R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-19-2002, 09:55 PM   #1
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 123
Default Minimum Servo Specs for Touring Cars

Guys:

I think its overkill, but I'm running an Aitronics 94257 in my tc3. Took it out of one of my old off-road gas trucks.

Specs on the 94257: torque 110, transit time .06.

What are the minimum servo specs that you recommend for 4wd electric touring cars?

Thanks,

YJ
yokomojo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2002, 10:04 PM   #2
Tech Addict
 
Fire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Vancouver BC Canada
Posts: 703
Default

min spec????
just anything above specs of those basic servos that come with the radio should work.
Fire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2002, 10:06 PM   #3
Tech Elite
 
Trips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: 360 Speedway
Posts: 2,251
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

I don't think a servo belongs in a touring car unless it's speed is under .10 and its torque is above 80 oz.

Trips
__________________
MARSHAL!!
Trips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2002, 10:19 PM   #4
Moderator
 
Speedo's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 3,431
Default

I have a JR .12 which is very smooth. I would say under .15 and at least 80 for torque
Speedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2002, 12:56 AM   #5
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: san marino
Posts: 3
Default

depends on drivers as well...
for newbies...a standard servo is good enough...
for high level enthusiates...why op for just a minimum...
vrcs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2002, 03:52 AM   #6
Tech Addict
 
Yokomo Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: England
Posts: 711
Default

Under .15 will do even for competition, theres no need for mega bucks servos.
Yokomo Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2002, 09:52 AM   #7
Regional Moderator
 
Darkseid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: At my computer, duh...
Posts: 9,033
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

I ran for years with a standard servo. I always did well with them.

Now though I have switch to a servo with [email protected]/in of torque.
__________________
TLR 22...Tamiya F104...
Darkseid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2002, 01:18 PM   #8
Tech Elite
 
Cole Trickle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Denmark / Europe
Posts: 2,571
Default

Also remember to check the ESC's BEC voltage. If 6 volt, fine. If only 5 volt, then its equal to 25% less servo speed/torque. In this case, consider a new ESC or a servo with 7,2 volt FET wire. The KO Propo ones use to come with a description of how to connect.

Digital servos got better resolution and much better holding power.

Personally, I've used a standard servo for about a year. Then I got a digital one with 0,1 sek/60 deg. and 6,4 kg/cm torque. Very, very good. But it dont fit together with my new radio, so now I've ordered the KO PDS 2143 - 0,06 sek/60 deg and 9,5 kg/cm torque. Cant wait....

A point of view: At 40 km/h, your car is moving 11,11 meters/second. In 0,1 sec., it's moving more than a meter. A standard servo usually are around 0,2 sek/60 deg. A very good servo are around 0,1 sek/60 deg.
Cole Trickle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2002, 01:59 PM   #9
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 123
Default

Good point, Cole.

Here's the Airtronics numbers at 4.8V:

http://www.execulink.com/~rabrown/airser.htm
yokomojo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2002, 04:34 AM   #10
Tech Elite
 
Cole Trickle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Denmark / Europe
Posts: 2,571
Default

I think this link better show the point about servo voltage. It's the popular Hitec HS-525BB, the specs are both at 6,0 volt and 4,8. And both in oz/in and kg/cm. Click on the link and choose HS-525BB. http://www.hitecrcd.com/Catalog/Servos/Servo_Index.html

Well, numbers are nice, but from the real world and about what's needed; When I went from a standard servo to a faster one (0,1 sec/60 deg and 6,4 kg/cm), I noticed:

In the beginning, I turned too early and hit the wall. After some practice, I was able to steer contra if the rear slided. I couldnt do that before. Also, going thrugh a chicane, before I couldnt change direction when I first was in the chikane. With the faster servo, correntions in the middle of the chikane was possible.

All in all, I think it's a very big difference. I also think this is one of the most important and overseen hop-ops. And best, and servo can be taken to another car...
Cole Trickle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2002, 07:14 AM   #11
Tech Elite
 
CRASH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,715
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

If you are an experineced racer then faster and mor torque is better. If you are just beginning then a faster servo is not always good. A faster servo can make the car way to twitchy for a beginner. A stock servo is more then likely going to be just fine for a beginner.
CRASH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2002, 07:15 PM   #12
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Las Vegas,NV
Posts: 139
Default

Is the Hitec HS5625 a decent servo for a TC?(XXX-S) New to TC. Old 1/10-12 Pan Racer. LHS has them going on sale tomorrow for $49.95
Attached Images
File Type: jpg hiec 5625.jpg (2.6 KB, 112 views)
MDM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2002, 08:13 PM   #13
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 123
Default

Looks pretty close to the 80/.15 rule above.

http://www.hitecrcd.com/Catalog/Servos/HS-5625.htm

And its digital
yokomojo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2002, 09:14 PM   #14
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 3,117
Trader Rating: 69 (100%+)
Default

im about to get a futaba servo - either a 9450 or 9402. i have an old 9402 that ive been using for 3+ years with no problems on my TC. do you guys have any reliability problems with a 9450? also, i saw a hitec servo programmer for hitec digital servos. will that work for with futaba digitals? is that programmer necessary for a digital servo? thanks for any info
marvi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2002, 09:41 PM   #15
Tech Elite
 
CRASH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,715
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

I have been using the 9402 for years and have never had one problem. Truly a great servo for on or off road.
CRASH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tamiya RX-7 TT01-Drift Specs RC cars Selling at Cheap Price!!! IceMocha R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 01-26-2008 08:08 PM
recommended minimum servo specs for 1/10th Carlos69 Electric Off-Road 0 01-07-2008 05:13 AM
Minimum torque for 1/8 competition steering servo FREAKAH Electric Off-Road 14 09-07-2004 04:07 PM
Touring Class Weight Minimum jcrouse Electric On-Road 4 12-12-2003 10:23 AM
Futaba S9550 Digital Servo for Nitro Touring Cars? racer rich Nitro On-Road 9 07-20-2002 12:39 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:35 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net