Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Minimum Servo Specs for Touring Cars >

Minimum Servo Specs for Touring Cars

Minimum Servo Specs for Touring Cars

Old 02-19-2002, 08:55 PM
  #1  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 123
Default Minimum Servo Specs for Touring Cars

Guys:

I think its overkill, but I'm running an Aitronics 94257 in my tc3. Took it out of one of my old off-road gas trucks.

Specs on the 94257: torque 110, transit time .06.

What are the minimum servo specs that you recommend for 4wd electric touring cars?

Thanks,

YJ
yokomojo is offline  
Old 02-19-2002, 09:04 PM
  #2  
Tech Addict
 
Fire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Vancouver BC Canada
Posts: 703
Default

min spec????
just anything above specs of those basic servos that come with the radio should work.
Fire is offline  
Old 02-19-2002, 09:06 PM
  #3  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (16)
 
Trips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: 360 Speedway
Posts: 2,251
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

I don't think a servo belongs in a touring car unless it's speed is under .10 and its torque is above 80 oz.

Trips
Trips is offline  
Old 02-19-2002, 09:19 PM
  #4  
Tech Elite
 
Speedo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 3,433
Default

I have a JR .12 which is very smooth. I would say under .15 and at least 80 for torque
Speedo is offline  
Old 02-19-2002, 11:56 PM
  #5  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: san marino
Posts: 3
Default

depends on drivers as well...
for newbies...a standard servo is good enough...
for high level enthusiates...why op for just a minimum...
vrcs is offline  
Old 02-20-2002, 02:52 AM
  #6  
Tech Addict
 
Yokomo Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: England
Posts: 711
Default

Under .15 will do even for competition, theres no need for mega bucks servos.
Yokomo Fan is offline  
Old 02-20-2002, 08:52 AM
  #7  
Regional Moderator
iTrader: (9)
 
Darkseid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Kansas City, KS
Posts: 9,045
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

I ran for years with a standard servo. I always did well with them.

Now though I have switch to a servo with .09sec@114oz/in of torque.
Darkseid is offline  
Old 02-20-2002, 12:18 PM
  #8  
Tech Elite
 
Cole Trickle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Denmark / Europe
Posts: 2,571
Default

Also remember to check the ESC's BEC voltage. If 6 volt, fine. If only 5 volt, then its equal to 25% less servo speed/torque. In this case, consider a new ESC or a servo with 7,2 volt FET wire. The KO Propo ones use to come with a description of how to connect.

Digital servos got better resolution and much better holding power.

Personally, I've used a standard servo for about a year. Then I got a digital one with 0,1 sek/60 deg. and 6,4 kg/cm torque. Very, very good. But it dont fit together with my new radio, so now I've ordered the KO PDS 2143 - 0,06 sek/60 deg and 9,5 kg/cm torque. Cant wait....

A point of view: At 40 km/h, your car is moving 11,11 meters/second. In 0,1 sec., it's moving more than a meter. A standard servo usually are around 0,2 sek/60 deg. A very good servo are around 0,1 sek/60 deg.
Cole Trickle is offline  
Old 02-20-2002, 12:59 PM
  #9  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 123
Default

Good point, Cole.

Here's the Airtronics numbers at 4.8V:

http://www.execulink.com/~rabrown/airser.htm
yokomojo is offline  
Old 02-21-2002, 03:34 AM
  #10  
Tech Elite
 
Cole Trickle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Denmark / Europe
Posts: 2,571
Default

I think this link better show the point about servo voltage. It's the popular Hitec HS-525BB, the specs are both at 6,0 volt and 4,8. And both in oz/in and kg/cm. Click on the link and choose HS-525BB. http://www.hitecrcd.com/Catalog/Servos/Servo_Index.html

Well, numbers are nice, but from the real world and about what's needed; When I went from a standard servo to a faster one (0,1 sec/60 deg and 6,4 kg/cm), I noticed:

In the beginning, I turned too early and hit the wall. After some practice, I was able to steer contra if the rear slided. I couldnt do that before. Also, going thrugh a chicane, before I couldnt change direction when I first was in the chikane. With the faster servo, correntions in the middle of the chikane was possible.

All in all, I think it's a very big difference. I also think this is one of the most important and overseen hop-ops. And best, and servo can be taken to another car...
Cole Trickle is offline  
Old 02-21-2002, 06:14 AM
  #11  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (26)
 
CRASH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,717
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

If you are an experineced racer then faster and mor torque is better. If you are just beginning then a faster servo is not always good. A faster servo can make the car way to twitchy for a beginner. A stock servo is more then likely going to be just fine for a beginner.
CRASH is offline  
Old 02-21-2002, 06:15 PM
  #12  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Las Vegas,NV
Posts: 139
Default

Is the Hitec HS5625 a decent servo for a TC?(XXX-S) New to TC. Old 1/10-12 Pan Racer. LHS has them going on sale tomorrow for $49.95
Attached Images  
MDM3 is offline  
Old 02-21-2002, 07:13 PM
  #13  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 123
Default

Looks pretty close to the 80/.15 rule above.

http://www.hitecrcd.com/Catalog/Servos/HS-5625.htm

And its digital
yokomojo is offline  
Old 02-21-2002, 08:14 PM
  #14  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (82)
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 3,200
Trader Rating: 82 (100%+)
Default

im about to get a futaba servo - either a 9450 or 9402. i have an old 9402 that ive been using for 3+ years with no problems on my TC. do you guys have any reliability problems with a 9450? also, i saw a hitec servo programmer for hitec digital servos. will that work for with futaba digitals? is that programmer necessary for a digital servo? thanks for any info
marvi is offline  
Old 02-21-2002, 08:41 PM
  #15  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (26)
 
CRASH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,717
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

I have been using the 9402 for years and have never had one problem. Truly a great servo for on or off road.
CRASH is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.