Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Thunder Power TP-610C Charger >

Thunder Power TP-610C Charger

Thunder Power TP-610C Charger

Old 04-08-2010, 10:43 AM
  #46  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (8)
 
F1fletch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 322
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

What does the PLUS CHG ON/OFF for Lipo's do?
F1fletch is offline  
Old 04-08-2010, 05:47 PM
  #47  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (120)
 
Potoczak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 3,708
Trader Rating: 120 (100%+)
Default

Hey guys i have a couple for newbe questions. Just starting out in onroad touring. i have the 610c charger and a couple of thunderpower 5200 mah 50c 2s packs. When i get to the screen to charge the packs where is says lipo charge, 2s pack, C=1.00A . What does the c=1.00a mean and what should it be set at. Also do i need to change any setting when i balance charge my packs or does it do it by itself?? Thanks for any input!!
Potoczak is offline  
Old 04-08-2010, 10:14 PM
  #48  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (6)
 
Johnny Wishbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,646
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by F1fletch View Post
What does the PLUS CHG ON/OFF for Lipo's do?
Where do you get that message from, I can't seem to find it on my 610C ?
Johnny Wishbone is offline  
Old 04-08-2010, 10:16 PM
  #49  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (6)
 
Johnny Wishbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,646
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Potoczak View Post
Hey guys i have a couple for newbe questions. Just starting out in onroad touring. i have the 610c charger and a couple of thunderpower 5200 mah 50c 2s packs. When i get to the screen to charge the packs where is says lipo charge, 2s pack, C=1.00A . What does the c=1.00a mean and what should it be set at. Also do i need to change any setting when i balance charge my packs or does it do it by itself?? Thanks for any input!!
The "c" is the charge rate so if you want to charge your 5200 pack at 1C rate you have to increase your "c" from 1.00 to 5.20
Johnny Wishbone is offline  
Old 04-09-2010, 11:18 AM
  #50  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (8)
 
F1fletch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 322
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Johnny Wishbone View Post
Where do you get that message from, I can't seem to find it on my 610C ?
It is in the 5.6 FW maybe you have an earlier rev
F1fletch is offline  
Old 04-09-2010, 11:33 AM
  #51  
Tech Adept
 
ThunderPowerRC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 100
Default

Originally Posted by F1fletch View Post
What does the PLUS CHG ON/OFF for Lipo's do?
On the V5.6 and newer firmware. Plus mode or compitition mode is in the set up part of the charger. With the setting in 100% charge and the Plus/ Comp mode it with change the charge cure and raise the cutoff to 4.2v per cell. V5.6 and 5.7 only do this in 2 cell mode. V5.8 will do 1-4 cells.
ThunderPowerRC is offline  
Old 04-09-2010, 11:40 AM
  #52  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (8)
 
F1fletch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 322
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

So if I leave it at 100% and turn the plus charge on will the packs peak higher or just stop at 8.4. Isn't it best left off so if the pack can peak higher it will?
F1fletch is offline  
Old 04-09-2010, 11:57 AM
  #53  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 3,799
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by ThunderPowerRC View Post
On the V5.6 and newer firmware. Plus mode or compitition mode is in the set up part of the charger. With the setting in 100% charge and the Plus/ Comp mode it with change the charge cure and raise the cutoff to 4.2v per cell. V5.6 and 5.7 only do this in 2 cell mode. V5.8 will do 1-4 cells.
I bought my 610c over a year ago. How important are these firmware updates, and how do I get them?
stitchy is offline  
Old 04-18-2010, 09:11 PM
  #54  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (120)
 
Potoczak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 3,708
Trader Rating: 120 (100%+)
Default

Need some help charging one of my thunderpower 5200mah 50c/100c packs with my 610c charger! i am trying to balance charge/ discharge this pack. i have tried to charge it really really slow and also discharge it really really slow and for some reason the 1 cell does not catch up to the other cell. Is this a bad pack or am i doing something wrong. Please help!!!
Potoczak is offline  
Old 04-18-2010, 09:22 PM
  #55  
Tech Master
iTrader: (69)
 
lil3j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sunny South
Posts: 1,004
Trader Rating: 69 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by ThunderPowerRC View Post
On the V5.6 and newer firmware. Plus mode or compitition mode is in the set up part of the charger. With the setting in 100% charge and the Plus/ Comp mode it with change the charge cure and raise the cutoff to 4.2v per cell. V5.6 and 5.7 only do this in 2 cell mode. V5.8 will do 1-4 cells.
How do I get v5.8? I have 5.7 now. Thanks
lil3j is offline  
Old 04-27-2010, 09:43 AM
  #56  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 3,799
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by stitchy View Post
I bought my 610c over a year ago. How important are these firmware updates, and how do I get them?
?
stitchy is offline  
Old 04-27-2010, 12:28 PM
  #57  
Tech Adept
 
ThunderPowerRC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 100
Default

E-Mail me at [email protected]. If you have a g-mail account it won't allow the update to go through. Please send me a non g-mail account to reply to.
ThunderPowerRC is offline  
Old 07-11-2010, 11:06 PM
  #58  
Tech Master
iTrader: (29)
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,231
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

How do you go about balancing a lipo with the bullet connectors with this charger? Is there a wire harness made with the 4mm bullets and the smaller balance bullet connector?
CraigX is offline  
Old 09-01-2010, 07:24 AM
  #59  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 232
Default saw it on tv

I was going to get the venom charger or wait for the LRP. I saw the tp610c on www.rctvlive.com and they said it was a good charger. from reading this thread it looks like they were right. going to take the plunge for $120 you cant go wrong.
microcrazy24 is offline  
Old 09-14-2010, 08:46 PM
  #60  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (20)
 
dzstr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Lakeland, FL
Posts: 560
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Has anyone used the USB programmer with 64bit Vista? I downloaded the installer from the TP website and installed but when I plug in the programmer the driver is not found.
dzstr is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.