is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electric 1/8th Scale conversion kits. DJ1978 Electric Off-Road 19923 06-12-2017 06:16 AM
Losi 1/8 8ight E 4wd Thread tyhodge07 Electric Off-Road 8898 11-17-2015 06:31 PM
Thunder Power Rc 40C 5000 Lipo ThunderPowerRC Electric On-Road 439 02-25-2010 04:35 PM
Werks, Chargers, M8 parts, Diecast Cars, Trophy, Other Stuff ade R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 26 07-26-2009 05:13 AM
FS Thunder Power 1010C charger and TP-210V Balancer ffpm46 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 22 09-05-2008 08:37 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:57 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net