R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-25-2009, 12:45 AM   #31
Tech Elite
 
Johnny Wishbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,419
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Wow, thats weird. I run the same packs (SMC 6000/28C) and rolled my TP610 back to 5.5 software and it only gives me 8.39.......just weird.
Johnny Wishbone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 12:51 AM   #32
Tech Master
 
hound_dogs_01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,091
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

I no longer have the packs other wise I would charge and show pics... Both packs had a balance wire break, sent them in and I got back 2 new 5400/24C packs, since theyre no longer producing the 6000/28C packs....

How hard is it to update firmware? What are the steps to do so?

Alex
hound_dogs_01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 01:05 AM   #33
Tech Elite
 
Johnny Wishbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,419
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Download, open zip file, run exe, done. Charger has to be on the power supply to write the software over, takes about 15-20 seconds.
Johnny Wishbone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 01:21 AM   #34
Tech Master
 
hound_dogs_01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,091
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

thanks Johnny!!!! i should have the 5.7V by the end of the week I'm guessing.... Depending on how long it take to get an e-mail back from thunder power

Alex
hound_dogs_01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 09:21 AM   #35
Tech Fanatic
 
m8commando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Brentwood Estates, CA
Posts: 942
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

I have 2 thunder Power 610-C's chargers in excellent condition....and thunder power battery pack almost new 40c 5000. Please go to For sale thread!
__________________
JAF RACING / AIRTRONICS
m8commando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2009, 07:49 PM   #36
Tech Elite
 
NOFX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sydney
Posts: 4,314
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Hi

I just wanted to ask people who use this charger, if being able to charge at 10 amps is worth it, i normally run 5000mah packs, maybe using 2000-2300 mah in a race, so normally with my 5 amp charger it takes around 25 mins to top the lipos back up, can i expect the thunder power charger to go close to halving that, to around a 15 minute top up time, my packs are all at least 2c charge rate, i know on a lot of chargers (swallow for example)the time taken at the end of the charge is really long, is this the case with the thunderpower?

thanks in advance for any help you can offer
__________________
2018 Castle Hill Vintage Enduro (Return of the Dukes) - 8th of April, 2018
2018 Castle Hill Vintage Festival Date - TBA
www.hillsoffroadrc.com
Bathurst Vintage Enduro - 17th March, 2018 - 1st round of the NSW Vintage enduro Championship
NOFX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 10:17 AM   #37
Tech Elite
 
JayL's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ca
Posts: 2,880
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NOFX View Post
Hi

I just wanted to ask people who use this charger, if being able to charge at 10 amps is worth it, i normally run 5000mah packs, maybe using 2000-2300 mah in a race, so normally with my 5 amp charger it takes around 25 mins to top the lipos back up, can i expect the thunder power charger to go close to halving that, to around a 15 minute top up time, my packs are all at least 2c charge rate, i know on a lot of chargers (swallow for example)the time taken at the end of the charge is really long, is this the case with the thunderpower?

thanks in advance for any help you can offer
it's more like a 25% savings of time...when you ramp up higher, 10 amps, it takes longer to come back down to 0
JayL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2009, 11:23 PM   #38
Tech Regular
 
rinkrat99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 420
Send a message via AIM to rinkrat99
Default

A quick question for you TP610 owners. I have been charging a 4900pack after a race on a Multiplex set at 1C. I noticed that the charger will move out of CC mode before 4.1V per cell. At 4.2V the CV is at 1 A thus taking it very long to recharge 2200 mA. How does the 610 do for a CC/CV profile? Will it hold at 1C until 4.2V or does it drop sooner?

Thanks
rinkrat99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2009, 08:40 AM   #39
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: colorado
Posts: 192
Send a message via Skype™ to slotracer577
Default

I have two of the 610C's and have been using them for 1 cell packs. I have charged at up to 8 amps and it holds the 8 amps all the way to 4.2 volts. have upgraded to 5.7 but as we know that doesnt have the higher voltage for 1 cell yet. So far the chargers have worked well.
__________________
Team Epic
slotracer577 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2009, 10:02 AM   #40
Tech Master
 
adamge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Saskatoon,SK Canada
Posts: 1,654
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

rink, something must be set wrong. It should hold the full charge rate (Amps) until it hits 4.20V per cell. It might start displaying "CV" before 4.20, but shouldn't slow down until then.
__________________
When someone is intent on excelling in an otherwise laudable manner, does he not desire to inflict pain on others by means of his exalted status and enjoy the envy he arouses? Is there not an anticipated delight in an artist's ability to defeat his artistic rivals, which heightens his euphoria in creation?
-Nietzsche
adamge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2009, 05:52 PM   #41
Tech Elite
 
JimmyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 4,443
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by slotracer577 View Post
I have two of the 610C's and have been using them for 1 cell packs. I have charged at up to 8 amps and it holds the 8 amps all the way to 4.2 volts. have upgraded to 5.7 but as we know that doesnt have the higher voltage for 1 cell yet. So far the chargers have worked well.
Competition mode doesn't matter anymore (at least for Roar races) because new Roar rules state battery voltage cannot go above 8.4v for 2s lipo and 4.2v for 1s lipo for the 2010 rule book.

But anyways, mine will hold high amp charge rate until it gets close to the voltage where it will then taper off the amperage.
__________________
M.J. McIntyre

Yokomo YRX12
Tamiya TB03
JimmyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2009, 08:56 AM   #42
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: colorado
Posts: 192
Send a message via Skype™ to slotracer577
Default

Some of us dont race roar and with the Tour rules at 4.22 for one cell, would like a bit more than I am getting now. Once the charger shuts off, the packs drop down to 4.19, 4.17.

John
__________________
Team Epic
slotracer577 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2009, 10:48 PM   #43
Tech Regular
 
rinkrat99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 420
Send a message via AIM to rinkrat99
Default

Thanks for the feedback.

FYI - The MultiPlex has a soft charge cycle. There cutoff is at less than 4.2 and I think its 4.1 but mine seems to be less than that.

The MultiPlex is a much safer charger in terms of the charge profile but takes a while to complete a charge cycle.


Thanks
rinkrat99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2009, 07:16 AM   #44
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,276
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Is there any way to balance charge two 2s batteries at once? It would just be a matter of hooking up to the 4s with the right cable right?
__________________
Support those that support us

https://ActivRC.com http://TeamPowersUSA.net https://www.1upracing.com/ http://TeamAssociated.com
Brian Bosley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2009, 08:48 AM   #45
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,276
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Bosley View Post
Is there any way to balance charge two 2s batteries at once? It would just be a matter of hooking up to the 4s with the right cable right?
This does work, you can charge two as a 4S using a Y adapter on the main power lines and then a 6s adapter with the correct pins for the balancer. You are still basically using the balance leads to hop between cells, so one battery has one less wire and you end up with 5 going into the 6s (7 wire) tap.
__________________
Support those that support us

https://ActivRC.com http://TeamPowersUSA.net https://www.1upracing.com/ http://TeamAssociated.com
Brian Bosley is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electric 1/8th Scale conversion kits. DJ1978 Electric Off-Road 19923 06-12-2017 06:16 AM
Losi 1/8 8ight E 4wd Thread tyhodge07 Electric Off-Road 8898 11-17-2015 06:31 PM
Thunder Power Rc 40C 5000 Lipo ThunderPowerRC Electric On-Road 439 02-25-2010 04:35 PM
Werks, Chargers, M8 parts, Diecast Cars, Trophy, Other Stuff ade R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 26 07-26-2009 05:13 AM
FS Thunder Power 1010C charger and TP-210V Balancer ffpm46 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 22 09-05-2008 08:37 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:53 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net