R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-29-2004, 08:38 AM   #16
Tech Regular
 
KevanB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Columbus(Madison), Wisconsin
Posts: 341
Default

https://mmm1107.verio-web.com/grayma/catalog/803.htm

Would this work for a charger? We have a couple of these lying around school, and I could maybe buy one for cheap $$.
KevanB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2004, 02:14 PM   #17
Tech Fanatic
 
hawker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 751
Default

kevan,

while the voltage is there (up to 15v), there is not enough amperage there, only 300ma which will not be enough to run a charger?

correct me if i'm wrong guys.
hawker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2004, 02:34 PM   #18
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 441
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

correst, 300ma is NOT enuff to run a charger.

your PS should be able to handle the same as, or more than the max amp rate your charger can put out.
MManson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2004, 02:42 PM   #19
Tech Regular
 
KevanB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Columbus(Madison), Wisconsin
Posts: 341
Default

Yeah, at least I tried.

But anyways my PC Power supply is going good, I jsut need to know if this is all I need to do:

1. Remove all unnecessary wires (that arent black, yellow, red)

2. Then just get ONE yellow, and ONE black wire. Lead them out or make a connector for them to the charger?

Please help me on this.
KevanB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2004, 03:27 PM   #20
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 23
Default

IMO, the existing wires (20ga?) are a bit small for the loads you MAY be asking them to carry. I took the yellow & black & red wires, and made 4 bundles ( 2 black) for neat routing. then I took the yellow, and split them, running half (2 in my case) to one plug, and half to another. I now have 2 12V hot leads. Same with the black (2x per black bundle, 4 groups total) leaving me with 2 neg. leads for the 12V, and 2 for the 5V. The 5V wires I divided in half, running one half to a plug, the other half to a set of resistors as described at
http://www.holmes-ave.freeserve.co.uk/atx-psu-mod.htm

In reveiw, this gives me 2 12V circuits for use, 1 5V circuit for use, and 1 5V circuit w/ resistors.

In reference to "plugs", I'm using Bannana jack plugs from radio shack, on a seperate panel. Trying to cram all of this stuff into the existing box is a bit too tight for my comfort level.

further info, I've got a small peak charger (5A max) that I run with this, and nothing else. The 250W PS I used says it'll give up to 9A @ 12V, but I have no way of checking that. I just completed this thing a few days ago, and it seems to work well for my purposes, but I'd buy one of those E-bay PS's next time around.

Standard disclaimer: It can be dangerous to fool with electronics like this if you don't know what you are doing... I am not a professional; in fact I have very little electronic experience, so attempt this at your own risk!!!
Corruptor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2004, 07:46 PM   #21
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 441
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I'm currently using a 300 watt redundant hot swap old AT server power supply to use, I gutted all the power wires, and re-ran new wire from the pc board to outside the unit to poles.

I have 12+/ground/+5 on the front, and I just clip on to what I use.

Im just using a duratrax digital intellipeak and so far it works ok...

I have a question, Why do people put the resistor across the 5+ leads? does that raise the voltage on the 12+ side?
MManson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2004, 07:48 PM   #22
Tech Regular
 
KevanB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Columbus(Madison), Wisconsin
Posts: 341
Default

From what Ive read so far, yes, that is what the resistors are used for. I probably wont continue my power supply, something is horribly wrong with it.
KevanB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2004, 08:29 PM   #23
Tech Adept
 
RL Junior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Kamloops, BC, Canada
Posts: 192
Default

Yes, computer power supplys are regulated by the 5v... so in order to get proper 12v output there needs to be a load on the 5v side. You can use a variable resistor (potentiometer) on the 5v and then simply adjust the knob until you get the voltage you need from the 12v leads (check it with a voltmeter).
RL Junior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2004, 02:54 PM   #24
Tech Regular
 
KevanB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Columbus(Madison), Wisconsin
Posts: 341
Default

Hmm I tried hooking my poewr supply to an power strip recently, and the power strip just POPPED and turned off. Could this be an effect of me cutting off the "voltage selector switch" (usually sticks out of case next to power cord inlet)
KevanB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2004, 03:13 PM   #25
Tech Fanatic
 
hawker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 751
Default

yeah that could be a possibility, i found with mine (on my first one) that if i cut the switch off, or cut any off the internal wires going to various components, regardless of how many timse i re connected or resoldered those leads, it wouldn't work again, I know i resoldered them correctly, but it just wouldn't go. I got a new one, and the only thing I touch was the black and yellow leads and then connecting them up.
hawker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2004, 03:15 PM   #26
Tech Regular
 
KevanB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Columbus(Madison), Wisconsin
Posts: 341
Default

yeah I forgot where they went to too. So Im pretty much screwed, I cant find where it went!!
KevanB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2004, 04:21 PM   #27
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Lancashire UK
Posts: 11
Send a message via ICQ to Barney Rubble
Default

Some good info here guys if your interested.

Click Here
Barney Rubble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2005, 08:44 PM   #28
Tech Addict
 
GReddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: san francisco, CA
Posts: 531
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to GReddy
Default

does anyone noe of any other sites that has more pics?
GReddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2005, 08:49 PM   #29
Tech Champion
 
dgullickson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: I'm a Dork Fish
Posts: 7,662
Trader Rating: 45 (96%+)
Send a message via AIM to dgullickson Send a message via Yahoo to dgullickson
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by KevanB
https://mmm1107.verio-web.com/grayma/catalog/803.htm

Would this work for a charger? We have a couple of these lying around school, and I could maybe buy one for cheap $$.
Its 300ma which comes out to 3A so it would not work for your application.
dgullickson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2005, 10:00 PM   #30
Tech Addict
 
GReddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: san francisco, CA
Posts: 531
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to GReddy
Default

would this work?

+12 4.2a
+5 18a

does the +3v3 give out 3v?
GReddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer power supply used for charger power supply? 66Racer Radio and Electronics 7 05-25-2008 12:52 AM
Computer power supply semper Australian Racing 79 11-23-2007 12:35 PM
computer power supply koolkidd Electric On-Road 29 06-10-2007 09:53 AM
computer power supply hpipro321 Electric On-Road 4 09-01-2005 01:25 AM
Computer power supply Losi Jet Pilot Electric Off-Road 3 06-15-2005 06:51 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:53 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net