Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Thunder Power TP-610C Charger >

Thunder Power TP-610C Charger

Thunder Power TP-610C Charger

Old 08-25-2009, 12:45 AM
  #31  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (6)
 
Johnny Wishbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,646
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Wow, thats weird. I run the same packs (SMC 6000/28C) and rolled my TP610 back to 5.5 software and it only gives me 8.39.......just weird.
Johnny Wishbone is offline  
Old 08-25-2009, 12:51 AM
  #32  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (16)
 
hound_dogs_01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,091
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

I no longer have the packs other wise I would charge and show pics... Both packs had a balance wire break, sent them in and I got back 2 new 5400/24C packs, since theyre no longer producing the 6000/28C packs....

How hard is it to update firmware? What are the steps to do so?

Alex
hound_dogs_01 is offline  
Old 08-25-2009, 01:05 AM
  #33  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (6)
 
Johnny Wishbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,646
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Download, open zip file, run exe, done. Charger has to be on the power supply to write the software over, takes about 15-20 seconds.
Johnny Wishbone is offline  
Old 08-25-2009, 01:21 AM
  #34  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (16)
 
hound_dogs_01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,091
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

thanks Johnny!!!! i should have the 5.7V by the end of the week I'm guessing.... Depending on how long it take to get an e-mail back from thunder power

Alex
hound_dogs_01 is offline  
Old 08-25-2009, 09:21 AM
  #35  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (7)
 
m8commando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Brentwood Estates, CA
Posts: 942
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

I have 2 thunder Power 610-C's chargers in excellent condition....and thunder power battery pack almost new 40c 5000. Please go to For sale thread!
m8commando is offline  
Old 10-20-2009, 07:49 PM
  #36  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (25)
 
NOFX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sydney
Posts: 4,464
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Hi

I just wanted to ask people who use this charger, if being able to charge at 10 amps is worth it, i normally run 5000mah packs, maybe using 2000-2300 mah in a race, so normally with my 5 amp charger it takes around 25 mins to top the lipos back up, can i expect the thunder power charger to go close to halving that, to around a 15 minute top up time, my packs are all at least 2c charge rate, i know on a lot of chargers (swallow for example)the time taken at the end of the charge is really long, is this the case with the thunderpower?

thanks in advance for any help you can offer
NOFX is offline  
Old 10-21-2009, 10:17 AM
  #37  
R/C Tech Elite Member
 
JayL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ca
Posts: 3,091
Default

Originally Posted by NOFX View Post
Hi

I just wanted to ask people who use this charger, if being able to charge at 10 amps is worth it, i normally run 5000mah packs, maybe using 2000-2300 mah in a race, so normally with my 5 amp charger it takes around 25 mins to top the lipos back up, can i expect the thunder power charger to go close to halving that, to around a 15 minute top up time, my packs are all at least 2c charge rate, i know on a lot of chargers (swallow for example)the time taken at the end of the charge is really long, is this the case with the thunderpower?

thanks in advance for any help you can offer
it's more like a 25% savings of time...when you ramp up higher, 10 amps, it takes longer to come back down to 0
JayL is offline  
Old 10-23-2009, 11:23 PM
  #38  
Tech Regular
 
rinkrat99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 420
Default

A quick question for you TP610 owners. I have been charging a 4900pack after a race on a Multiplex set at 1C. I noticed that the charger will move out of CC mode before 4.1V per cell. At 4.2V the CV is at 1 A thus taking it very long to recharge 2200 mA. How does the 610 do for a CC/CV profile? Will it hold at 1C until 4.2V or does it drop sooner?

Thanks
rinkrat99 is offline  
Old 10-24-2009, 08:40 AM
  #39  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: colorado
Posts: 237
Default

I have two of the 610C's and have been using them for 1 cell packs. I have charged at up to 8 amps and it holds the 8 amps all the way to 4.2 volts. have upgraded to 5.7 but as we know that doesnt have the higher voltage for 1 cell yet. So far the chargers have worked well.
slotracer577 is offline  
Old 10-24-2009, 10:02 AM
  #40  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
adamge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Saskatoon,SK Canada
Posts: 1,654
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

rink, something must be set wrong. It should hold the full charge rate (Amps) until it hits 4.20V per cell. It might start displaying "CV" before 4.20, but shouldn't slow down until then.
adamge is offline  
Old 10-24-2009, 05:52 PM
  #41  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
JimmyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 4,447
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by slotracer577 View Post
I have two of the 610C's and have been using them for 1 cell packs. I have charged at up to 8 amps and it holds the 8 amps all the way to 4.2 volts. have upgraded to 5.7 but as we know that doesnt have the higher voltage for 1 cell yet. So far the chargers have worked well.
Competition mode doesn't matter anymore (at least for Roar races) because new Roar rules state battery voltage cannot go above 8.4v for 2s lipo and 4.2v for 1s lipo for the 2010 rule book.

But anyways, mine will hold high amp charge rate until it gets close to the voltage where it will then taper off the amperage.
JimmyMac is offline  
Old 10-25-2009, 08:56 AM
  #42  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: colorado
Posts: 237
Default

Some of us dont race roar and with the Tour rules at 4.22 for one cell, would like a bit more than I am getting now. Once the charger shuts off, the packs drop down to 4.19, 4.17.

John
slotracer577 is offline  
Old 10-25-2009, 10:48 PM
  #43  
Tech Regular
 
rinkrat99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 420
Default

Thanks for the feedback.

FYI - The MultiPlex has a soft charge cycle. There cutoff is at less than 4.2 and I think its 4.1 but mine seems to be less than that.

The MultiPlex is a much safer charger in terms of the charge profile but takes a while to complete a charge cycle.


Thanks
rinkrat99 is offline  
Old 10-26-2009, 07:16 AM
  #44  
Tech Master
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,479
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Is there any way to balance charge two 2s batteries at once? It would just be a matter of hooking up to the 4s with the right cable right?
Brian Bosley is offline  
Old 10-30-2009, 08:48 AM
  #45  
Tech Master
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,479
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Brian Bosley View Post
Is there any way to balance charge two 2s batteries at once? It would just be a matter of hooking up to the 4s with the right cable right?
This does work, you can charge two as a 4S using a Y adapter on the main power lines and then a 6s adapter with the correct pins for the balancer. You are still basically using the balance leads to hop between cells, so one battery has one less wire and you end up with 5 going into the 6s (7 wire) tap.
Brian Bosley is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.