R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-24-2009, 06:54 PM   #16
Tech Fanatic
 
lil3j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sunny South
Posts: 824
Trader Rating: 60 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to lil3j
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimmyMac View Post
I've been using the competition mode for several months now. You have to watch it at some tracks that tech for voltage before you race. At my home track my pack is usually 8.43v on the track meter and my personal meter. But I went to the Nats track at the Coliseum and their meter reads a little high. My voltage was 8.45v. So that would be illegal for Roar. I had to run my car full throttle for about 10 or so seconds to bring it down to 8.43v. I know the LRP Pulsar 3 is adjustable. So I asked Thunderpower if we could have it adjustable +/- 0.05 volts, but they said no. So you need to watch this. Just a little heads up.
I also have one of these chargers. How do you update it to the newest software? Thanks in advance
__________________
CMH Customs
(Brian) Colonial Photo and Hobby
2 Lanes 1 Winner
lil3j is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2009, 07:05 PM   #17
Tech Elite
 
JimmyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 4,443
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lil3j View Post
I also have one of these chargers. How do you update it to the newest software? Thanks in advance
Buy one of these. http://www.nexusracing.com/product_i...oducts_id=2793

I think you can get the lastest software on Thunderpowers website. I think. I haven't checked. I got my software via email from the TP guys on here. I'll have to look for the link. But that cable you buy plugs into the port on the side of the charger with the red sticker over it.
__________________
M.J. McIntyre

Yokomo YRX12
Tamiya TB03
JimmyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2009, 07:07 PM   #18
Tech Elite
 
JimmyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 4,443
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I checked their website, I don't see it. http://thunderpowerrc.com/html/download.htm

You'll have to email/PM the Thunderpower guys on here for it.

As for how to tell, when you first plug in the charger to the powersupply, you'll see the boot up screen and it'll tell you which version you have.
__________________
M.J. McIntyre

Yokomo YRX12
Tamiya TB03
JimmyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2009, 07:17 PM   #19
Tech Fanatic
 
lil3j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sunny South
Posts: 824
Trader Rating: 60 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to lil3j
Default

Ok, thanks for the information
__________________
CMH Customs
(Brian) Colonial Photo and Hobby
2 Lanes 1 Winner
lil3j is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2009, 07:20 PM   #20
Regional Moderator
 
mrrcguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Jonesboro Akansas
Posts: 3,157
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Is this "Competition Mode" a mode separate from the Lipo Balance Charge Mode? Or, is it just an adjustment to the cut off level?
mrrcguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2009, 07:22 PM   #21
Tech Master
 
hound_dogs_01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,091
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

JimmyMac, i have the 5.5 software and my packs charge up to 8.45 volts....

So what will the 5.7 do for me?

Alex
hound_dogs_01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2009, 08:04 PM   #22
Tech Elite
 
JimmyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 4,443
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hound_dogs_01 View Post
JimmyMac, i have the 5.5 software and my packs charge up to 8.45 volts....

So what will the 5.7 do for me?

Alex
I guess you don't need it. When I had 5.5 or whatever it was before, mine would only charge to 8.39v according to the track volt meter and my personal meter. I can't remember what the other feature(s) were. You can do a search in the Thunderpower thread. I thought they gave more info on it. I don't remember, it was awhile back.

Competition Mode is under the settings part where you select lipo, or nimh, or 100% charge, or 50% charge, or whatever other settings there were. I think it's where you go under the settings by holding down the first button. Then it brings up your options. Competition mode is not adjustable. It just makes your packs peak at the Roar limit. Like I said above, before the upgrade, mine would peak at 8.39v, after the upgrade, mine would peak at 8.43v.
__________________
M.J. McIntyre

Yokomo YRX12
Tamiya TB03
JimmyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2009, 08:11 PM   #23
Tech Elite
 
JimmyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 4,443
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Not much information, but you can try to email him. http://www.rctech.net/forum/electric...0-lipo-24.html
__________________
M.J. McIntyre

Yokomo YRX12
Tamiya TB03
JimmyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2009, 08:15 PM   #24
Tech Master
 
hound_dogs_01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,091
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

thanks for the info jimmymac I may pick up one of those cables since nexxus is right down the street from me....

I'm about to e-mail the guy in just a minute....

Alex
hound_dogs_01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2009, 09:12 PM   #25
Tech Elite
 
Johnny Wishbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,419
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hound_dogs_01 View Post
JimmyMac, i have the 5.5 software and my packs charge up to 8.45 volts....

So what will the 5.7 do for me?

Alex
If it doesn't give you the comp option in the setup mode, which you can turn on or off, I have never seen a 5.5 TP charger that would charge the cells over 8.40 volts. And I've seen at least 6 or more of them from 5.2 and up software wise. Where are you seeing that voltage? Is that your internal reading or a external meter reading?

I think the 5.7 software can be found in the forum thread for TP5000/40C battery packs, haven't seen it for a while, but if I find it I'll post so it get closer to the top again.

Okay I did some digging around and this is the quote from the guys at TP about the 5.7 software.


610C Charger firmware update

We have decided to hold off in posting version 5.7 firmware for the 610C charger on our web site at this time. There are a couple other changes we would like to do and it would be less confusing to post it at this time. If you would like version 5.7 and have a PGM V2 programmer and would like to update your charger until we can make all the changes we would like to do. E-mail me at [email protected] and I will send you the 5.7 update with instructions.

Sorry for the delay and inconvenience at this time.

Thats the last update, so just follow the above to get the update, unless Jim decides to post it.

Last edited by Johnny Wishbone; 08-24-2009 at 09:31 PM.
Johnny Wishbone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2009, 09:41 PM   #26
Tech Master
 
hound_dogs_01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,091
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Johnny, my 6000packs would always charge to 8.43V my 5400 charges the 8.41V and my 4500's carge to 8.38V... Tested with a volt meter and when my packs finish charging it shows me the same reading on my charger.....

doe sthe update make discarging faster? Will it discharge at 10A? lol I'm draining my 4500SMC to do a "cycle" and its been on there for 3 hours now discharging and only down to 7.5V...

My packs rarely ever see below 7Volts....

Alex
hound_dogs_01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2009, 09:43 PM   #27
Tech Elite
 
pakk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,077
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

What exactly is included in that kit for $25? That just seems a bit much. This extra ~.05v, you guys getting better hole shots or maybe quicker first few laps? Does TP charge if I send my charger in?

and my charger charges to 8.38 to 8.39.

--pakk
__________________
*Photon* *SC10 4x4*
RCRD
pakk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2009, 09:52 PM   #28
Tech Master
 
hound_dogs_01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,091
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

it's $25 so buy it then turn around and sell it for $22 shiped and you get the new software ALOT FASTER and your only out $5 max....

Thats what i may do any how lol

Alex
hound_dogs_01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 12:25 AM   #29
Tech Elite
 
Johnny Wishbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,419
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pakk View Post
What exactly is included in that kit for $25? That just seems a bit much. This extra ~.05v, you guys getting better hole shots or maybe quicker first few laps? Does TP charge if I send my charger in?

and my charger charges to 8.38 to 8.39.

--pakk
You get the cable and a USB interface to link the computer to the charger. Its not a one shot thing, as if you read the post from Jim, they are working on other upgrades and option changes as well. A straight cable won't work and the cheap interface won't work either, been there tried that.

If your saying thats your voltages, I can't argue with you, but it sure sounds strange that your the only guy seeing over 8.39 with 5.5 software.
Johnny Wishbone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 12:33 AM   #30
Tech Master
 
hound_dogs_01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,091
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

it was only when I had the SMC 6000mah/28C sport max lipos they would go to 8.43.... none of my other packs go above 8.41...

I emailed [email protected] to get the update and I'm going to buy the data cable from nexus on wenesday....


Alex
hound_dogs_01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electric 1/8th Scale conversion kits. DJ1978 Electric Off-Road 19923 06-12-2017 06:16 AM
Losi 1/8 8ight E 4wd Thread tyhodge07 Electric Off-Road 8898 11-17-2015 06:31 PM
Thunder Power Rc 40C 5000 Lipo ThunderPowerRC Electric On-Road 439 02-25-2010 04:35 PM
Werks, Chargers, M8 parts, Diecast Cars, Trophy, Other Stuff ade R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 26 07-26-2009 05:13 AM
FS Thunder Power 1010C charger and TP-210V Balancer ffpm46 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 22 09-05-2008 08:37 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:29 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net