R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-26-2004, 03:04 PM   #1
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: LI, New York
Posts: 370
Default Futaba 3PK HRS with LRP QC2

Hi, has anyone try this combo?

Futaba 3PK radio
Futaba HRS receiver
LRP Quantum Competition 2 ESC
Futaba S9451 Digital Servo

I'm having problem with glitching. I read the manual and it say it might need to use DSC/Two-Way cable to set it up. Anyone know where to get those cable?

BTW If I use PCM receiver instead of HRS, everthing works great.

I like to use HRS if I can, Cause I can tell right away with HRS, the steering is very sensitive, meaning the movement is super smooth.
Jasonchi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2004, 03:17 PM   #2
Tech Regular
 
ChvyPwr-BB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Lawrence, Kansas
Posts: 344
Send a message via AIM to ChvyPwr-BB
Default

ya i kind of had the same problem with a associated b4. i put my 3pk in my friends b4 with the hrs receiver and a hitec digital 5645 servo. it gliched pretty badly. but the when i switched receivers to a hitec 3 channel it worked fine. Must be something that has to be set up correctly??
__________________
Team Associated, Mugen, Novarossi Power, Futaba, Core Creations. L Towns Finest
ChvyPwr-BB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2004, 03:23 PM   #3
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: LI, New York
Posts: 370
Default

The manual say it might need to use DSC/Two-Way core. But I have no idea where to find it.

Tower Hobbies has DSC, but I can't find the TWO-WAY core..
Jasonchi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2004, 03:25 PM   #4
Tech Regular
 
ChvyPwr-BB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Lawrence, Kansas
Posts: 344
Send a message via AIM to ChvyPwr-BB
Default

some one told me that you can only use a dsc cord if your on pcm but i have no clue.
__________________
Team Associated, Mugen, Novarossi Power, Futaba, Core Creations. L Towns Finest
ChvyPwr-BB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2004, 03:47 PM   #5
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Auburn, Wa
Posts: 2,265
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Jason try reversing your throttle switch and resetting the speedo. On the 1st gen quantum it showed up as a glitch but when reversed, all was fine.
__________________
UF1 Seattle - SPEEDWERKES - VBC Racing - Team ORCA
Difuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2004, 07:36 PM   #6
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: LI, New York
Posts: 370
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Difuser
Jason try reversing your throttle switch and resetting the speedo. On the 1st gen quantum it showed up as a glitch but when reversed, all was fine.

Thanks, I've just tried it. The glitches while hitting the throttle is gone, but when you tap on the brake, it still glitches.
Jasonchi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2004, 11:22 PM   #7
Tech Master
 
linger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Retired
Posts: 1,132
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Hi Jason,
I have almost the same combo, Futaba 3PK, HRS, Quantum 1, 9450 servo. Hardly any glitching problems at all.
Once I did have problems with the Quantum 1 plug. I'm assuming its the same with the Quantum 2 plug. The wires tend to work themselves loose from the plug causing an intermittent connection and a glitch. A dab of shoe goo on the plug fixed that. Since you mention that most of the glitching comes from accelerating and braking, is the comm in good shape? Does your motor arc a lot? Are your motor capacitors in good shape? Maybe your comm needs a cut or your brushes haven't been broken in properly. My D5 motors tended to glitch badly if I didn't break them in long enough.
Good luck!
linger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2004, 12:34 AM   #8
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 277
Send a message via ICQ to lawndoggie Send a message via Yahoo to lawndoggie
Default

I have a smiliar set up too, use the 9550 instead.
Not much glitch.
I did notice however that when I tried to set up QC2, i.e press the set mode for 5 secs, the red "mode light" came up, but the green "set light" also came up. which means i was already on the punch setting mode.
No matter what I tried, I was not able to get the QC2 to the initial setting mode.
Nevertheless, the top speed and full brake seem to be fine, the problem is at neutal, its preset to have some auto brake, EVEN after I set autobrake off.
Anyway, I ended up having to set the transmitter's throttle "forward" to 50 (3pk) inorder to make it to truely neutal, i.e a slight of throttle, and the motor runs, and a little tap of brake, and the brake applies...
Anyway anyone has this problem?
Actually, is this a problem at all?
lawndoggie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2004, 06:29 AM   #9
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: LI, New York
Posts: 370
Default

Linger,Thanks for the respond. I'll give them a try.

lawndoggie, I don't have problem with setting up the ESC at all. when I first enter the setup mode I leave the it neutral, then hit the botton again the wheel start to roll in 1 second interval, the hold in the throttle and hit the botton. Lastly, I hold the brake and hit the botton again. that's it.

I got two QC2, and they both setup the same way, I think you might have problem with the ESC.


note: If I switch to PCM receiver, all glitching goes away. Or If I switch from QC2 to IPC 7.1, all glitching goes away as well.
Jasonchi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Futaba R203HF HRS Micro Receiver + Futaba Transmiter FP-PK-FM RF Module 75MHz WogBoy Australia For Sale/Trade 4 11-22-2015 02:56 PM
FS: Futaba R203HF HRS Micro Receiver + Futaba Transmiter FP-PK-FM RF Module 75MHz WogBoy R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 08-28-2006 12:18 AM
Futaba HRS 75mhz recevier - Futaba Digital servo s9451 - Novak cyclone esc 4SALE alltech R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 11 10-14-2005 07:15 AM
Futaba 3PDF FM Pistol Radio, Futaba FP-R133F FM 3 Channel Receiver, FM 66 xtal 403forbidden R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 16 05-19-2004 09:34 PM
Futaba 3PK $260, Futaba R203HF $80, R113IP $75, Futaba $9450 $80, OS 12TR $135 smash123 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 02-13-2003 04:03 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:29 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net